May 17, 2002. Federal and provincial ministers, Secretaries of State, mayors and other dignitaries gathered at Lock No. 5 in Lachine to take part in the inauguration ceremony of the opening of the Lachine Canal to recreational boating. An imposing crowd participated in the colorful popular festival organized on this occasion, and the children took advantage of it to admire the first boats floating in the lock. That was 15 years ago…

Since then, many of you have been weighing anchor at this historic canal to enjoy the beauty of its scenery, the warm sunshine of the summer and the exciting programming that animates this exceptional site in the heart of Montreal. What about going back in time to celebrate a very special anniversary? Full ahead!

Luc-André Mercier, director of Quebec Waterways

Transcript

The Parks Canada logo
Image of the Lachine Canal

Cyclist and people sitting and looking at the canal
Arrival of Luc-André Mercier, director of Quebec Waterways at Parks Canada

My name Is Luc-André Mercier. I am Director of Quebec Waterways.
I have worked at Parks Canada for 32 years.
The Lachine Canal has played two major roles since it opened in 1825. Commercially, it linked the Atlantic Ocean to the Great Lakes region.
Secondly, a key point was the development of water power.
Because of the water power, there were factories and there were employees, so a large share of urban development took place right here.

Archives of the canal. Car crossing a bridge. Image of the canal filled with water.

Journalist (archives, CBC): “The Lachine Canal has been here for so long it was almost taken for granted, but it appears that it won’t be here forever”.
The Lachine Canal couldn’t be expanded. It was simpler to take a path that was completely modern and contemporary at the time, so it was decided to build the St. Lawrence Seaway.

archives (1950) of the canal.

Archive image in the 80's. People on bike watch the empty canal.
It would be eight years before governments stepped in, not to reopen the Lachine Canal, but to develop the urban park.

Images of the restoraton plan for the reopening of the canal
Announcement of the reopening to pleasure boating (Mayor of Montreal, Pierre Bourque, 1997)

The City of Montreal and the Government of Canada invested more than $80 million to redevelop the banks of this exceptional water body and reopen it to pleasure boating in 2002!
construction images

The canal had been completely abandoned. (images of trickling water )

Work was done on the locks, weirs and walls to make sure that the Lachine Canal could be made operational.
Images du canal en reconstruction
May 17, 2002: the canal reopened to pleasure boating
Photos of the reopening of the canal. Politicians, children, celebrations surrounding this day.

Recent images of the Lachine Canal

There was a moment of silence when we realized that something extraordinary had just happened, along with a feeling of relief.
People biking. A lady drinks a coffee in a red chair. Cars and cyclists crossing a bridge.

15 years later…If we just look at the financial side, it has been great. But if we look at it in terms of living environment, integration in the communities, recreational and tourist space, an extraordinary path has been travelled from 2002 to today

People enjoying the sun near the canal

Redpath building

Cyclist

Water flowing in the canal

A message from the gouvernement of Canada
Logo Canada

A bit of history

Black and with picture with working working in the canal
Widening works at the Lachine Canal in the 19th century.

At a time when navigation was the most efficient means of transporting goods and people, Montreal represented, until the beginning of the 19th century, a breaking point in the navigation towards the interior of the continent. The construction of the Lachine Canal, begun in 1821, would be at the heart of the industrial development of the region. As a matter of fact, this waterway would allow ships to ignore previously impassable rapids and to head for the Great Lakes. It would simultaneously attract many companies that would use its water for energy purposes or for the needs of their manufacturing processes.

In rural areas in the mid-1850s, the banks of the canal thus metamorphosed little by little into an urban fringe. The canal was no longer just a place where one worked: it became a real living environment.

Closed for over 30 years

Black and white photo qui a view on the canal and a metal bridge
Lachine Canal, in 1975
The opening of the St. Lawrence Seaway in 1959, which allows ships to directly access the Great Lakes ports, as well as the growth of truck transportation, contributed to the closure of the Lachine Canal in 1970. Residents and companies abandoned the old quarters along the canal to settle in the suburbs and in the industrial parks served by the new road infrastructures. It was therefore more than 30 years after its closing to commercial navigation that the canal resumed service, this time to allow the practice of sailing in an enchanting environment right in the heart of Montreal.

A major project

a truck and a construction crane in a dry canal
Construction work at the Saint-Gabriel Lock in 2000

The Lachine Canal experienced a revival phase. Literally. A major revitalization project was publicly announced in the spring of 1997, during a press conference given by key stakeholders. The various levels of government spent close to $100 million on the project. These public funds generated private investments of some $250 million. During the construction period, 720 jobs were created by the federal government’s investments alone. Phase 1 of the work under Parks Canada spanned the period from 1997 to 2004, and was aimed at showcasing the commemorative and recreational potential of the Lachine Canal. The urbanistic interventions and the work undertaken by the City of Montréal between 1997 and 2002 concerned the surrounding areas and neighborhoods of the canal.

The most spectacular work was aimed at the rehabilitation and operation of the waterway in order to reopen the canal to small boating for 2002: kilometers of walls to be consolidated, three locks and their weir to be restarted, while respecting the historical structures dating from the last period of use of the canal. Bridges were also raised and new walkways were installed, excavation and rehabilitation of the Peel Basin walls and burying of electrical transmission lines under the newly excavated basins were also carried out.

Finally, a Visitor Services Centre was built in Lachine and service centres were constructed at the other locks. From the design of these great works to their achievement, architects and engineers had been working since the first days of the project. Their accomplishments are certainly the most visible manifestations of the desire to revitalize the national historic site.

It is easy to imagine how the revitalization of the Lachine Canal National Historic Site could be a major challenge. The program included the following: protecting and enhancing hundreds of cultural resources that illustrate more than 300 years of history, bringing back navigation on a divided canal into the heart of an urban area, completing the development of a park and of a trail among the busiest in the region, aligning all of these interventions to a vast program of urban renewal and renovation that affects the entire southwestern part of the island of Montreal. Within Parks Canada, several teams worked to make this ambitious undertaking a success. And it was indeed a success!

Beneficial impacts of a canal there to stay

Two persons on red chairs looking at the canal
It is time to #ComeCloser at Lachine Canal this summer!

From its opening in 1825, the Lachine Canal contributed greatly to the urbanization of Montreal and the development of the southwestern part of the city. For more than 100 years, the neighborhoods along this waterway will have experienced the most important industrial activity in the country. Reopening the Lachine Canal to recreational boating will have enabled to achieve one of the most important urban redevelopment projects that the metropolis has known.

In addition to revitalizing the Southwest, to creating a major tourist attraction, to encouraging new economic activities and thereby fostering the creation of jobs, the reopening of the Lachine Canal to navigation will have allowed residents to re-appropriate this highly historic place.

17 mai 2002. Ministres fédéraux et provinciaux, secrétaires d’État, maires et autres dignitaires se rassemblent à l’écluse no 5 de Lachine pour prendre part à la cérémonie d’inauguration de l’ouverture du canal de Lachine à la navigation de plaisance. Une foule imposante participe à la fête populaire haute en couleur organisée à cette occasion, et les enfants en profitent pour admirer les premières embarcations flotter dans l’écluse. C’était il y a 15 ans déjà…

Depuis, vous êtes nombreux chaque année à lever l’ancre dans ce canal historique pour profiter de la beauté de ses décors, des chauds rayons de soleil de l’été et de la programmation excitante qui anime ce site exceptionnel situé au cœur de Montréal. Un retour dans le passé pour souligner un anniversaire tout particulier, ça vous dit? À bâbord, tous!

Luc-André Mercier, directeur des Voies navigables au Québec

Transcription

Le logo de parcs Canada
Image du canal de Lachine
Cycliste et gens assis à regarder le canal
Arrivée de Luc-André Mercier, directeur des Voies navigables au Québec
Mon nom c’est Luc-André Mercier, je suis directeur des voies navigables au Québec. Ça fait 32 ans que je travaille à Parcs Canada.
"Le canal de Lachine depuis son ouverture en 1825 a deux grands rôles. Commercial, il permet de joindre l’océan Atlantique au secteur des grands lacs.
Deuxième grand point, c’est tout le développement de l’énergie hydraulique
Parce qu’il y avait l’énergie hydraulique et des usines, il y avait des employés alors une grande partie du développement urbain s’est passé juste ici.

Images d'archives du canal. Voiture traversant un pont. Image du canal rempli d'eau.
Clip du journaliste: “The Lachine Canal has been here for so long it was almost taken for granted, but it appears that it won’t be here forever”.

Images d'archives du canal

On ne peut plus agrandir le canal de Lachine, c’est plus simple d’aller dans une voie complètement moderne et contemporaine à l’époque, alors on décide de construire la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent.
Images d'archives (vers 1950) du canal.

Image d'archive dans les années 80's.

Des gens à vélo regardent le canal vide.

Ça va prendre huit ans avant qu’on ait une intervention de type gouvernementale, pas pour la réouverture du canal de Lachine, mais pour le réaménagement du parc urbain.

Images des plans du plan de réaménagement

Annonce de la réouverture à la navigation de plaisance (maire de Montréal, Pierre Bourque, avril 1997)

La Ville de Montréal et le gouvernement du Canada investiront plus de 80 millions de dollars pour réaménager les abords de ce plan d’eau exceptionnel et pour le rouvrir à la navigation de plaisance dès 2002!
Images de construction. Une pelle creuse aux abords du canal
"C’était un canal qui avait été complètement abandonné. Il y a eu des interventions sur les écluses, les déversoirs, les murs, pour s’assurer qu’on pouvait faire fonctionner le canal de Lachine.

Images du canal en reconstruction

17 mai 2002 : réouverture du canal de Lachine à la navigation de plaisance

Photos de la réouverture du canal. Des politiciens, des enfants, des célébrations entourant cette journée.

Image plus récentes du canal.

D’arriver à la date prévu, ça a été une course folle. Il y a comme un moment de silence où on se rend bien compte qu’il vient de se passer quelque chose d’extraordinaire.

Gens à vélo. Une dame boit un café dans une chaise rouge. Des voitures et cyclistes traversant un pont.

15 ans plus tard…juste au niveau financier, c’est super intéressant. Mais si on le regarde en terme de milieu de vie, d’intégration dans les communautés, d’espaces récréotouristiques, il y a un chemin extraordinaire qui a été fait de 2002 à 2017!

Images qui marchent près du canal. Gens à bord d'un kayak, un bateau de plaisance qui navigue dans le canal.

Gens profitant du soleil près du canal.

Édifice Redpath

Cycliste

L'eau qui coule dans le canal

Un message du gouvernement du Canada

Logo Canada

Un peu d’histoire

Photo en noir et blanc de travailleur qui creusent dans un canal
Travaux d'élargissement du canal de Lachine au 19e siècle.

À une époque où la navigation constitue le moyen le plus efficace de transporter marchandises et personnes, Montréal représente, jusqu’au début du XIXe siècle, un point de rupture dans la navigation vers l’intérieur du continent. La construction du canal de Lachine, entamée en 1821, sera au cœur du développement industriel de la région. En effet, cette voie d’eau permettra aux navires de faire fi des rapides jusque-là infranchissables et de prendre la direction des Grands Lacs. Elle attirera simultanément nombre d’entreprises qui se serviront de son eau à des fins énergétiques ou pour les besoins de leurs procédés de fabrication.

En rase campagne au milieu des années 1850, les berges du canal se métamorphosent ainsi peu à peu en frange urbaine. Le canal n’est plus seulement un lieu où l’on travaille : il devient un véritable milieu de vie.

Fermé durant plus de 30 ans

Photo en noir et blanc, avec vu sur le canal, des ponts et un arbre.
Le canal de Lachine, en 1975
L’ouverture de la voie maritime du Saint-Laurent en 1959, qui permet aux navires d’accéder directement aux ports des Grands Lacs, ainsi que l’essor du transport par camion, contribuent à la fermeture du canal de Lachine en 1970. Résidents et entreprises délaissent les anciens quartiers en bordure du canal pour s’installer dans les banlieues et les parcs industriels desservis par les nouvelles infrastructures routières. C’est donc plus de 30 ans après sa fermeture à la navigation commerciale que le canal reprend du service, cette fois pour permettre la pratique du nautisme dans un environnement enchanteur en plein cœur de Montréal.

Un projet d’envergure

un camion et une grue dans le canal désséché
Travaux à l’écluse Saint-Gabriel en 2000

Le canal de Lachine a connu une phase de renaissance. Littéralement. Un imposant projet de revitalisation a été annoncé publiquement au printemps 1997, lors d'une conférence de presse donnée par les principaux intervenants.

Les différents paliers de gouvernement ont consacré près de 100 millions de dollars à la réalisation du projet. Ces fonds publics ont généré des investissements privés qui se sont élevés à quelque 250 millions de dollars. Au cours de la période de travaux, 720 emplois ont été créés par les seuls investissements du gouvernement fédéral. La phase 1 des travaux chapeautés par Parcs Canada s'est échelonnée de 1997 à 2004, et visait à mettre en valeur le potentiel commémoratif et récréatif du canal de Lachine. Les interventions urbanistiques et les travaux entrepris par la Ville de Montréal entre 1997 et 2002 concernaient les abords et les quartiers limitrophes du canal.

Les travaux les plus spectaculaires visaient la remise en état et l'opération de la voie navigable dans le but de rouvrir le canal à la petite navigation de plaisance pour 2002 : des kilomètres de murs à consolider, trois écluses et leur déversoir à remettre en fonction, tout en respectant les structures historiques datant de la dernière période d'utilisation du canal. On a aussi rehaussé des ponts et installé de nouvelles passerelles, procédé à l'excavation et la réfection des murs du bassin Peel et à l'enfouissement de lignes de transport électrique sous les bassins nouvellement excavés.

Enfin, on a construit un centre de services aux visiteurs à Lachine et des pavillons de services aux autres écluses. De la conception de ces grands travaux à leur réalisation, les architectes et les ingénieurs ont œuvré depuis les premiers jours du projet. Leurs réalisations sont certainement les manifestations les plus visibles de la volonté de revitaliser le lieu historique national.

Il est facile d’imaginer comment la revitalisation du lieu historique national du Canal-de-Lachine a pu représenter un défi de taille. Figuraient au programme : protéger et mettre en valeur des centaines de ressources culturelles témoignant de plus de 300 ans d'histoire, ramener la navigation sur un canal découpé au cœur d'une agglomération urbaine, achever l'aménagement d'un parc et d'une piste parmi les plus fréquentés de la région, arrimer l'ensemble de ces interventions à un vaste programme de relance et de rénovation urbaine qui touche l'ensemble du sud-ouest de l'île de Montréal. Au sein de Parcs Canada, plusieurs équipes ont travaillé au succès de cette ambitieuse entreprise. Et ce fut un succès!

Des impacts bénéfiques d’un canal là pour rester

Deux personnes sur des chaises rouges regardant vers le canal
Il est temps de #SeRapprocher au canal de Lachine cet été!

Dès son ouverture, en 1825, le canal de Lachine a contribué largement à l’urbanisation de Montréal et au développement du Sud-Ouest de la ville. Durant plus de 100 ans, les quartiers longeant cette voie navigable auront connu l’activité industrielle la plus importante au pays. Rouvrir le canal de Lachine à la navigation de plaisance aura permis la concrétisation de l’un des plus importants projets de réaménagement urbain que la métropole ait connu.

En plus de permettre la revitalisation du Sud-Ouest, d’y créer un attrait touristique d’envergure, d’y susciter de nouvelles activités économiques et d’y favoriser par conséquent la création d’emplois, la réouverture du canal de Lachine à la navigation aura permis aux résidents de se réapproprier ce lieu au fort caractère historique.