Parks Canada is committed to providing updates on the important conservation project at Province House National Historic Site. For more information about this project, visit our Conservation Project schedule page.

Province House National Historic Site is more than 169 years old and the Government of Canada is proudly investing $47 Million for the conservation of this heritage building.  Improvements to this historic site will enable Parks Canada to continue sharing the rich and varied heritage of our nation and provide an opportunity for Canadians to learn more about our diverse history. 

The story of Province House - the Charlottetown Conference and the original meeting of the Fathers of Confederation - is one that is near and dear to the hearts of many Canadians as it symbolizes the birth of our nation.  As important but not as well-known, is the story of the Province House construction:  the story of the building's fabric, structure and components.  This is a story that must be fully understood as we move forward with our conservation efforts, to ensure we are effectively protecting the building and conserving its character-defining features for generations to come. 

Learn more about the conservation project's background and timeline by reading our backgrounder, updated May 2017.

Stone by Stone - September 2017 newsletter (PDF, 935 KB).

A Landmark Conservation Project: Province House National Historic Site

Transcript

Narrator: This is Province House National Historic Site in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island.

In 1864, Fathers of Confederation met here to discuss the creation of Canada.

This building is now known as the birthplace of Confederation.

Parks Canada protects and presents this important part of our national heritage.

Today, the Agency is working hard to conserve this building

in order to preserve the unique history of Province House for years to come.

To help with this work, Parks Canada has engaged Public Services and Procurement Canada.

Its team of experts is managing this project.

Susann Myers: It’s our role to engage the consultants and manage their contribution,

review their documents, provide input throughout the process and help to manage a successful project.

With a new building, you have to analyse the site conditions, the soil and so on,

but with a heritage building, you have to analyse the building itself and that understanding

of the existing building is the absolute necessity at the beginning of the project,

in order to move forward successfully and address the right issues in the best ways.

The biggest challenges have to do with understanding the building: understanding its history,

its heritage values, its construction, its present condition,

therefore the causes of the deterioration that have occurred,

the impact of all the factors that have contributed to the building over the past hundred and fifty years.

This is a very significant building in Canada.

It’s uniquely important as a heritage building,

"

Important to the history of Canada and to Prince Edward Island,

"

where it was an amazing achievement of its time.

It was well designed,

tremendous resources went into it and they were largely Island resources.

So it is very significant to the people of Prince Edward Island.

and in relation to its contribution to Canadian Confederation,

it has a uniquely important place in the history of Canada.

So, conserving that, the building

and that heritage significance is uniquely difficult with this building,

We have a tremendous consultant team,

We have a wonderful team on the client side with Parks Canada,

we have a strong team on the part of Public Works and we’re working well together.

It’s a little gem of a building;

everything about it is, is so lovely.

"

There’s every reason to hope that the

"

project is going to go very well.

Narrator: Parks Canada works every day to protect and present Canada’s cultural heritage.

That is why the work at Province House National Historic Site is so important.

It will ensure that this special place will be appreciated and enjoyed for many years to come.

Susann Myers: This is one of my favourite projects ever.

[Laughing]

"Conserving our heritage:  A Step back in Time" 

Design and methods used during the construction in 1847 are not the same as modern building techniques. In conservation projects like this, initial investigations are time consuming and these first steps are crucial to ensure a successful project
.  
Province House National Historic Site closed in January 2015 to allow for the investigation of the buildings' structure to begin. Since the building's closure, Parks Canada and Public Services and Procurement Canada Project Team have undertaken a series of detailed investigations to gain an understanding of the buildings' unique structure.

Province House is a very complex building and the Project Team is being extremely thorough and cautious.  Through this initial work, the Project Team is gaining a comprehensive knowledge of the character-defining elements (PDF, 2.25 MB) of the building and its construction, so as to be able to determine the appropriate methods to apply to conserve Province House.

"The Next Chapter"

The investigative stage of the project is now complete and the Project Team is considering various design options. They will be guided by the principles set out in the Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada. These principles are aimed at conserving the unique qualities and character of this historic structure. The team is focusing on the heritage defining characteristics of Province House, as well as ensuring the long life of the building.

Parks Canada is proud of its role in protecting and presenting this important symbol of our shared national heritage and is committed to sharing details of this landmark conservation project with Canadians. 

Please stay tuned to our website for project updates.  To subscribe to our mailing list for stakeholder updates, please e-mail us at ParcsCanadaIPE-ParksCanadaPEI.pc@pc.gc.ca

Story of Confederation

Parks Canada’s commitment to telling to the story of Province House National Historic Site, the birthplace of Confederation and site of the Charlottetown Conference, will remain a priority even during a period of closure. We are working closely with Confederation Centre of the Arts to provide a multi-media visitor experience for Province House that will allow us to continue to share that story with visitors in ways that will build lasting, memorable connections between them and this very important symbol of Canadian history. For more information please see the Story of Confederation.

Parcs Canada s'est engagé à fournir des mises à jour sur cet important projet de conservation au lieu historique national de Province House. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur le projet de conservation de Province House, visitez notre page.

L'édifice patrimonial Province House a plus de 169 ans, et le gouvernement du Canada est fier d'investir 47 millions de dollars dans sa conservation. Les améliorations apportées à ce lieu historique permettront à Parcs Canada de continuer à partager le patrimoine riche et varié de notre nation et à offrir à la population canadienne une occasion d'en apprendre davantage au sujet de notre histoire diversifiée. 

L'histoire de Province House - là où se sont tenues la Conférence de Charlottetown et la première rencontre des Pères de la Confédération - en est une que chérissent les Canadiens, puisqu'elle symbolise la naissance de notre pays. Cependant, Province House cache une histoire moins bien connue, mais tout aussi importante : celle de sa construction, c'est-à-dire des caractéristiques fondamentales, de la structure et des composantes du bâtiment. C'est une histoire que nous devons bien comprendre avant de commencer tout travail de conservation, pour nous assurer que nous protégeons efficacement le bâtiment et que nous en conservons les éléments caractéristiques dans l'intérêt des générations à venir.

Pour en savoir plus, veuillez lire notre document d'information sur le projet de conservation, le contexte et le calendrier (mise-au-jour mai 2017).

Une pierre à la fois - Bulletin de septembre 2017 (PDF, 929 Ko)

Projet de conservation clé: Lieu historique national Province House

Transcription

Narrator: Nous sommes au lieu historique national Province House à Charlottetown sur l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard.

En 1864, les Pères de la Confédération se sont réunis ici pour discuter de la création du Canada.

L’endroit est aujourd’hui connu comme étant le berceau de la Confédération.

Parcs Canada protège et met en valeur cet élément important de notre patrimoine national.

Aujourd’hui, l’Agence s’efforce de conserver ce bâtiment afin de préserver l’histoire

exceptionnelle de Province House pour les années à venir.

Pour la réalisation de ces travaux, Parcs Canada a mobilisé Services publics et Approvisionnements Canada

et son équipe de spécialistes qui veille à la gestion du projet.

Susann Myers: Nous sommes chargés d’engager les experts-conseils et de gérer leur travail,

d’examiner leurs documents, de fournir une rétroaction

tout au long du processus et d’assurer la réussite du projet.

Quand on construit du neuf, on doit analyser les conditions propres à l’emplacement du bâtiment, notamment le sol.

Par contre, quand il s’agit d’un bâtiment patrimonial, on doit analyser le bâtiment en soi;

il est impératif de bien comprendre le bâtiment existant dès le début du projet afin d’assurer la réussite des travaux

et de régler les problèmes éventuels de la façon la plus appropriée.

Le plus difficile, c’est de bien comprendre le bâtiment : comprendre son histoire,

les valeurs patrimoniales qui s’y rattachent, sa construction et son état actuel,

pour comprendre les causes de la détérioration

et l’incidence de tous les facteurs qui ont influé sur le bâtiment au cours des 150 dernières années.

C’est un bâtiment d’une grande importance au Canada.

C’est exceptionnel en raison de l’importance du bâtiment en tant que bâtiment patrimonial.

Important pour l’histoire du Canada et de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard,

où sa construction fut tout un exploit à l’époque.

Le bâtiment a été bien conçu et a nécessité des ressources considérables, qui provenaient pour la plupart de l’île même.

Il revêt donc une grande importance aux yeux des habitants de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et,

du fait de son apport à la Confédération canadienne, il occupe une place toute spéciale dans l’histoire du Canada.

La conservation d’un bâtiment d’une telle importance patrimoniale est donc particulièrement difficile.

Nous avons une équipe extraordinaire d’experts-conseils,

d’employés du client qu’est Parcs Canada

et d’employés de SPAC, et nous travaillons bien tous ensemble.

Ce bâtiment est un véritable joyau, il est d’une beauté remarquable.

Tout porte à croire que le projet sera mené rondement.

Narrator: Parcs Canada veille chaque jour à la protection et à la mise en valeur du patrimoine culturel du pays.

D’où l’importance des travaux réalisés au lieu historique national Province House.

Grâce à ces travaux, les visiteurs pourront profiter de ce lieu exceptionnel pendant encore de nombreuses années.

Susann Myers: C’est l’un de mes projets préférés jusqu’à maintenant.

[rires]

« Conserver notre patrimoine : Un voyage dans le temps »

La conception et les méthodes utilisées pendant la construction, en 1847, diffèrent des techniques de construction contemporaines. Dans le cadre des projets de conservation, les enquêtes initiales prennent beaucoup de temps, mais ces premières étapes sont essentielles à la réussite d'un projet. 

Le lieu historique national Province House a été fermé en janvier 2015 afin de permettre la tenue d'une enquête sur la structure du bâtiment. Depuis la fermeture de l'édifice, Parcs Canada et l'équipe de projet de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) ont réalisé plusieurs enquêtes détaillées pour en comprendre la structure unique.

Province House est un édifice très complexe, et l'équipe de projet agit de façon extrêmement rigoureuse et prudente. Grâce aux travaux préliminaires, elle acquiert de vastes connaissances sur les éléments caractéristiques (PDF, 1.83 Mo) du bâtiment, de manière à pouvoir déterminer quelles méthodes nous devrons utiliser pour conserver Province House.

« Le prochain chapitre »

Les enquêtes liées au projet sont maintenant terminées, et l'équipe de projet envisage diverses options de conception. L’équipe sera guidés par les principes établis dans les Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada. Ces principes visent à conserver les qualités et le caractère particuliers de cette structure historique. L'équipe se concentre sur les éléments caractéristiques de Province House, tout en assurant la longévité du bâtiment.

Parcs Canada est fier du rôle qu'il joue dans la protection et la mise en valeur de cet important symbole de notre patrimoine collectif, et il est résolu à raconter à la population canadienne les détails de ce projet de conservation clé. 

Consultez régulièrement notre site Web pour y lire les mises à jour relatives au projet. Pour vous inscrire à notre liste de distribution et recevoir les mises à jour destinées aux intervenants, veuillez nous envoyer un courriel à l'adresse ParcsCanadaIPE-ParksCanadaPEI.pc@pc.gc.ca.

L’Histoire de la Confédération

L’engagement de Parcs Canada à raconter l’histoire du lieu historique national Province House, le berceau de la Confédération et lieu où s’est tenue la Conférence de Charlottetown, demeurera une priorité même durant la fermeture temporaire. Nous collaborons étroitement avec le Centre des arts de la Confédération pour offrir une expérience multimédia aux visiteurs de Province House et ainsi continuer de partager cette histoire avec les visiteurs de façon à nouer des liens durables et mémorables entre eux et cet important symbole de l’histoire du Canada. Pour plus de renseignements veuillez voir L’histoire de la Confédération.