Discover the journey made by hundreds of thousands of immigrants over a time span of 105 years. By following in their footsteps, you will better understand the extent of the sacrifices of these newcomers and the long journey that led them to this place. Many perished even before reaching the promised land. Also, watch for an astonishing abundance of fauna and flora. Will you spot a deer, heron or snow goose? Keep your eyes peeled!

Featured

  • Explore the island

    With a Parks Canada guide, relive more than a hundred years of immigration through the stories and buildings still present on the island. Follow in the footsteps of the tens of thousands of immigrants who passed through the island.

  • ​Nurse Sarah Wade's medical examination

    What was an immigrant's arrival like when the port of Québec was the main gateway to the country and Grosse île was an essential stop to be made before setting foot on the continent?

  • Hiking on the Mirador trail

    The Mirador Trail offers visitors access to observe in complete tranquility the many plant and animal species that make the quarantine island their home. Look, listen and inhale: You are not alone…

  • ​School programs

    “The Key to” School Kit, a unique tool designed for primary students (cycles 2 and 3), is an educational adventure that examines multiculturalism and Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site.

All activities

Photography
Interpretive trail
Picnic Area Picnicking

Découvrez le parcours effectué par des dizaines de milliers d’immigrants pendant 105 ans. En marchant sur leurs traces, vous comprendrez mieux l’ampleur des sacrifices de ces nouveaux arrivants et le long périple qui les a menés jusqu’ici. Plusieurs ont péri avant même de toucher la terre promise. Attardez-vous aussi à la faune et à la flore, dont les richesses vous surprendront. Apercevrez-vous un chevreuil, un héron ou une oie blanche? Ouvrez l’œil!

En vedette

  • Explorez l'île

    À travers les récits et les vestiges toujours présents sur l’île, revivez plus de cent ans d’immigration avec un guide de Parcs Canada. Suivez les traces des dizaines de milliers d’immigrants qui transitèrent sur l’île.

  • ​Examen médical de l'infirmière Sarah Wade

    Alors que le port de Québec constituait la porte d’entrée principale au pays pour les immigants, Grosse-Île était un arrêt nécessaire avant de s’établir sur le continent. Découvrez à quoi ressemblait l’arrivée d’un immigrant.

  • ​Randonnée dans le sentier du Mirador

    L’île de la quarantaine abrite de nombreuses espèces végétales et animales, que le sentier du Mirador permet d’observer en toute quiétude. Regardez, écoutez et humez : vous n’êtes pas seul…

  • ​Programmes scolaires

    Prenez la clé, une trousse éducative conçue pour les élèves de 2e et 3e cycles du primaire, est une aventure pédagogique unique portant sur le lieu historique national de la Grosse-Île-et-le-Mémorial-des-Irlandais ainsi que sur le multiculturalisme.

Toutes les activités

Photographie
Sentier d'interprétation
Picnic Area Aire de pique nique