For 200 years, the wreck of the Machault, a 26-gun military sailing vessel charged with protecting merchant vessels from the British, has remained under water. At the Battle of Restigouche National Historic Site, it is now possible to admire the ship’s remains and to relive the last naval battle between France and Britain for possession of North American territory. It's an extraordinary journey that will take you all the way back to 1760!

Getting here

40 Perron Ouest Boulevard
Pointe-à-la-Croix QC G0C 1L0

Hours of operation

June 24 to September 22
Every day, from 9 am to 5 pm

Fees

Free admission in 2017. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list

Contact us

Telephone: 418-788-5676
Toll-free: 1-888-773-8888

Email: information@pc.gc.ca

Featured things to do

Ready for the crossing?

Descend between decks and learn about the life of crew members in the year 1760—and watch out for rats!

The Rideau Canal in Ottawa and the lockage permit

Your free pass to discovery

Celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary at Parks Canada’s historic canals.

Get your free 2017 seasonal lockage permit

Canada 150

Sites nearby

  • Forillon National Park

    Forillon is a place where you can paddle with seals, watch passing whales and swim off a magnificent sandy beach all on the same day. You may even see a beaver on a walk through the forest.

  • Pointe-au-Père Lighthouse National Historic Site

    The Pointe-au-Père navigational aid station, among the most important in Canada, helps us better understand the complexity of the St. Lawrence River and the role played by its lighthouse, one of the tallest in the country.

  • Kouchibouguac National Park

    Golden sand dunes, estuaries brimming with life, warm ocean beaches, Mi’kmaq and Acadian culture, the starry spectacle of a Dark Sky Preserve and snowbound winter activities weave together the compelling tapestry of Kouchibouguac National Park.

  • Mingan Archipelago National Park Reserve

    The first word that springs to mind at the mention of the Mingan Archipelago is “remote”. Far from the hustle and bustle of everyday life, Mother Nature enchants with limestone sculptures, prolific marine and bird life, and the seductive sound of the sea.

  • A guide interpreter holds a starfish while a young girl touches it carefully with her fingers.
    Cap-de-Bon-Desir Interpretation and Observation Centre

    Observe whales, seals and marine birds from the shore. During the summer, take part in activities related to the marine fauna. Tour the exhibition to learn about the history of the lighthouse and its keepers.

Pendant 200 ans, l’épave du Machault, voilier de 26 canons chargé de protéger des navires marchands contre les Anglais, est restée sous l’eau. Il est aujourd’hui possible d’en admirer les vestiges et de revivre le tout dernier affrontement naval entre la France et l’Angleterre pour la possession du territoire nord-américain au lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Ristigouche. Un voyage extraordinaire qui vous entrainera en 1760!

Comment s’y rendre

40, boulevard Perron Ouest
Pointe-à-la-Croix (Québec) G0C 1L0

Heures d’ouverture

24 juin au 22 septembre
Tous les jours, de 9 h à 17 h

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite en 2017. Les autres frais s'appliquent.
Tarification complète

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 418 788-5676
Sans frais : 1 888 773-8888
Courriel : information@pc.gc.ca

En vedette

Prêts pour la traversée?

Pénétrez dans l'entrepont et apprenez-en plus la vie des membres de l'équipage en cette année 1760... et attention aux rats!

Le canal Rideau à Ottawa et le permis d'éclusage gratuit

Votre entrée libre vers la découverte

Célébrez le 150e anniversaire du Canada dans tous les canaux historiques de Parcs Canada.

Obtenez votre permis d’éclusage gratuit!

Canada 150

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Parc national Forillon

    Rares sont les endroits où il est possible de pagayer en compagnie des phoques, d’observer les baleines et de se baigner sur une magnifique plage de sable fin la même journée. Vous pourriez même apercevoir un castor lors de vos promenades en forêt!

  • Lieu historique national du Phare-de-Pointe-au-Père

    Parmi les plus importantes au Canada, la station d’aide à la navigation de Pointe-au-Père permet de mieux comprendre la complexité du fleuve et le rôle joué par son phare, l’un des plus hauts au pays.

  • Parc national Kouchibouguac

    Les dunes dorées, les estuaires qui regorgent de vie, les plages chaudes qui longent l’océan, les cultures mi’kmaq et acadienne, la réserve de ciel étoilé et les activités d’hiver tissent la trame captivante du parc national Kouchibouguac.

  • Réserve de parc national de l'Archipel-de-Mingan

    Le premier mot qui vient à l’esprit quand on évoque l’archipel de Mingan : dépaysement! Loin du quotidien, on se laisse ensorceler par les sculptures de Dame Nature, avec la mer comme fond sonore.

  • Une jeune fille touche des doigts avec précaution une étoile de mer que tient une guide interprète dans ses mains.
    Centre d'interprétation et d'observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir

    Observez baleines, phoques et oiseaux marins depuis la côte. En été, participez aux activités sur la faune marine. Arrêtez faire un tour à l’exposition pour connaître l’histoire du phare et de ses gardiens.