1819. Just a stone's throw from the U.S. border, Île-aux-Noix - anchored in the middle of the Richelieu River - served as a bulwark against potential invaders from the south. When, for the third time, military authorities ordered the reconstruction of the fort, they named the new defensive structure Fort Lennox.

This British fortification has retained its original structure so there is no need for imagination - everything remains as it was. Take the ferry that connects the village of Saint-Paul-de-l'Île-aux-Noix with île-aux-Noix, and in five minutes, you're in the 19th century. Walk through Fort Lennox’s gates and follow in the footsteps of soldiers who ate at this canteen, who mounted guard on this bridge, slept in these officers' quarters, inspected the powder magazine and stood watch over Lower Canada from the top of its ramparts. Steep yourself in the magic of history.

Please note that from now until 2020, the Government of Canada is making the largest investment in infrastructures since Parks Canada was established to protect sites that we care for and ensure their sustainability. At Fort-Lennox National Historic Site, investments in visitor infrastructures will ensure the quality and reliability of activities and will allow visitors to enjoy our diverse history.

More information

1819. À vol d’oiseau de la frontière américaine, l’Île-aux-Noix, ancrée au milieu de la rivière Richelieu, sert de rempart aux envahisseurs potentiels du Sud. Pour la troisième fois, des autorités militaires ordonnent la reconstruction du fort. Le nouvel ouvrage défensif s’appellera fort Lennox.

Cette fortification britannique a conservé sa structure d’origine. Pas besoin d’imagination, tout est resté tel quel. Empruntez le traversier qui relie le village de Saint-Paul-de-l'Île-aux-Noix à l’Île-aux-Noix, et en cinq minutes, basculez dans le 19e siècle. Franchissez le portail du fort Lennox et marchez dans les pas de militaires qui ont mangé à cette cantine, monté la garde à ce pont, dormi dans ce logis d’officiers, inspecté la poudrière et veillé sur le Bas-Canada du haut de ces remparts. Laissez-vous prendre par la magie de l’histoire.

Notez que le gouvernement du Canada effectue d’ici 2020 le plus grand investissement dans les infrastructures de Parcs Canada depuis sa création afin de protéger les endroits qui nous sont chers et d’en assurer la pérennité. Au lieu historique national du Fort-Lennox, les fonds investis dans les bâtiments et les infrastructures destinées aux visiteurs assureront la qualité des activités offertes et permettront à tous d’en apprendre davantage au sujet de notre histoire diversifiée.

Plus d'information