How did people live in the 19th century? Discover the life and work of former Prime Minister Wilfrid Laurier while visiting the typical Quebec home of his youth. A charming collection of artifacts and old furnishings will help you better understand the lifestyle of residents of yesteryear.

Visit to the interpretation centre

Stop by the interpretation centre where an exhibit briefly presents the life and work of Sir Wilfrid Laurier. Then visit the adjoining house, which provides a veritable trip back through time.

 

Sites nearby

  • Forges du Saint-Maurice National Historic Site

    From 1730 to 1883, the Forges du Saint-Maurice produced a variety of iron and cast iron products for military and domestic use. Enter the Grande Maison and immerse yourself in the history of the first industrial community in Canada.

  • La Mauricie National Park

    With its 536 km2 area, La Mauricie National Park is the ideal place for an outdoor escape. Hills, forests and streams are accessible any season of the year.

  • Saint-Ours Canal National Historic Site

    Stroll through Darvard Island and enjoy recognizing many species of trees and birds. Have a family picnic while watching the lockage of pleasure craft. Children will be fascinated by the fish ladder, a structure unlike anything else in the world. 

  • Lachine Canal National Historic Site

    A veritable open-air museum, the Lachine Canal recounts the beginnings of industrialization in Montreal. Explore the ingenuity of this 1825 structure. Follow its urban course, sail through the locks by boat, and enjoy an oasis in the city. 

  • Sir George-Étienne Cartier National Historic Site

    The only Victorian-style house open to the public in the city, Sir George-Étienne Cartier’s home in Old Montreal offers an opportunity to become better acquainted with one of the Fathers of Confederation.

Hours of operation

June 17 to September 4
Every day, from 10 am to 5 pm
Complete schedule

Fees

Free admission in 2017. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list

Contact us

Telephone: 450-439-3702
Telephone (Off season): 819-423-6965
Toll-free: 1-888-773-8888
Email: information@pc.gc.ca

#SirWilfridLaurier #ParksCanada

Comment vivaient les habitants du milieu du 19e siècle? Découvrez la vie et l’œuvre de Wilfrid Laurier et visitez une maison québécoise typique de l’époque sa jeunesse. Une charmante collection d’objets et de meubles anciens vous aident à mieux comprendre le mode de vie des habitants d’autrefois.

Visite du centre d’interprétation

Arrêtez-vous au centre d’interprétation, où une exposition présente sommairement la vie et l’œuvre de Sir Wilfrid Laurier. Pénétrez ensuite dans la maison voisine, qui propose un véritable voyage dans le temps.

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national des Forges-du-Saint-Maurice

    De 1730 à 1883, les Forges du Saint-Maurice fabriquaient une variété de produits de fer et de fonte destinés aux domaines militaire et domestique. Entrez dans la Grande Maison et plongez dans l’histoire de la première communauté industrielle du Canada.

  • Parc national de la Mauricie

    Avec ses 536 km2, le parc national de la Mauricie est le lieu idéal pour s’évader. Collines, forêt et cours d’eau sont au rendez-vous, saison après saison.

  • Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Saint-Ours

    Promenez-vous sur l’île Darvard et amusez-vous à reconnaître les nombreuses espèces d’arbres et d’oiseaux. Pique-niquez en famille tout en observant l’éclusage des bateaux de plaisance. Vos enfants seront impressionnés par l’échelle à poisson, une structure unique au monde. 

  • Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine

    Véritable musée en plein air, le canal de Lachine raconte les débuts de l’industrialisation à Montréal. Explorez l’ingéniosité de cet ouvrage construit en 1825. Empruntez son circuit urbain, franchissez les écluses en bateau, venez profiter de la nature dans toute sa splendeur.

  • Lieu historique national de Sir-George-Étienne-Cartier

    Seule maison de style victorien ouverte au public dans la métropole, la demeure de Sir George-Étienne-Cartier, dans le Vieux-Montréal, permet de faire plus amble connaissance avec l’un des pères de la Confédération.

Heures d’ouverture

17 juin au 4 septembre
Tous les jours, de 10 h à 17 h
Horaire complet

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite en 2017. Les autres frais s’appliquent.
Tarification complète

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 450-439-3702
Téléphone (hors saison) : 819-423-6965
Sans frais : 1-888-773-8888
Courriel : reservations.wilfridlaurier@pc.gc.ca

#SirWilfridLaurier #ParcsCanada