Make the most of your visit to Fort Témiscamingue by visiting our permanent and temporary exhibitions and watching the film “The Voyageurs”, which tells the story of a unique contribution to the discovery of Canada.

Audio-visual projections Obadjiwan exibition: following in the tracks of fur-bearing animals

Obadjiwan permanent interactive exhibition

This exhibition recalls thousands of years of Algonquin presence and trading post’s role in the fur trade for nearly two centuries. Especially the fierce rivalry between the French and British to exploit the supply of pelts in Hudson’s Bay in the 17th and 18th centuries. The fort also serves as a reminder of the activities of the independent 18th century traders and the successive fur trade monopolies held in Témiscamingue, in the 19th century, by the North West and Hudson’s Bay companies.


“Murmures” outdoor exhibition

Murmures, exhibit by Christian Paquette

Presented in the Enchanted Forest of the Fort Témiscamingue National Historic Site, this exhibition features fifteen works spread out within the forest. Visitors can reach observation points from the wooden palisade, which is already set up across this site – one that is considered to be a natural treasure. The works were built using wood materials and driftwood from Lake Timiskaming. You can see the exhibition from June 2015 to September 2017.

“Parkas de poil” summer exhibition

Come and see the illustrations by artist Michel Villeneuve of fur animals of the region in collaboration with the photographer Luc Farrell. This exhibition will be on display from July 1 to September 4, 2017.

Presentation of the film “The Voyageurs”

Filmed in 1964 by the National Film Board of Canada, this 20-minute family-oriented documentary is being shown in the multi-purpose room, which is outfitted with quality audiovisual equipment. It tells the story of simple, spirited men who set off to reach the lands of Western Canada. Eager for more furs and spurred on solely by personal gain, they pushed further towards the Pacific Ocean, contributing to the discovery of Canada.

Profitez de votre visite au Fort-Témiscamingue pour visiter nos expositions permanente et temporaires et visionner le film « Les voyageurs » relatant une contribution unique à la découverte du Canada.

projection audiovisuelle Exposition Obadjiwan : Sur la trace des animaux de tous poils

Exposition interactive et permanente Obadjiwan

Cette exposition rappelle la présence millénaire des Algonquins et le rôle joué par ce poste de traite dans le commerce des fourrures pendant près de deux siècles. Il témoigne notamment de l’importante rivalité qui existe au 17e et 18e siècle, entre français et anglais pour l’exploitation du réservoir pelletier de la Baie d’Hudson. Le poste rappelle également les activités de marchands indépendants au 18e siècle et les monopoles successifs au 19e siècle détenus dans ce commerce au Témiscamingue par les compagnies du Nord-Ouest et de la Baie d’Hudson.


Exposition extérieure « Murmures »

Murmures, exposition par Christian Paquette

Présentée dans la Forêt enchantée du Lieu Historique National du Fort-Témiscamingue. Elle regroupera une quinzaine d'œuvres réparties à l’intérieure de la forêt. Les visiteurs auront des points d’observation à partir de la palissade en bois qui est déjà aménagée à travers ce site que l’on qualifie de trésor naturel. Les œuvres seront réalisées avec des matières ligneuses et du bois de grève provenant du Lac Témiscamingue. Vous pourrez voir l’exposition de juin 2015 à septembre 2017.


Exposition estivale « Parka de poils »

Voyez les illustrations de l’artiste Michel Villeneuve des animaux à fourrures de la région en collaboration avec le photographe Luc Farrell. Cette exposition aura lieu 1er juillet au 4 septembre 2017.

Présentation du film « Les voyageurs»

D’une durée de 20 minutes, produit en 1964 par l’Office national du film du Canada, ce documentaire destiné à la famille vous est présenté dans la salle polyvalente dotée d'équipements audiovisuels de qualité. Il relate l’histoire d’hommes simples, d’un naturel gai, qui s’apprêtent à rejoindre les pays de l’Ouest canadien. Avides de pelleteries, ils poussent plus loin vers la mer Pacifique. Stimulés par le seul désir de s’enrichir, ils ont contribué à découvrir le Canada.