The Coteau-du-Lac National Historic Site is located about 40 km southwest of Montréal on the shores of the St. Lawrence River. It features Canada’s first lock canal and the remains of a fort.

With a history spanning 7,000 years, the site was a portage and encampment location used by Amerindians to avoid the rapids, a military fortification, and a canal that opened the way for commercial shipping.

Featured things to do

Free admission day
Spend a day exploring—it’s on us! We will be offering one free admission day on July 28, 2018

See what activities are planned

Hours of operation

2018 season

June 23 to September 3
Every day, from 10 am to 5 pm
Complete schedule

Fees

Free admission for youth in 2018. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list 

Contact us

Telephone: 450-763-5631
Toll-free: 1-888-773-8888
Email: reservations.coteau@pc.gc.ca

Visit the blockhouse and slip back into 1814!

Sites nearby

  • Fort Chambly National Historic Site

    Roughly 30 kilometres southeast of Montreal, Fort Chambly rises proudly at the foot of the Richelieu River rapids. Built in 1711 to defend the colony, this stone fortification was preceded by three wooden forts.

  • Battle of the Châteauguay National Historic Site

    Discover the strategies behind the significant day of October 26, 1813 when outnumbered Canadian troops defeated the invading American army. Ride 14 kilometres by bike or car across the actual battlefield!

  • The Carillon Barracks
    Carillon Barracks National Historic Site

    Opened in 1843, the Sainte-Anne Canal was the main entry point for the waterway between Montréal and Kingston. Take a trip through 150 years of history by visiting the Museum, then go to the pier for a picnic and watch the lock in operation.

  • Carillon Canal National Historic Site

    Watch boats pass through the Carillon Canal lock, navigating a 20-metre drop in a single operation. Stop in at the museum to inspect an interpretive panel about the history of the Ottawa River’s 19th century travellers.

  • Soldier explaining to kids how his weapon works
    Fort Lennox National Historic Site

    Treat yourself to a stroll through history. First, take the ferry from Saint-Paul-de-l'Île-aux-Noix then, five minutes later, step into the Fort Lennox Garrison. Built between 1819 and 1829, every nook and cranny in this British fortification has been preserved.

Le lieu historique national de Coteau-du-Lac est situé à environ 40 kilomètres au sud-ouest de Montréal aux abords du Saint-Laurent. Il abrite le premier canal à écluses du Canada et les vestiges d’un fort.

Lieu de portage et de campement très fréquenté par les Amérindiens qui évitaient ainsi les rapides, fortification militaire, puis canal ouvrant la voie à la navigation commerciale, ce site renferme 7000 ans d’histoire.

Comment s’y rendre

308 A Chemin du Fleuve
Coteau-du-Lac QC JOP 1BO
Carte

Heures d’ouverture

Fermé pour la saison d'hiver
Horaire complet

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite pour les jeunes en 2018. Les autres frais s’appliquent.
Tarification complète 

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 450-763-5631
Sans frais : 1-888-773-8888
Courriel : reservations.coteau@pc.gc.ca

Visitez le blockhaus et basculez en 1814 !

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national du Fort-Chambly

    À une trentaine de kilomètres au sud-est de Montréal, s’élève fièrement le fort Chambly au pied des rapides du Richelieu. Érigée en 1711 pour défendre la colonie, cette fortification de pierre a été précédée par trois forts en bois.

  • Lieu historique national de la Bataille-de-la-Châteauguay

    Découvrez les stratégies derrière la journée du 26 octobre 1813, alors que les troupes canadiennes ont vaincu l’armée d’invasion américaine, et baladez-vous à vélo ou en voiture sur les 14 kilomètres du champ de bataille!

  • La caserne de Carillon
    Lieu historique national de la Caserne-de-Carillon

    Aujourd’hui, il reste peu de traces de l’occupation militaire. À la suite du départ de la garnison, le bâtiment sera rénové puis servira d’hôtel pour des voyageurs. À partir de 1940, l’édifice a abrité le Musée régional d’Argenteuil, malheureusement fermé depuis quelques années.

  • Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Carillon

    Observez le passage des embarcations dans l’écluse du canal de Carillon qui franchissent une dénivellation de 20 mètres en une seule opération. Arrêtez-vous au musée pour admirer un pan d’histoire des voyageurs du 19e siècle.

  • Soldat expliquant à des enfants le fonctionnement de son arme
    Lieu historique national du Fort-Lennox

    Offrez-vous une marche dans l’Histoire. D’abord, empruntez le traversier à Saint-Paul-de-l'Île-aux-Noix, puis cinq minutes plus tard : bienvenue à la garnison du fort Lennox! Construite entre 1819 et 1829, cette fortification britannique a été préservée dans ses moindres recoins. Impressionnant!