Grús americána

Close-up of a Whooping crane in Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada.
Whooping crane in Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada.
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 09.90.10.02 (96) / 2002

Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada protects the nesting habitat of the last remaining wild migratory flock of whooping cranes left in the world. Whooping cranes used to range across much of central North America, from the southern coast of Texas as far north as the Northwest Territories. Though never abundant, their numbers were thought to be around 1500 in the mid-1800’s. Human settlement subsequently destroyed much of their nesting habitat, and by 1941 the population had dropped to an all-time low of 21 birds. Whooping Cranes are classified as endangered by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) and Parks Canada is working on its with recovery with national and international partners.

 

What is the Whooping Crane?

Whooping cranes are the tallest birds in North America. They stand up to 1.5 m tall, with a wingspan of 2 m or more. They are white in colour, with black wingtips that can be seen in flight, and long thin black legs. Their eyes are yellow, and they have a distinctive red crown on top of their head, along with horizontal black “cheeks”. Juvenile whooping cranes are white and cinnamon in colour.

Aerial view of the Whooping crane nesting area.
The Whooping cranes nest and raise their young in remote boggy reaches in Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada, far from human disturbance.
© Parks Canada / WBNPC Photo Gallery

Whooping cranes feed on insect larvae such as dragonflies, damselflies, and mayflies, as well as on aquatic creatures such as snails, small clams, minnows, and frogs. Sometimes they will feed on larger prey such as snakes, mice or small birds. Dragonfly nymphs are an important food source for the chicks. The whoopers’ winter diet (after migrating to the southern coast of Texas) includes blue crabs, clams, crayfish, small fish, acorns, and small fruit.

Where is the Whooping Crane found?

The whooping cranes nest and raise their young in remote boggy reaches of Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada, far from human disturbance. Their meter-wide nests are made mostly from bulrushes and are built in the shallow waters of spruce-encircled ponds. A clutch of two eggs is laid in the spring and the parents take turns incubating. The eggs hatch in late May or early June. In autumn, the whooping cranes migrate 3500 km south to the Aransas National Wildlife Refuge along the Gulf of Mexico in southern Texas.

After feeding and resting over the winter months, the birds begin their courtship rituals in early spring. The “dance of the whooping crane”, part of the courtship ritual, can be seen in Aransas just prior to their migration back to Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada for nesting. The whoopers start leaving Aransas in early April and begin arriving in Wood Buffalo three to four weeks later.

View of a map showing the migration path of Whooping cranes.
Map of the migration path of Whooping cranes. Every year, in autumn, the Whooping cranes migrate 3500 km south to the Aransas National Wildlife Refuge along the Gulf of Mexico in southern Texas.
© Parks Canada / WBNPC Photo Gallery

What is the status of the Whooping Crane?

Close-up of the head of a Whooping crane.
Whooping cranes are white with black wingtips. This characteristic can only be seen in flight.
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 09.90.10.02 (95) / 2002

Whooping cranes are classified as endangered by the COSEWIC. The population of the Wood Buffalo – Aransas flock is 263 as of December 2010. The world population of whooping cranes is 568 as of December 2010. This number includes captive birds, a non-migratory flock in Florida, an introduced migratory flock (Wisconsin-Florida), and the Wood Buffalo-Aransas wild migratory flock.

 Why is the Whooping Crane in danger?

Species at Risk - Who Knew?

At up to 1.5 m in height, the whooping cranes are the tallest birds in North America - and they nest in North America's largest national park, Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada!

Whooping cranes used to range across much of central North America, from the southern coast of Texas as far north as the Northwest Territories. Though never abundant, their numbers were thought to be around 1500 in the mid-1800’s. Human settlement subsequently destroyed much of their nesting habitat, and by 1941 the population had dropped to an all-time low of 21 birds. At that time the location of their northern nesting grounds was unknown. It wasn’t until 1954 that the nesting grounds were discovered in a remote corner of Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada. There can be no doubt that the birds’ seclusion during their sensitive nesting period is what saved them from total extinction.

Why protect the Whooping Crane?

Whooping cranes were on the verge of extinction in the early 1940's. The loss of whooping cranes as a species would not only have been very sad, but would also have reduced the biodiversity of wildlife in North America. While international recovery efforts have been successful in increasing the number of whooping cranes, these beautiful and unique birds remain endangered, requiring ongoing protection to survive.

International efforts to increase the whooping crane population have been ongoing for many years. These efforts include :

  • Ongoing protection of nesting and wintering habitats.
  • Establishment of a captive breeding program (To start this program, 225 eggs were collected from Wood Buffalo National Park between 1967 and 1996. Egg collection from the Wood Buffalo flock ceased in 1996).
  • Annual surveys and monitoring of nests and chick productivity in Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada.
  • Research on the ecology of the birds’ existing nesting habitat to help with the selection of new reintroduction sites.
  • Establishment of a non-migratory flock in Florida.
  • Reintroduction of a second migratory flock (Wisconsin-Florida) using captive-raised birds. This process included teaching the captive-raised birds to migrate using ultralights.

While whooping crane populations continue to increase under this program, the whooping cranes are still vulnerable, especially while migrating. Potential threats during migration include hunters (the whoopers are sometimes mistaken for other bird species such as sandhill cranes) and power lines. At their wintering grounds in Aransas, there is a risk of coastal water pollution from commercial marine traffic.

What is Parks Canada doing to protect the Whooping Crane?

Whooping crane in Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada.
The meter-wide nests of Whooping cranes are made mostly from bulrushes and are built in shallow waters of spruce-encircled ponds.
© Parks Canada / WBNPC Photo Gallery

Wood Buffalo National Park protects the nesting grounds of the last remaining wild migratory flock of whooping cranes. The whooping crane nesting area is classified as Zone 1 Special Preservation under the Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada Management Plan. Public access is prohibited due to the extreme sensitivity of the birds while they are nesting and raising their young.

Park resource conservation staff assist the Canadian Wildlife Service with ecological monitoring, research, and annual nesting surveys. The park also promotes the whooping crane in public education programs and nonpersonal media such as publications and interpretive signs. The Wetlands Interpretive Trail in the park features information about the whooping cranes and species at risk.

The presence of the whooping cranes in Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada is very special, and is one reason why the park is a World Heritage Site. The whooping crane nesting area has also been designated by the Ramsar Convention as a Ramsar site, or Wetland of International Significance.

How can I help?

  • Be a good steward of your land, and support the efforts of organizations who help protect the environment. Try to reduce your ecological footprint.
  • Learn more about whooping cranes through reading or on the Internet.
  • If you visit Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada, you can learn about whooping cranes on the Wetlands Interpretive Trail and at the Visitor Reception Centre in Fort Smith which features exhibits, publications, and videos.

Whooping crane resting in tall grass in Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada.
After spending winter along the coasts of Texas, Whooping cranes start leaving Aransas in early April and begin arriving in Wood Buffalo three to four weeks later.
© Parks Canada / R.D. Muir 09.90.10.02 (15) / 1974

Links

Grús americána

Gros plan d’une Grue blanche dans le parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo.
Grue blanche dans le parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo.
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 09.90.10.02 (96) / 2002

Le parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo protège l’aire de nidification de la dernière bande migratrice de grues blanches du monde. L’habitat de la grue blanche s’étendait autrefois sur une grande partie du centre de l’Amérique du Nord, depuis la côte méridionale du Texas jusqu’au nord dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Bien qu’elles n’aient jamais été très nombreuses, leur nombre était estimé à quelque 1500 individus vers 1850. Les établissements humains ont par la suite détruit une grande partie de leurs aires de nidification, et en 1941, la population avait chuté à 21 oiseaux, son niveau le plus bas. La Grue blanche est désignée espèce en voie d’extinction par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) depuis 2000 et Parcs Canada ainsi que ses partenaires nationaux et internationaux travaillent à son rétablissement.

 

Qu’est ce que la Grue blanche?

La grue blanche est le plus grand oiseau d’Amérique du Nord. Elle mesure 1,5 m et l’envergure de ses ailes atteint au moins deux mètres. De couleur blanche, elle a les rémiges primaires noires, caractéristique qui ne se voit que lorsqu’elle déploie ses ailes. Elle est pourvue de longues pattes noires fines. Ses yeux sont jaunes, et sa tête est surmontée d’une couronne rouge caractéristique, avec des « joues » horizontales noires. Les jeunes sont de couleur blanche et cannelle.

La grue blanche se nourrit de larves d’insectes comme les libellules, les demoiselles et les éphémères communes, et des espèces aquatiques comme les escargots, les petites myes, les menés et les grenouilles figurent à son menu. Parfois, elle attrape de plus grosses proies comme des serpents, des souris ou de petits oiseaux. Les nymphes de libellules constituent une importante source d’alimentation pour les oisillons. En hiver, après avoir migré vers la côte méridionale du Texas, la grue blanche se nourrit de crabes bleus, de myes, d’écrevisses, de petits poissons, de glands et de petits fruits.

Où vit la Grue blanche?

Vue aérienne de l’are de nidification de la Grue blanche.
Les Grues blanches nichent et élèvent leurs petits dans les régions marécageuses éloignées du parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo, loin des perturbationshumaines.
© Parcs Canada / Galerie d’images du PNCWB

Les grues blanches nichent et élèvent leurs petits dans les régions marécageuses éloignées du parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo, loin des perturbations humaines. Constitué principalement de massettes, leur nid d’un mètre de large est construit sur les eaux peu profondes d’étangs bordés d’épinettes. Au printemps, elles pondent deux œufs, que mâle et femelle couvent tour à tour. Les œufs éclosent fin du mois de mai ou début juin. À l’automne, les grues blanches migrent à 3 500 km au sud dans l’Aransas National Wildlife Refuge le long du golfe du Mexique dans le sud du Texas.

Après s’être nourris et reposés pendant les mois d’hiver, les oiseaux commencent le rituel de la parade nuptiale au début du printemps. La « danse de la grue blanche », qui fait partie de la parade nuptiale, peut être observée dans le refuge Aransas juste avant la migration vers le nord à destination du parc national Wood Buffalo en vue de la nidification. Les grues entreprennent leur voyage vers le nord au début d’avril pour arriver à Wood Buffalo trois ou quatre semaines plus tard.

Carte montrant le parcours migratoire de la Grue blanche.
Carte montrant le parcours migratoire de la Grue blanche. Chaque année, à l’automne, les grues blanches migrent à 3500 Km au sud dans l’Aransas National Wildlife Refuge le long du golfe du Mexique dans le sud du Texas.
© Parcs Canada / Galerie d’images du PNCWB

Quel est le statut de la Grue blanche?

Gros plan de la tête d’une Grue blanche.
La Grue blanche est de couleur blanche et le bout des ailes noir. Cette caractéristique ne se voit que lorsqu’elle déploie ses ailes.
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 09.90.10.02 (95) / 2002

La grue blanche fait partie des espèces en voie de disparition désignées par le COSEPAC. La population de la bande de Wood Buffalo - Aransas comptait 263 individus en décembre 2010. La population mondiale de grues blanches était de 568 à la même date. Ce nombre inclut les oiseaux en captivité, une bande non migratrice en Floride, une bande migratrice introduite (Wisconsin-Floride) et la bande migratrice sauvage de Wood Buffalo-Aransas.

Pourquoi la Grue blanche est-elle en danger?

Species at Risk - Le saviez-vous?

D’une hauteur pouvant aller jusqu’à 1,5 m, la grue blanche est le plus grand oiseau d’Amérique du Nord – et elle niche dans le plus grand parc national d’Amérique du Nord, le parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo!

L’habitat de la grue blanche s’étendait autrefois sur une grande partie du centre de l’Amérique du Nord, depuis la côte méridionale du Texas jusqu’au nord dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Bien qu’elles n’aient jamais été très nombreuses, leur nombre était estimé à environ 1 500 individus vers 1850. Les établissements humains ont par la suite détruit une grande partie de leurs aires de nidification, et en 1941, la population n’était plus que de 21 oiseaux – leur plus faible niveau. À cette époque, on ne connaissait pas l’emplacement de leurs aires de nidification dans le Nord. Ce n’est qu’en 1954 que l’on a découvert leurs aires de nidification dans une zone reculée du parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo. Nul doute que l’isolement des oiseaux au cours de cette période où ils sont vulnérables les a sauvés de l’extinction.

Pourquoi protéger la Grue blanche?

La grue blanche était au seuil de l’extinction au début des années 1940. La disparition de la grue blanche aurait non seulement été triste mais aurait également réduit la biodiversité en Amérique du Nord. Bien que les efforts de rétablissement internationaux aient permis d’accroître le nombre de grues blanches, ces oiseaux majestueux et unique sont toujours menacés. Des efforts constants sont toujours requis afin d’assurer sa survie.

Depuis de nombreuses années, des efforts internationaux ont été déployés afin d’accroître la population de grues blanches. Ces efforts incluent ce qui suit :

  • protection continue des aires de nidification et du territoire d’hivernage;
  • établissement d’un programme de reproduction en captivité (Pour amorcer ce programme, 225 œufs ont été recueillis dans le parc national Wood Buffalo entre 1967 et 1996. Le ramassage d’œufs provenant de la bande de Wood Buffalo a cessé en 1996);
  • Recensements annuels et surveillance des nids et de la productivité des oisillons au parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo;
  • recherche sur l’écologie de l’aire de nidification actuelle des oiseaux afin d’aider à sélectionner les nouveaux sites de réintroduction;
  • établissement d’une bande non migratrice en Floride;
  • réintroduction d’une deuxième bande migratrice (Wisconsin-Floride) constituée d’oiseaux nés en captivité. Il a fallu notamment apprendre aux oiseaux nés en captivité à migrer en utilisant des ultralégers.

Bien que les populations de grues blanches continuent d’augmenter dans le cadre de ce programme, l’espèce demeure vulnérable, en particulier pendant la migration. Au nombre des dangers qui les guettent pendant la migration, mentionnons les chasseurs (ils confondent parfois la grue blanche avec d’autres espèces d’oiseaux comme la grue du Canada) et les lignes de transport d’énergie. Dans leur territoire d’hivernage à Aransas, il y a un risque de pollution de l’eau sur la côte en raison du trafic maritime commercial.

Que fait Parcs Canada pour sauver la Grue blanche ?

Grue blanche dans le Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo.
Le nid de la Grue blanche est d’un mètre de large et constitué de branchage. Il est généralement construit dans des eaux peu profondes d’étangs bordés d’épinettes.
© Parcs Canada / Galerie d’images du PNWB

Le parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo protège les aires de nidification de la dernière bande sauvage migratrice de grues blanches. L’aire de nidification de la grue blanche est classée zone 1, préservation spéciale, en vertu du Plan directeur du parc national Wood Buffalo. L’accès en est interdit au public en raison de la vulnérabilité extrême des oiseaux au cours de la période où ils nichent et élèvent leurs petits.

Le personnel chargé de la préservation des ressources du parc aide le Service canadien de la faune dans ses activités de surveillance écologique, de recherche et de recensement annuel des oiseaux qui nichent. Le parc fait également connaître la grue blanche dans le cadre de programmes de sensibilisation du public et sur les supports autonomes comme les publications et les panneaux d’interprétation. Le sentier d’interprétation des zones humides du parc présente de l’information sur la grue blanche et les espèces en péril.

La présence de grues blanches au parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo est une caractéristique d’un intérêt exceptionnel et explique en partie la raison pour laquelle le site est un site du patrimoine mondial. L’aire de nidification de la grue blanche a également été désignée site Ramsar par la Convention du même nom, ou d’une Zone humide d’importance internationale.

Comment puis-je aider?

  • Soyez un bon intendant de la terre, et appuyez les efforts d’organismes qui aident à protéger l’environnement. Essayez de réduire votre empreinte écologique.
  • Apprenez-en davantage sur la grue blanche en lisant des ouvrages ou en consultant Internet.
  • Si vous visitez le parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo, vous pourrez en apprendre beaucoup sur la grue blanche en parcourant le sentier d’interprétation des zones humides et en vous attardant au Centre d’accueil des visiteurs à Fort Smith, qui présente des expositions, des publications et des vidéos.

Grue blanche se reposant dans l’herbe longue au dans le Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo.
Après avoir passé l’hiver sur les côtes du Texas, les Grues blanches amorcent leur retour vers le parc National Wood Buffalo au début avril et y arrivent de 2 à 4 semaines plus tard.
© Parcs Canada / R.D.Muir / 09.90.10.02 (15) / 1974

Liens