What is Pitcher's thistle's status?

Pitcher's thistle is an endangered species according to the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). This means that unless something is done to stop the plant's current decline, Pitcher's thistle could soon disappear from the Earth. In the United States, Pitcher's Thistle is considered to be threatened.

What is so special about Pitcher's thistle?


Pitcher's thistle habitat at Carter Bay on Manitoulin Island.
Pitcher's thistle helps anchor dunes and provides food for a variety of animals.

Pitcher's thistle is an important part of the extremely fragile dune ecosystems of the upper Great Lakes.

Perhaps its most obvious value to the ecosystem is as food. A variety of animals feed on the seeds and leaves of Pitcher's thistle. There is also a species of moth that requires Pitcher's thistle for its survival.

Less obvious is the role Pitcher's thistle plays in providing a habitat for other dune dwellers. The plant is anchored by a long root (called a taproot). The taproot helps to hold the plant in place, and to draw water from deep below. By tapping deeply into the sand, Pitcher's thistle helps anchor the dune, creating a stable habitat for other plants and animals.

Pitcher's thistle flowers only once, when it is 2 to 10 years old, and then dies.

Why is Pitcher's thistle in danger?

The Great Lakes dunes where Pitcher's thistle lives are among the most rare and most threatened ecosystems in Canada . The dunes, and many of the species that live on them, have undergone significant declines during the past century. These declines are largely the result of shoreline development and recreational activities on the dunes and the beaches near them.

Many Pitcher's thistles die during the first few years of their life. If the plant is lucky enough to make it through this period, it must still overcome a number of threats if it is to survive long enough to bloom. Shoreline development, all-terrain vehicles and simply being stepped on are the biggest threats to Pitcher's thistle.

What is Parks Canada doing to help Pitcher's thistle?

Parks Canada is working hard to improve our understanding of Pitcher's thistle and to educate people about the need to protect the plant and the dune ecosystem in which it thrives. Ongoing research, recovery action and public education are helping ensure the survival of this rare plant.

Research

An example of this kind of work can be seen at Pukaskwa National Park , where staff have been monitoring the Pitcher's thistle since 1981. Each year, every plant is identified and marked to indicate its stage in its life cycle.

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) requires that federally endangered species, such as Pitcher's Thistle, be protected through federal or provincial regulations. SARA also requires that the habitat necessary for the survival or recovery of endangered species be protected.

Recovery action

Following a near washout of a beach containing Pitcher's thistle, a new colony was introduced to the park's Middle Beach in 1991. Parks Canada has joined the Pitcher's thistle recovery team, whose efforts include locating remaining populations, identifying habitat and preparing a plan for the recovery of the species.

Public education

The park has initiated programs to educate private and public property owners about this unique species and its special habitat. Low fences protect the colonies and signs identify the area as a "fragile dune environment" containing endangered species. All of these precautions, as well as raised boardwalks in the dune areas of the park, help to keep visitors on the established trails and away from the thistles.

Visitors curious to see what a Pitcher's thistle looks like are given the opportunity at the park's visitor centre, where a display shows the plant in a natural setting at three stages of growth.

How can I help?

A Pitcher's thistle adult at Carter Bay on Manitoulin Island.
A Pitcher's thistle adult at Carter Bay on Manitoulin Island.
  • Learn more about Pitcher's thistle and about other species at risk, particularly those in your area. 
  • When visiting an area like Pukaskwa National Park, be sure to stay on established trails and boardwalks. 
  • If a dune runs through your property, consider ways to protect it. Signs, fences and boardwalks are some ways you can deter people from damaging this environment. 
  • If there is a colony of Pitcher's thistle near you, monitor and record its progress. 
  • Share what you learn with others.

Quel est le statut du chardon de Pitcher?

Le chardon de Pitcher est une espèce en voie de disparition selon le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Ce qui signifie que si on ne prend aucune mesure pour freiner son déclin, le chardon de Pitcher pourrait bientôt disparaître de la surface de la Terre. Aux États-Unis, le chardon de Pitcher est considéré comme une espèce menacée.

En quoi le chardon de Pitcher est-il si particulier?

Habitat du chardon de Pitcher dans la baie Carter sur l'île Manitoulin
Le chardon de Pitcher aide à stabiliser les dunes et divers animaux s'en nourrissent.

Le chardon de Pitcher est un élément important des écosystèmes de dunes extrêmement fragiles du secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs.

Son rôle le plus important dans l'écosystème est peut-être celui d'aliment. Divers animaux se nourrissent des graines et des feuilles du chardon de Pitcher. Il y a même une espèce de phalène (papillon nocturne) dont la survie dépend du chardon de Pitcher.

Mais la plante joue également un rôle plus discret en servant d'habitat à d'autres habitants des dunes. La plante est retenue par une longue racine (appelée racine pivotante), qui la maintient en place et lui permet de puiser l'eau en profondeur. Profondément ancré dans le sable, le chardon de Pitcher aide à stabiliser la dune et crée un habitat stable pour d'autres plantes et d'autres animaux.

Le chardon de Pitcher ne fleurit qu'une seule fois, entre l'âge de deux et dix ans, puis il meurt.

Pourquoi le chardon de Pitcher est-il en danger?

Les dunes des Grands Lacs, où vit le chardon de Pitcher, comptent parmi les écosystèmes les plus rares et les plus menacés au Canada. Les dunes, ainsi que de nombreuses espèces qui y vivent, ont subi d'importants déclins au cours du dernier siècle. Ceci est en grande partie causé par l'aménagement du littoral et par les activités de loisir qui prennent place dans les dunes et sur les plages à proximité.

Beaucoup de plants de chardons de Pitcher meurent pendant les premières années de leur vie. S'ils ont la chance de traverser cette période difficile, ils doivent encore affronter plusieurs menaces avant d'arriver à l'âge de la floraison. L'aménagement du littoral, les véhicules tout-terrains et le piétinement constituent les plus grandes menaces pour le chardon de Pitcher.

Que fait Parcs Canada pour aider à sauver le chardon de Pitcher?

Parcs Canada travaille sans relâche pour enrichir nos connaissances sur le chardon de Pitcher et sensibiliser les gens à la nécessité de protéger la plante et l'écosystème de dunes dans lequel elle pousse. La poursuite des recherches, les mesures de rétablissement et l'éducation populaire aident à assurer la survie de cette plante rare.

Recherche

Mentionnons à titre d'exemple le travail du personnel du parc national Pukaskwa, qui surveille les plants de chardon de Pitcher depuis 1981. Tous les ans, chaque plante est identifiée et marquée de façon à indiquer à quel stade de son cycle biologique elle se trouve.

D'après la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEEP), les espèces considérées en voie de disparition, comme le chardon de Pitcher, doivent être protégées par des règlements fédéraux ou provinciaux. D'après cette même loi, on doit absolument protéger l'habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement des espèces en voie de disparition.

Mesures de rétablissement

Après que la plage abritant le chardon de Pitcher a presque été emportée par les eaux, une nouvelle colonie a été introduite sur la plage Middle du parc en 1991. Parcs Canada s'est jointe à l'équipe de rétablissement du chardon du Pitcher, qui s'occupe entre autres, de repérer les populations qui subsistent, d'en délimiter l'habitat et d'établir un plan de rétablissement de l'espèce.

Éducation populaire

Le parc a entrepris des programmes en vue de renseigner les propriétaires de terres privées et publiques sur cette espèce remarquable et son habitat. Des clôtures basses protègent les colonies et des panneaux indiquent que le secteur est un environnement fragile de dunes renfermant une espèce en voie de disparition. Toutes ces précautions, de même que la construction de trottoirs surélevés dans les dunes du parc, aident à garder les visiteurs sur les sentiers balisés, loin des chardons.

Les visiteurs curieux de voir à quoi ressemble un chardon de Pitcher peuvent se présenter au centre d'accueil du parc, où une exposition présente les plantes dans leur milieu naturel à trois différents stades de croissance.

Comment puis-je aider?

Chardon de Pitcher adulte dans la baie Carter sur l'île Manitoulin
Un chardon de Pitcher adulte dans la baie Carter sur l'île Manitoulin.
  • Renseignez-vous sur le chardon de Pitcher et sur d'autres espèces en péril, en particulier celles de votre région. 
  • Lorsque vous visitez un endroit comme le parc national du Canada Pukaskwa, restez sur les sentiers balisés et les trottoirs. 
  • Si une dune traverse votre terrain, pensez à des moyens de la protéger. Les panneaux, les clôtures et les trottoirs sont des moyens d'empêcher les gens de causer des dégâts à cet environnement. 
  • S'il existe une colonie de chardons de Pitcher près de chez vous, surveillez-la et prenez des notes sur son développement. 
  • Expliquez aux autres ce que vous avez appris.