2017 Calendar of events

Save these dates and celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary with us all year long!

In 2017, the 150th anniversary of Canadian Confederation will be celebrated by Canadians from coast-to-coast-to-coast. At Elk Island we are preparing for a year of festivity by inviting Canadians to celebrate with us all throughout this momentous year. Be sure to mark your calendar with these special events!

Please check back frequently for updates and new events or follow us on Twitter @ElkIslandNP.


Canada’s 150th Birthday Celebration at Elk Island National Park

About 16 people in life jackets sit and wave in a large canoe.

Saturday July 1, 2017

This Canada Day come celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation by visiting your nearest national park: Elk Island.

Join us at the pinnacle of this momentous year with a Canada Day festival that will draw you back to the essence of Canada. To extend festive spirit throughout the year, entry to Parks Canada places will be free all throughout 2017!

Imagine early explorers who navigated Canada’s rivers to map this expansive country, as you explore the many islands of Astotin Lake in a canoe. Later spread a blanket and share a picnic with your family and friends as lively music fills the air. Lift your voice alongside fellow Canadians in singing the Canadian national anthem to celebrate the legacy of this beloved country.

Astotin Lake Recreation Area

11:15 a.m. - Astotin Theatre Opens

12:00 p.m. - Opening Address - Main Stage

12:10 p.m. - Wapiski Mahikan Powwow Dance Troupe - Main Stage

1:00 p.m. - Movie - Astotin Theatre

1:15 p.m. - Live Show: Les Bûcherons - Main Stage

2:20 p.m. - Bison Tails Campfire - Astotin Theatre

2:35 p.m. - Live Music: Le Fuzz - Main Stage

3:30 p.m. - Wapiski Mahikan Powwow Dance Troupe - Main Stage

4:00 p.m. - Movie - Astotin Theatre

4:30 p.m. - Live Music: Le Fuzz - Main Stage

7:00 p.m. - Astotin Theatre Closes

Family Activities at Astotin Lake Recreation area from noon till 4:00p.m. :

  • Pemmican Making
  • Airbrush Tattoos
  • Voyager Canoe
  • Food Trucks
  • Discovery Packs
  • Learn to Camp
  • Resource Conservation
  • Friends of Elk Island Society

Visitor Centre

11:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. - Bison Backstage Tours – Every hour on the hour; last tour starts at 4:00 p.m.

Parks Day Celebration

A young girl examines a dragonfly’s wing.

Saturday July 15, 2017

We’re continuing our celebration of Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation with a fun-filled Parks Day event. Park admission will continue to be free for the rest of 2017!

Celebrate Canada’s anniversary by learning new ways to explore and create memories at Elk Island National Park. Exploring by canoe, camping under star-filled skies and outdoor living are all traditions that have been part of Canada’s 150 year legacy. Come embrace these timeless traditions by learning how to navigate a canoe or gain outdoor adventure skills at a “Learn to Camp” workshop.

Top it all off by bringing a picnic to share with your family and friends as live music by local artists fills the air with festive spirit.

The Bison Festival

A celebration of conservation, culture and cuisine!

Two people watch a group of bison through binoculars.

Saturday August 19, 2017


The Bison Festival celebrates and cultivates an appreciation of all things bison at Elk Island National Park.
© Parks Canada

With the world’s oldest national parks system, Canada has a long history of being committed to conservation. Come celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation and a legacy of bison conservation that is nearly as old. In the festive spirit of this special year, park admission is free throughout 2017!

Elk Island is the cornerstone of Canada’s bison conservation story; without this place and the dedication of its people, herds of plains and woods bison would not thrive in Canada today. Help us commemorate this success story through the themes of conservation, culture and cuisine. Discover the importance of bison to the heart of Canada.

Beaver Hills Dark Sky Preserve Star Party

A man peers through a telescope pointed at the sky.

September 2nd and 3rd, 2017

Our celebration of Canada’s 150th anniversary of Confederation only continues with this star-filled event. Canada has always been a land of vibrant skyscapes and Beaver Hills Dark Sky Preserve works to keep Elk Island skies naturally dark, wild and alive. Come enjoy this event, like all days in 2017, with free park entrance to Elk Island.

Taking place over two days at two different locations, the Beaver Hills Dark Sky Preserve’s 12th annual Star Party will be your gateway to the stars. Featuring volunteer astronomers to provide you with stargazing tips, guest speakers to cause you to marvel at the sky, and local musical performances to fill the air with festive spirit, this 2 day event will keep your whole family entertained.

The Star Party will be at Miquelon Lake Provincial Park on Saturday Sept. 2 and at Elk Island National Park on Sunday Sept 3, 2017.

Calendrier d’activités 2017

Retenez ces dates et venez fêter le 150e anniversaire du Canda avec nous toute l’année!

En 2017, les Canadiens d’un océan à l’autre fêteront le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération canadienne. Au parc national Elk Island, nous nous préparons en vue des festivités et nous invitons les Canadiens à venir célébrer avec nous cette année si importante. N’oubliez pas d’inscrire les activités spéciales qui suivent à votre calendrier!

Consultez régulièrement cette page Web pour connaître les mises à jour et les nouvelles activités, ou suivez-nous sur Twitter @PNElkIsland.


Célébration du 150e anniversaire du Canada au parc national Elk Island

Seize personnes portant des gilets de sauvetage saluent la caméra depuis un grand canot.

Samedi 1 juillet 2017

Pour la fête du Canada de cette année, célébrez le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération en explorant votre parc national le plus près : Elk Island

Paroxysme d’une année exceptionnelle, la fête du Canada au parc national Elk Island vous fera remonter aux origines du Canada. Pour prolonger les festivités, l’entrée aux endroits administrés par Parcs Canada sera gratuit en 2017!

Tandis que vous explorez en canot les nombreuses îles du lac Astotin, imaginez les premiers explorateurs qui ont navigué sur les fleuves et rivières du Canada pour cartographier cet immense pays. Plus tard, étendez une couverture sur le sol et dégustez un pique-nique avec votre famille et vos amis pendant qu’une musique enivrante emplit l’air. En compagnie de vos compatriotes, entonnez l’hymne national du Canada pour marquer le legs de ce pays bien-aimé.

Aire récréative du lac Astotin

11h15 - Théâtre Astotin s’ouvre

12h00 - Discours d’ouverture

12h10 - Troupe de danse Wapiski Mahikan Powwow

13h00 - Films dans l’amphithéâtre

13h15 - Spectacle: Les Bûcherons Scène principale

14h20 - Feu de camp et bisons - Théâtre Astotin

14h35 - Spectacle: Le Fuzz Scène principale

15h30 - Troupe de danse Wapiski Mahikan Powwow

16h00 - Films dans l’amphithéâtre

16h30 - Musique live : Le Fuzz Scène principale

19h00 - Théâtre Astotin se ferme

12h00 à 16h00 Joignez-vous à nous à la plage Astotin

  • Fabrication de pemmican
  • Tatouages à l’aérographe
  • Canot de voyageurs
  • Camions-restaurants
  • Trousses de découvertes
  • Initiation au camping
  • Conservation des ressources
  • Société des amis d’Elk Island 

Centre d’accueil

11h00 à 16h00 - Toutes les heures, à l’heure juste, depuis le centre d’accueil

Journée des parcs

Une fillette examine une aile de libellule.

Samedi 15 juillet 2017

Les festivités entourant le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada se poursuivent dans le cadre de cette journée remplie d’activités amusantes. L’entrée au parc est encore gratuite, et ce, pour toute l’année 2017!

Cette année, soulignez le anniversaire en découvrant de nouvelles façons d’explorer le parc national Elk Island et d’y créer des souvenirs. L’exploration en canot, le camping sous les millions d’étoiles et la vie en plein air sont des traditions qui se transmettent depuis les débuts du Canada. Venez continuer ces traditions séculaires : apprenez à naviguer à bord d’un canot ou développez vos aptitudes pour les aventures en plein air pendant un atelier d’initiation au camping.

Pour couronner le tout, apportez un pique-nique que vous partagerez avec votre famille et vos amis et laissez-vous transporter par la musique festive d’artistes locaux.

Festival du bison

Une célébration de la préservation, de la culture et de la cuisine!

Deux personnes observent des bisons à l’aide de jumelles.

Samedi 19 août 2017

Le Canada, qui compte le plus vieux réseau de parcs nationaux au monde, se consacre depuis longtemps à la conservation. Venez célébrer le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération et une tradition de conservation du bison qui est presque aussi vieille. Dans l’esprit festif de cette année spéciale, l’entrée au parc est gratuite en 2017!

Le parc national Elk Island est la pierre angulaire de l’histoire de la conservation des bisons au Canada. Sans cet endroit et le dévouement des employés, on ne verrait pas s’épanouir aujourd’hui des troupeaux de bisons des plaines et de bisons des bois au pays. Aidez-nous à souligner cette réussite par les thèmes de la conservation, de la culture et de la cuisine.

Fête de la réserve de ciel étoilé des Collines-Beaver

Un homme regarde dans un télescope pointé vers le ciel.

2 et 3 septembre 2017

Notre célébration du 150e anniversaire du Canada se poursuit dans le cadre de cette activité remplie d’étoiles. Le Canada a toujours été une terre de paysages célestes enchanteurs et la réserve de ciel étoilé des Collines-Beaver vise à maintenir le ciel du parc national Elk Island étoilé, sauvage et vivant. Venez profiter de cette activité et, comme pour toutes les autres journées en 2017, l’entrée au parc est gratuite.

Se déroulant pendant deux jours à deux endroits, la fête de la réserve de ciel étoilé des Collines-Beaver, qui en est à sa 12e année, sera votre fenêtre sur les étoiles. Des astronomes bénévoles vous donneront des conseils pour observer les étoiles, des conférenciers invités vous feront plonger dans le ciel avec émerveillement, et des artistes locaux vous transmettront leur esprit festif par leur musique. Une activité de deux jours qui saura divertir toute la famille.

La fête commence au parc provincial du lac Miquelon le samedi 2 septembre et se poursuit au parc national Elk Island le dimanche 3 septembre 2017.