We rarely head out for an outdoor adventure with the expectation that something will go wrong, and most times everything will go right. However, sometimes the unexpected happens and when it does, it’s important that you are well informed and well prepared to minimise the negative impact of unfortunate circumstances.

For general information on how to stay safe when enjoying the outdoors visit www.adventuresmart.ca

For important information about staying safe while enjoying Fort Battleford National Historic Site, please explore the topics below:

Weather

Bring sunscreen, sun glasses, hats and water bottles. The rays from the sun especially between 11:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. can be very damaging to your health and skin. Wearing sun-screen, staying in the shade as much as possible, wearing hats and drinking lots of water will help in preventing adverse effects from the sun. For information and weather details visit https://weather.gc.ca

Ticks

Ticks are found in tall grassy areas or wooded areas and drop from leaves or blades of grass onto animals and humans. They are tiny, brownish/red in color and looks like a little beetle. They bite through the skin and attach themselves. Infection from ticks may be harmful.

Prevention:

  • Wear long sleeve shirts and pants. If wearing shorts and short-sleeve shirts check for ticks periodically.
  • Some insect repellents are labelled to repel ticks, however, it is not known how effective this is.
  • Keep out of tall grass and be aware when walking the trails.
  • Don't forget to check your pets. Ticks don't always attach themselves right away and could very easily jump from your pet to you or other members of your group.

Related Links

Ground Hazards

Be mindful of where you are walking while touring the site. Terrain may be uneven, watch for natural hazards such as gopher holes. Suitable footwear should be worn.

EMERGENCY SERVICES
Police, fire and ambulance: 9-1-1
Fort Battleford Visitor Centre: 306-937-2621 (from March 1st to October 31st)

Safety is everyone’s responsibility

At Parks Canada, we do our part to make sure you can have a safe visit by assessing the risks, managing hazards, and making sure that safety information is freely available to everyone. You can do your part as visitors by making sure you seek out the information you need to stay safe and make well informed decisions while enjoying these special places. Visit our websites and stop at a visitor centre to speak with our employees for the most up to date information. Make sure you are fully prepared for whatever activities you choose to participate in so you can have a safe, enjoyable and memorable visit.

Bien que la plupart du temps les sorties en plein air se déroulent à merveille, il est essentiel de connaître les règles de sécurité et d’être bien préparé en cas de problèmes.

Pour obtenir de l'information sur la façon de pratiquer vos activités en toute sécurité, consultez le www.adventuresmart.ca

Pour obtenir de l'information importante sur la façon de demeurer en sécurité en visitant le lieu historique national du Fort-Battleford, veuillez parcourir les sujets ci-dessous :

Météo

Apportez une crème solaire protectrice, des lunettes de soleil et des bouteilles d'eau. Les rayons du soleil sont particulièrement dommageables pour la santé et la peau entre 11 h et 15 h. Utiliser une crème solaire protectrice, rester à l'ombre le plus souvent possible, porter un chapeau et boire beaucoup d'eau aidera à prévenir les effets néfastes que cause le soleil. Pour avoir plus de détails, visitez https://meteo.gc.ca

Les tiques

Les tiques sont retrouvées dans les zones d’herbes hautes ou les terrains boisés et tombent des feuilles ou des herbes pour se ramasser parfois sur les animaux et les humains. Petites, elles ressemblent à des scarabées et sont de couleur brun-rouge. Elles mordent la peau et s'accrochent. Une infection provenant des tiques peut être dangereuse pour la santé.

Prévention

  • Il est préférable de porter des chemises ou gilets avec des manches longues ainsi que des pantalons. Si vous portez des culottes courtes et chemises ou gilets avec des manches courtes, vérifiez régulièrement si vous avez des tiques.
  • Les produits de chasse-moustiques ne sont pas nécessairement efficaces contre les tiques.
  • Il est préférable de se tenir éloigné des herbes hautes et d'être attentif lorsque vous marchez dans les sentiers.
  • N'oubliez pas d'inspecter votre animal domestique. Les tiques ne s'attachent pas nécessairement immédiatement et peuvent aisément sauter de votre animal à vous ou à un membre de votre groupe.

Autres liens

Dangers au sol

Faites attention à l’endroit où vous marchez alors que vous visitez le site. Le terrain peut être inégal; gardez l’œil ouvert pour repérer les dangers naturels tels que les trous de marmottes. On recommande le port de chaussures adéquates.

Services d’urgence
Police, pompiers et ambulance : 9-1-1
Fort-Battleford centre d’accueil: 306-937-2621 (entre le 1er mars et le 31 octobre)

La sécurité est l’affaire de tous

À Parcs Canada, nous fournissons notre part d’efforts pour veiller à ce que votre visite soit sécuritaire en évaluant les risques, en gérant les dangers et en offrant une information librement accessible à tous. En tant que visiteurs, vous pouvez également contribuer à cette démarche en vous assurant d’obtenir l’information dont vous avez besoin pour demeurer en sécurité et prendre des décisions éclairées, tout en appréciant ces lieux exceptionnels. Visitez nos sites Web et arrêtez-vous à un centre d’accueil pour parler à nos employés et pour obtenir l’information la plus récente. Pour vous assurer d’une visite sécuritaire et mémorable, vous devez être bien préparé avant d’entreprendre toute activité à laquelle vous souhaitez participer.