Current conditions

The Parks Canada fire management team continues to cooperatively manage the Verdant Creek wildfire with BC Parks and BC Wildfire Service. Parks Canada fire management specialists remain confident that the Verdant Creek wildfire is not a threat to local communities. The fire is approximately 5,100 hectares. 

What’s new

To manage the spread of the fire to the south in Kootenay National Park, Parks Canada is planning to conduct a “burn out” operation of an area on Mount Shanks today, if weather conditions and fire behaviour permit.
A burn out is a fire suppression operation where fire is set along the inside edge of a control line or natural barrier to consume unburned fuel between the line and the fire perimeter, thereby reinforcing the existing line and speeding up the control effort. This technique is only carried out if conditions permit. The safety of the public, our crews, park infrastructure and neighbouring lands is Parks Canada’s first priority.  

What to expect

Warmer temperatures will continue to produce increased fire activity along the remote southern boundary of the Verdant Creek fire. This activity, along with potential burn out operations will potentially produce a large smoke column that may be visible from the Bow and Columbia Valleys in the afternoons, and may settle into valley bottoms in the evening. This pattern is expected to continue for a few days.

Air quality advisories and more information are available from these provincial government agencies:

Smoke from wildfires may impact road conditions and transportation corridors. Depending on weather conditions, motorists may experience reduced visibility due to smoke. Check www.DriveBC.ca and www.alberta511.ca for the most up-to-date information on road conditions.

Other information and links

  • All facilities in Banff and Kootenay national parks are open, except for the area closures.

 The following backcountry area closures remain in place within Banff and Kootenay National Parks: 

  • Fatigue Creek and Citadel Pass areas 
  • Verdant Creek and Simpson River areas 
  • Visitors are encouraged to check our website for current closure information and map
  •  For closure information about Mount Assiniboine Provincial Park
  • A fire ban remains in effect in Banff and Kootenay National Parks due to the elevated fire danger and to prevent the possibility of human-caused fires.
  • It is illegal to fly an unmanned air vehicle (UAV, or drone) in a national park. 
  • Current Frequently Asked Questions are posted on Banff National Park’s website.
  • Report wildfires, illegal campfires, or suspicious smoke to Banff Dispatch at 403-762-4506.

    NOTE: Further updates regarding the Verdant Creek wildfire will be provided only when there are significant changes.

CONDITIONS ACTUELLES

L’équipe de gestion des feux de Parcs Canada, en partenariat avec le Service des feux de forêt de la C.-B., continue de gérer le feu de forêt du secteur du ruisseau Verdant. Les spécialistes de la gestion du feu de Parcs Canada sont toujours persuadés que le feu n’est pas un risque pour les collectivités de la région. Le feu est d'environ
5 100 hectares.

QUOI DE NEUF

Si les conditions météorologiques et le comportement du feu le permettent et afin de limiter la propagation du feu dans le secteur sud-ouest du parc national Kootenay, Parcs Canada prévoit mener des opérations d’allumage de contre-feu près du mont Shanks aujourd'hui. Une opération d’allumage de contre-feu est un moyen de suppression des incendies où un feu est allumé le long de la limite intérieure d’une ligne de suppression ou d’une barrière naturelle, et qui permet de brûler le combustible imbrûlé qui se trouve entre la
ligne de suppression et le périmètre du feu. Cette opération permet de renforcer la ligne de suppression et d’accélérer les activités de contrôle. Cette technique sera employée seulement si les onditions le permettent. La sécurité du public, de nos équipes, de l’infrastructure du parc et des terres avoisinantes est la priorité de Parcs Canada.

À  QUOI S'ATTENDRE

Le temps chaud continuera d’augmenter l’activité du feu du secteur du ruisseau Verdant le long de sa limite sud. L’augmentation de l’activité du feu et les des opérations potentielles d’allumage de contre eu pourraient produire une grande colonne de fumée que les résidents pourraient apercevoir depuis les vallées de la Bow et du Columbia en après-midi, et pendant la nuit, lorsque la fumée tend à rester tationnaire dans le fond des vallées. Ce scénario devrait se poursuivre pendant quelques jours.

Vous trouverez des avis sur la qualité de l’air et de plus amples renseignements dans les pages Web des agences
gouvernementales provinciales suivantes :

La fumée produite par les feux de forêt pourrait affecter les conditions routières et les corridors de transport. Selon les conditions météorologiques, il se peut que la fumée réduise la visibilité des automobilistes. Consultez les sites Web Drive BC et AB 511 (en anglais seulement) pour obtenir de l’information à jour.

AUTRES RENSEIGNEMENTS ET LIENS 

Une interdiction de faire du feu demeure en vigueur pour l’ensemble des parcs nationaux Banff et Kootenay en raison du danger élevé d’incendie et pour prévenir les risques de feux causés par l’humain.

  •  Il est illégal de faire voler un aéronef téléguidé (ou drone) dans un parc national.
  • Visitez le site Web du parc national Banff et consultez notre Foire aux questions.
  • Signalez des feux de forêt, des feuxs de camp illégaux ou de la fumée suspecte au Service de répartition Banff en composant le 403-762-4506.