Ride the rolling hills as you take in the sweet smell of the pines. The mottled sunlight peeks through the trees as you cruise from one grassy meadow to another. Packed, graveled trails or a bit of back country adventure, the choice is yours.

Why not pack a picnic lunch and go on a hunt for the history of the area? Venture out to the trading posts and the Cypress Hills Massacre site.

Check before you trek. Contact us before you venture out as trail conditions can change with the weather.

Bike rentals

Want to cruise the picturesque trails but don’t have a bike with you? No problem! Fort Walsh NHS now offers bicycle rentals. Mountain bikes, cruiser bikes and youth mountain bikes are available to choose from. Would you like to have a picnic lunch along the trail? Great news, the cruiser bikes have baskets perfect for a packed lunch!

Come to the reception desk at the superintendent’s building, inside the fort, for bike rentals and trail information. Rentals can be reserved by phone on a first come first served basis. Credit card payment is required to secure the reservation. Rentals available through the operating season, availability subject to change.

Rental Fee: $17 per day/per bike

Baladez-vous sur les collines ondulantes tout en remplissant vos narines du parfum de pins. Le soleil tacheté passe à travers les arbres pendant que vous vous promenez d'un pré d’herbes à l'autre. Des sentiers de gravier bien tassé ou un peu d'aventure dans l’arrière-pays, à vous de choisir. 

Pourquoi ne pas préparer un pique-nique et partir à la chasse de l'histoire de la région? Rendez-vous jusqu'aux postes de traite et au lieu historique du Massacre-des-Collines-Cypress. 

Vérifiez avant de partir en randonnée. Contactez-nous avant de vous aventurer car l’état des sentiers peut changer selon les conditions météorologiques.

Location de vélos

Vous voulez vous balader sur des sentiers magnifiques mais vous n'avez pas de vélo? Le lieu historique national Fort-Walsh offre maintenant la location de vélos. Vous pouvez choisir parmi des vélos de montagne, des vélos de ville et des vélos de montagne pour jeunes. Vous pensiez faire un pique-nique quelque part le long du sentier? Bonne nouvelle! Les vélos de ville sont dotés de paniers parfaits pour apporter un lunch!

Venez au bureau d'accueil dans le bâtiment du surintendant, à l'intérieur du fort, pour louer un vélo ou obtenir de l'information sur les sentiers. Les vélos peuvent être réservés par téléphone selon le principe « premier arrivé, premier servi ». Un paiement par carte de crédit est requis pour garantir votre réservation. Les vélos peuvent être loués tout au long de la saison opérationnelle, et la disponibilité peut changer.

Frais de location : 17 $ par jour/par vélo