blue_whale_JLP
Blue whale in the Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park

The blue whale is the largest animal that has ever lived on Earth. Its size is certainly impressive, but this does not make it invincible. For several years now, the blue whale has been on Canada’s list of threatened species, and the Atlantic population is currently listed as endangered. It lives in cold waters and has long been a favourite target for Atlantic whalers, which has greatly contributed to the species’ decline. Blue whales are easily recognized due to its imposing size, long body, prominent head, and particularly, the 9-metre spout of water from its blowhole!

What is the Blue Whale?

View of the back of a Blue whale.
In addition to being the Earth’s largest animal, the blue whale is also the noisiest: its cry, which can reach 186 decibels, is louder than a jet plane!

The blue whale is a cold-water cetacean recognized by its long, slender body that is widest at the eyes. Its head takes up approximately one quarter of the total length of the body. Its dorsal fin is rather small and its pectoral fins are pointed.

Blue whales are part of the baleen whale family. The pattern of spots that cover its body can vary considerably, but it is unique to each whale and remains the same throughout its life. The pattern can therefore be used to identify individuals, which enables scientists to follow their movements and recognize their behaviours. The blue whale is enormous: the largest ever observed was 29.5 metres long and weighed more than 150 tonnes. On average blue whales are 20 metres long and females are generally larger than males. At birth, calves are around 7 metres long and weigh around 2 tonnes. That’s the size of a school bus and the weight of a minivan!

Did you think that the biggest creature to ever live on the planet was a dinosaur? Well, you’re wrong! The blue whale has the record! In fact, the largest of all dinosaurs only measured 24 metres and weighed 36 tonnes. The blue whale, however, can be up 29.5 meters and weigh 150 tonnes!

Where is the Blue Whale found?

The blue whale spends most of its time in coastal waters and the deep sea. The Atlantic population of blue whales lives in the waters off the east coast of Canada. During the spring, summer and fall, these whales can be found along the north coast of the Gulf of St. Lawrence and the east coast of Nova Scotia. During the summer, the Atlantic population can also be found along the south coast of Newfoundland and in the Davis Straight, between Baffin Island and Greenland. Blue whales generally migrate south for the winter; however, if the ice cover is thin, some whales may stay in the St. Lawrence for a good part of the cold season.

What is the status of the Blue Whale?

Close-up view of a Blue whale in Saguenay St.Lawrence Marine Park.
Populations of blue whales are relatively well distributed in the oceans, but the St. Lawrence is one of the rare areas in the world where they can be seen close to land.

For several years now, the blue whale has been considered endangered by COSEWIC. A species or population is designated as endangered by COSEWIC if it is experiencing significant risks. The Atlantic blue whale is protected under the Government of Canada’s Species at Risk Act (SARA). It is also protected under the Marine Mammals Regulations, which fall under the Fisheries Act.

Why is the Blue Whale in danger?

Some 200,000 blue whales once populated the world’s oceans. It is not known how many Blue whales are in the Atlantic population but between 20 and 105 are spotted annually in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Commercial hunting was the main reason for the decline of this species. Because of their large size, Blue Whales were highly desired by whalers as large quantities of oil and meat can be extracted from a dead whale. Even though commercial whaling ended in 1955 in the North Atlantic, there are still threats to the small populations of the Blue Whale left today. Current threats include disturbance by ships, collisions with ships, entrapment in fishing gear, pollution and environmental changes. Additionally, climate change is expected to have a significant impact on the Blue Whale’s food source in the near future, which will pose a new threat for the species.

Why protect the Blue Whale?

Close-up view of a Blue whale.
The blue whale is enormous: the largest ever observed was 29.5 metres long and weighed more than 150 tonnes. Average blue whales are 20 metres long.

The blue whale’s presence contributes in a very impressive way to the ecological diversity of the Estuary. During the 16th century, Basque hunters exploited this species in the St. Lawrence. For a long time, the blue whale hunt was the basis of an important industry. It is the over-exploitation of this species that led to its decline. Today, blue whales can only be “hunted” with a camera. Spotting a blue whale and being able to observe it in its natural habitat is an exceptional experience.

Populations of blue whales are relatively well distributed in the oceans, but the St. Lawrence is one of the rare areas in the world where they can be seen close to land. Therefore, it is even more important that we protect this special habitat so that we can continue to admire this impressive animal at close range.

What is Parks Canada doing to save the Blue Whale?

Recovery Actions

The creation of new Marine Activities in the Saguenay St. Lawrence Marine Park Regulations in 2002 is one of the most important measures by Parks Canada to encourage the recovery of the Atlantic blue whale population. These regulations, written in collaboration with the people who use the Marine Park waters, provide guidelines on the observation of marine mammals. The main objective of these regulations is to reduce the disturbance caused by human activities. The regulations were implemented in 2002, making it illegal to be closer than 400 metres to a blue whale or beluga – no matter what type of boat the use is in. Since their implementation in 2002, it has been illegal to get closer than 400 metres to a blue whale or a beluga - no matter what type of watercraft is being used.

Under the Species at Risk Act, a recovery plan for the Atlantic blue whale population will be created by January 2008. This plan, written by a recovery team made up of various partners involved in the protection of this species, will outline the necessary actions for the recovery of the Atlantic blue whale population.

Research and observation

Several research and follow-up projects have been done in the past and others are underway today. Parks Canada is participating in these projects, in collaboration with other departments and non-governmental organizations involved in the Marine Park area. Research on the blue whales focuses primarily on the development of the size of the population, its composition, the use of the habitat and the effects of human activities.

Raising public awareness

In the area of the Saguenay St. Lawrence Marine Park, several opportunities are offered to visitors who want to learn more about the Atlantic population of blue whales. Various interpretation centres as well as panels installed on the piers and river trails offer visitors information about this species. Three sites for land observation of marine mammals are also accessible. In certain areas, the blue whales can get as close as a dozen metres from the shore, such as at the Cap de Bon-Désir Interpretation and Observation Centre. At these sites, in addition to being able to observe the natural behaviour of these animals without disturbing them, visitors can also learn from the expertise of on-site naturalists.

Collaboration with partners

Staff at Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park work in collaboration with various governmental and non-governmental partners in the areas of research, species recovery and education: Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Environment Canada, Parcs Québec, the Maurice Lamontagne Institute, the Group for research and education on marine mammals (GREMM), Explos-Nature, ZIP committees (ZIP is short for “zone d'intervention prioritaire,” or area of prime concern) are among those involved in research and education on the Blue Whale.

How can I help?

Close-up view of a whale with whale watching boat tours in the background.
Saguenay St. Lawrence National Marine Park of Canada is renowned for some of the best whale watching in Canada.

  • Behave respectfully toward blue whales when you observe them, whether at the Saguenay St. Lawrence Marine Park or elsewhere on the St. Lawrence. Watch them from land so that you do not disturb them.
  • If you prefer to participate in a whale-watching trip on the water, choose a cruise company that respects the regulations on observing marine mammals.
  • Be curious. Learn more about the blue whale and share your knowledge about this species at risk with your group. Meet with interpreter-guides at the Cap de Bon-Désir Interpretation and Observation Centre at the Saguenay St. Lawrence Marine Park.
  • Always, and particularly at the Saguenay St. Lawrence Marine Park, dispose of your garbage in appropriate containers. When picnicking, use reusable containers and utensils. Too often, plastic bags and wraps, juice containers and other garbage fly away and end up in the water, where they can pollute the environment for decades, or even centuries.
  • Adopt daily habits that respect the environment. Your use of water has an impact on the river’s health: save it and use ecologically friendly cleaning products!
  • Does your municipality have a sewage system that effectively treats wastewater before dumping it in the rivers? If not, share your concerns about this issue with elected municipal and/or regional officials.

rorqual_bleu_JLP
Rorqual bleu dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent

Le rorqual bleu est le plus gros animal qui ait existé sur Terre. Il est aussi connu sous le nom baleine bleue. Ses dimensions sont certes impressionnantes, mais cette caractéristique ne le rend pas pour autant invulnérable. Depuis quelques années déjà, il apparaît sur la liste des espèces menacées au Canada, déclaré actuellement en voie de disparition. Vivant dans les mers froides, il a longtemps été la cible privilégiée des pêcheurs de l’Atlantique, ce qui a grandement favorisé le déclin de l’espèce. On peut le reconnaître facilement grâce à sa taille imposante, son corps allongé, sa tête proéminente, et principalement, son souffle de 9 m de haut!

Qu’est ce que le rorqual bleu?

Vu du dos d’un rorqual bleu.
En plus d’être le plus gros animal de la terre, le rorqual bleu est également le plus bruyant : son meuglement, qui peut atteindre 186 décibels, est plus fort que le bruit d’un avion à réaction

Le rorqual bleu est un cétacé des mers froides que l’on reconnaît par son corps effilé et allongé qui est à son plus large au niveau des yeux. Sa tête représente environ le quart de la longueur totale de son corps. Sa nageoire dorsale est plutôt petite et ses nageoires pectorales sont pointues.

Il fait partie du groupe des baleines à fanons. Le motif des taches qui recouvrent son corps peut varier considérablement, mais il est unique à chaque baleine et demeure le même au fil du temps. Il peut donc servir à identifier les individus, ce qui permet aux scientifiques de suivre leurs déplacements et de reconnaître leurs comportements. Le rorqual bleu est un animal gigantesque : le plus gros jamais observé mesurait 29,5 m et pesait plus de 150 tonnes. Les rorquals bleus mesurent en moyenne une vingtaine de mètres. Les femelles sont généralement plus grosses que les mâles. À la naissance, les baleineaux mesurent environ sept mètres et pèsent à peu près deux tonnes. C’est la longueur d’un autobus scolaire et le poids d’une mini fourgonnette!

Vous pensiez que la plus grosse créature qui ait habité la planète était un dinosaure? Mais non, c’est le rorqual bleu qui détient ce record! En effet, le plus grand de tous les dinosaures ne mesurait qu’environ 24 mètres et pesait 36 tonnes. Le rorqual bleu, quant à lui, peut mesurer jusqu'à 29,5 mètres et peser 150 tonnes!

Où vit le rorqual bleu?

Le rorqual bleu fréquente surtout les eaux côtières et la haute mer. La population de rorquals bleus de l’Atlantique vit dans les eaux de la côte Est du Canada. Au cours du printemps, de l’été et de l’automne, on trouve ces baleines le long de la côte Nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent et le long de la côte Est de la Nouvelle-Écosse. En été, on les observe également le long de la côte Sud de l’île de Terre-Neuve et dans le détroit de Davis, entre l’île de Baffin et le Groenland. Elles migrent généralement vers le sud pour l’hiver, mais, lorsque la couverture de glace est mince, certaines baleines peuvent demeurer dans le Saint-Laurent une bonne partie de la saison froide

Quel est le statut du rorqual bleu?

Gros plan d’un rorqual dans le parc marin Saguenay St. Laurent.
Les populations de rorquals bleus sont assez bien distribuées dans les océans, mais le Saint-Laurent est un des rares endroits au monde où on peut les observer près des côtes.

Depuis maintenant plusieurs années, le rorqual bleu est déclaré en voie de disparition par le COSÉPAC. C’est à dire qu’on s’inquiète sérieusement de sa situation et que les risques que la population s’éteigne sont importants. Le rorqual bleu de l'Atlantique est protégé en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du gouvernement du Canada. Il est également protégé en vertu du Règlement sur les mammifères marins, qui relève de la Loi sur les pêches.

Pourquoi le rorqual bleu est-il en danger?

Quelque 200 000 rorquals bleus peuplaient autrefois les océans du monde. Le nombre de rorqual bleu de la population atlantique n’est pas connu mais on en apercoit chaque année entre 20 et 105 dans le golfe du Saintt-Laurent. Mais la grande taille de ces animaux a causé leur perte; ils étaient prisés par les chasseurs de baleines qui en retiraient de grandes quantités d’huile et de viande. Cette chasse commerciale est le principal facteur responsable du déclin de la population de ces géants des mers. Depuis la fin de la chasse commerciale, complètement interdite depuis 1955 dans l’Atlantique Nord les principales menaces qui pèsent sur la petite population restante sont le dérangement et les collisions avec des navires, la prise dans des engins de pêche, la pollution et les modifications de l’environnement. Les changements climatiques auront certainement un impact majeur sur les sources de nourriture du rorqual bleu et donc sur leur survie.

Pourquoi protéger le rorqual bleu ?

Gros plan d'un rorqual bleu
Le rorqual bleu est un animal gigantesque : le plus gros jamais observé mesurait 29,5 m et pesait plus de 150 tonnes. Les rorquals bleus mesurent en moyenne une vingtaine de mètres.

Sa présence contribue d’une façon fort impressionnante à la diversité écologique de l’estuaire. D’ailleurs les chasseurs basques, au XVIe siècle, exploitaient cette espèce dans le Saint-Laurent. Pendant longtemps, la chasse au rorqual bleu fut à la base d’une industrie importante. C’est la surexploitation de cette espèce qui en a causé le déclin. Aujourd’hui, on « chasse » la baleine bleue pour la prendre en photo. Rencontrer un rorqual bleu et de pouvoir l’observer dans son milieu naturel est une expérience exceptionnelle.

Les populations de rorquals bleus sont assez bien distribuées dans les océans, mais le Saint-Laurent est un des rares endroits au monde où on peut les observer près des côtes. Donc, pour que l’on puisse continuer à admirer cet animal impressionnant de si près, il est essentiel de protéger son habitat dès maintenant.

Que fait Parcs Canada pour sauver le rorqual bleu ?

Mesures de rétablissement

La création du Règlement sur les activités en mer dans le parc marin du Saguenay -- Saint-Laurent en 2002 est une des mesures les plus importantes mises en place par Parcs Canada pour favoriser le rétablissement de la population de rorquals bleus de l’Atlantique. Ce règlement, élaboré en collaboration avec les gens qui pratiquent des activités dans les eaux du parc marin, donne des balises à l’observation des mammifères marins. L’objectif principal d’une telle réglementation est de réduire le dérangement causé par les activités humaines. Depuis l’instauration de celui-ci en 2002, il est interdit d’approcher un rorqual bleu ou un béluga à moins de 400 mètres, quel que soit le type d’embarcation ou l’activité nautique pratiquée.

Conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril, un plan de rétablissement pour le rorqual bleu, population de l’Atlantique, sera élaboré en janvier 2008 par les différents partenaires impliqués dans la protection de cette espèce. Ce plan proposera des actions à prendre pour favoriser le rétablissement de la population de rorquals bleus de l’Atlantique.

Recherche et surveillance

Plusieurs projets de recherche et de suivi ont été réalisés par le passé et d’autres se poursuivent encore aujourd’hui. Parcs Canada participe toujours à ces projets en collaboration avec d’autres ministères et organismes non gouvernementaux impliqués sur le territoire du parc marin. Les recherches concernant les rorquals bleus visent principalement à connaître l’évolution de la taille de la population, sa composition, l’utilisation de l’habitat et l’impact des activités humaines.

Sensibilisation du public

Dans l’aire de coordination du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, plusieurs opportunités s’offrent aux visiteurs qui désirent en apprendre davantage à propos de la population de l’Atlantique du rorqual bleu. Quelques centres d’interprétation ainsi que des panneaux installés sur les quais et les sentiers riverains offrent aux visiteurs des informations concernant cette espèce. Trois sites aménagés pour l’observation terrestre des mammifères marins sont aussi accessibles. Dans certains secteurs, les rorquals bleus peuvent s’approcher jusqu’à une dizaine de mètres de la berge. C’est le cas au centre d’interprétation et d’observation du Cap-de-Bon-Désir. Sur ces sites, en plus de pouvoir observer les comportements naturels de ces animaux sans les déranger, les visiteurs pourront profiter de la présence de naturalistes pouvant répondre à toutes leurs questions.

Collaboration avec des partenaires

Que ce soit pour la recherche, le rétablissement des espèces ou l’interprétation, le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent travaille en collaboration avec différents partenaires tant gouvernementaux que non gouvernementaux. Pêches et Océans Canada, Environnement Canada, Parcs Québec, l’Institut Maurice-Lamontage, le groupe de recherche sur l’éducation et les mammifères marins (GREMM), Explos-Nature, les comités de zone d’intervention prioritaire (comité ZIP) et plusieurs autres comptent parmi les plus impliqués dans la recherche et l’interprétation de cette thématique au parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent.

Comment puis-je aider?

Vue en gros plan d’une baleine, avec des bateaux d’observation de baleines
La région du parc marin du Saguenay-St-Laurent est reconnue pour l'une des meilleures activités d'observation de baleines au Canada.
  • Adoptez des comportements respectueux envers les rorquals bleus lorsque vous les observez, que vous soyez sur le territoire du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent ou ailleurs sur le Saint-Laurent. Observez-les de la terre ferme, vous éviterez alors de les déranger.
  • Si vous préférez participer à une excursion d’observation en mer, optez pour une compagnie de croisière qui respecte le règlement sur l’observation des mammifères marins.
  • Soyez curieux. Apprenez-en davantage sur le rorqual bleu et partagez vos connaissances à propos de cette espèce en péril avec votre entourage. Rencontrez les guides interprètes du site d’interprétation et d’observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir au parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent.
  • En tout temps et particulièrement lors de votre passage au parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, jetez vos déchets aux endroits appropriés. En pique-nique, favorisez des contenants et des ustensiles réutilisables. Trop souvent, sacs et pellicules de plastique, contenants de jus, et autres déchets s’envolent et finissent par se retrouver à l’eau où ils pollueront l’environnement pendant des décennies, voire des siècles.
  • Adoptez des habitudes quotidiennes respectueuses de l’environnement. Votre utilisation de l’eau a un impact sur la santé du fleuve : économisez-la et utilisez des produits nettoyants écologiques!
  • Votre municipalité a-t-elle un système d’égout qui traite efficacement les eaux usées avant de les rejeter dans les rivières? Si non, n’hésitez pas à faire-part de vos préoccupations à ce propos aux élus de votre ville et de votre région.