Travel the Canal from one end to the other!

a path with cyclist and joggers

Did you know? The canal’s path was ranked the third most beautiful urban circuit in the world by Time magazine in 2009.

The Lachine Canal’s path was opened in 1977, making it one of the oldest such paths in the Montreal area. It is also one of the most popular because of its superb green spaces.

Located in the heart of the bicycle network in the South-West sector of the island of Montreal, it follows the canal for 14.5 km, from the Bonaventure Expressway west of the Old Port to Chemin du Musée in Lachine.

This excursion is accessible to all since the route is flat. Experienced cyclists can travel from one end of the path to another in an hour.

The path is maintained from April 15 to November 15 and the park is open year round from dawn to 11:00 p.m. As soon as snow conditions permit, cross-country skiers can use the canal corridor for skiing, although the trail is not maintained or mechanically groomed.

Cycling on one of the world’s most beautiful routes!

Punctuated by green spaces, skyscrapers and centuries-old buildings, this spectacular trail will appeal to both real and would-be athletes on two wheels. Experienced cyclists can travel from one end of the canal to the other - from the Old Port to Lachine - in about 60 minutes.

But why hurry? Along the way at the Atwater Market a profusion of fresh food and produce will delight foodies. For a taste of the exotic, stop at Lunches du Canal - food trucks parked along the navigable waterway offering creative cuisine with typically multi-cultural Montreal flavours.

Travelling along the Lachine Canal path is riding through a mosaic of landscapes that reveal Montréal’s unique and dynamic character.

Bike rental service

MyBicyclette

The bike rental and repair service, Mybicyclette, is just steps from the Atwater Market.

Safety and regulations

Maximum speed limit is 20 km/h

The cyclist and pedestrian paths along the Lachine Canal are very safe. They are completely separated from car traffic, cross only one street along their entire length, and are lighted at night. Signs and maps make it easy for visitors to find their way. Nevertheless, courtesy and caution are the keys to a successful outing.

The paved path is shared by cyclists, in-line skaters, and walkers. The maximum speed limit is 20 km/h.

Power-assisted bicycles or electric bicycles equipped with a running board, an open frame or a flat floor, commonly referred to as electric scooter, are prohibited on the path.

Domestic animals are welcome as long as they are: kept on a leash, don't disturb other users, and that any trace of their passing are promptly erased. Consult the Domestic Animals section of the Historic Canals Regulations (SOR/93-220).

Please note that Lachine Borough regulations concerning dogs apply on the Promenade Père-Marquette and Monk Island.

For security reasons, ice-skating is forbidden on the Lachine.

Parcourez le canal d’un bout à l’autre!

Le saviez-vous? La piste du canal a été classée au troisième rang des plus beaux circuits urbains au monde par le magazine Time en 2009.

La piste du canal de Lachine, ouverte en 1977, est l'une des plus anciennes pistes de la région de Montréal. Elle est également l'une des plus populaires car elle est dotée de magnifiques espaces verts.

Située au cœur du réseau cyclable du Sud-Ouest de l'île de Montréal, elle suit le canal sur 14,5 km, depuis l'autoroute Bonaventure, à l'ouest du Vieux-Port, jusqu'au chemin du Musée, à Lachine.

Cette randonnée est à la portée de tous, puisque le parcours est plat. Un cycliste expérimenté prendra 60 minutes pour parcourir la piste du canal d'un bout à l'autre.

La piste est entretenue du 15 avril au 15 novembre et le parc est ouvert toute l'année, soit du lever du soleil jusqu'à 23 h. Dès que les conditions de neige le permettent, les adeptes du ski de fond peuvent utiliser le couloir du canal pour s'adonner à leur sport. La piste n'est cependant ni entretenue, ni tracée mécaniquement.

À vélo sur une des plus belles pistes du monde

des cyclistes sur la piste du canal

De la mi-avril à la mi-novembre

Ponctué d’espaces verts, de gratte-ciel et de bâtiments centenaires, ce trajet de rêve plaira aux sportifs comme aux contemplatifs sur deux roues. Les cyclistes expérimentés peuvent parcourir la piste d'un bout à l'autre du canal, soit depuis le Vieux-Port jusqu’à Lachine, en soixante minutes.

Mais pourquoi se presser? Juste à côté, au marché Atwater, la profusion de denrées fraîches fera le bonheur des gourmets et des gourmands. Pour goûter à l’exotisme, arrêtez-vous aux Lunchs du canal. Ces camions de cuisine de rue installés le long de la voie navigable proposent une gastronomie créative aux saveurs multiculturelles typiquement montréalaises.

Bref, emprunter la piste du canal de Lachine, c’est rouler dans une mosaïque de paysages qui révèlent l’originalité et le dynamisme de Montréal.

Service de location de vélos

MyBicyclette

Seulement à quelque pas du marché Atwater, le service de location et de réparation de vélos Mybicyclette s’offre à vous.

Sécurité et réglementation

Vitesse maximale de 20 km/h
Vitesse maximale de 20 km/h

La piste cyclable et le sentier pédestre du canal de Lachine sont très sécuritaires. Ils sont complètement séparés de la circulation automobile, ils ne croisent qu'une rue sur tout le parcours et ils sont éclairés le soir. Des panneaux de signalisation et des cartes permettent de s'orienter facilement. Néanmoins, la courtoisie et la prudence demeurent la clé d'une randonnée réussie.

La piste asphaltée est partagée par les cyclistes, les patineurs à roues alignées et les piétons. Ceux-ci doivent en tout temps respecter une vitesse maximale de 20 km/h.

Les bicyclettes assistées ou à assistance électrique qui sont équipées d’un marchepied, d’un cadre ouvert ou d’un plancher plat, communément appelées scooter électrique sont interdites sur la piste.

Les animaux de compagnie sont les bienvenus pourvu qu'ils soient tenus en laisse, qu'ils ne gênent pas les autres utilisateurs et que toute trace de leur passage soit promptement effacée. Consultez la section Animaux domestiques du Règlement sur les canaux historiques (DORS/93-220).

Veuillez prendre note que la réglementation de l'Arrondissement de Lachine concernant les chiens s'applique sur la Promenade Père-Marquette et l'île Monk.

Pour des raisons de sécurité, le patinage sur glace est interdit sur le canal de Lachine.