Among dunes, beach and a lakeshore within Prince Edward Island National Park on the Island’s north shore, Dalvay-by-the-Sea is approximately 25 minutes’ driving time from Charlottetown. The former estate is also accessible from the park on a bike path trail.

Dalvay’s grounds are open year-round. From June to end of September the estate operates as a luxury resort, its interior open to overnight guests and day visitors who can dine in the restaurant.

What makes Dalvay-by-the-Sea unique?

  • Recognized across Canada as a fine example of Queen Anne Revival architecture. Count the many dormers, bay windows and gables on this asymmetrical structure.
  • Anne of Green Gables fans may recognize Dalvay-by-the-Sea as the fictional "White Sands Hotel." It was featured in the Anne of Green Gables movies and in the television series Road to Avonlea by Sullivan Entertainment. Imagine yourself transported back in time!
  • Located within Prince Edward Island National Park, Dalvay-by-the-Sea is a unique combination of coastal beauty and architectural splendour. Notice the harmonious relationship between the building, its materials and its surroundings. Spot the rusty red Island sandstone walls, sandy stucco and green shingles. Can you find their inspiration in the landscape?

Things To Do

Admire the magnificent architecture, rent bicycles, stroll the grounds, explore the surrounding park trails and beaches, have lunch or dinner in the dining room or simply relax in an Adirondack chair on the front lawn taking in the warm summer sun.

Stay at The Resort

During the warmer months, Dalvay-by-the-Sea is also run as a seasonal resort under a lease agreement with Parks Canada.

To make a reservation, please contact the resort directly.

Getting here

Location

16 Cottage Crescent
Dalvay PE C0A 1P0

Hours of operation

As of May
Complete schedule

Free admission in 2017. Other fees still apply.

Facilities and services

Information Information
Restaurant or café
Parking Parking
Restrooms Restrooms
Picnic Area Picnic area

La demeure Dalvay-by-the-Sea est située au milieu des dunes, des plages et en bordure d’un lac, dans le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, sur la côte nord de l’île. Elle se trouve à environ 25 minutes de route de Charlottetown et est également accessible à partir de la piste cyclable du parc.

La partie extérieure de la demeure Dalvay est ouverte à l’année. De juin à fin septembre, visitez l’intérieur, prenez un repas au restaurant, ou encore prolongez votre séjour alors que la demeure est convertie en luxueux centre de villégiature.

Ce qui fait de Dalvay-by-the-Sea un lieu unique?

  • Le lieu est reconnu partout au Canada comme étant des plus représentatifs de l’architecture néo Queen Anne. Comptez les nombreux pignons, lucarnes et fenêtres en saillie de cette structure asymétrique.
  • Les amateurs d'Anne... la maison aux pignons verts reconnaissent peut être Dalvay-by-the-Sea dans l’hôtel « White Sands » du téléfilm du même titre et de la télésérie Les Contes d’Avonlea, produite par Sullivan Entertainment. Imaginez vous transportés dans le passé!
  • Situé dans le parc national de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, le lieu historique national Dalvay-by-the-Sea allie, de façon unique, la beauté du littoral et la splendeur architecturale. Remarquez l’harmonie entre le bâtiment, les matériaux qui le composent et l’environnement. Regardez les murs en pierre de sable couleur rouille de l’île, le stucco sableux et les bardeaux verts. Voyez vous cette communion avec le paysage?

Activités

Admirez l’architecture magnifique, louez des bicyclettes, promenez vous, explorez les sentiers du parc et les plages tout proches, prendre le déjeuner ou le dîner dans la salle à manger, ou détendez vous tout simplement dans un fauteuil Adirondack devant la maison, sous les chauds rayons du soleil d’été.

Séjour au centre de villégiature

À la belle saison, Dalvay-by-the-Sea est un lieu de villégiature exploité en vertu d’un contrat de location à bail passé avec Parcs Canada.

Pour faire une réservation, veuillez vous adresser directement au centre de villégiature (en seulement anglais).

 

Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

pnipe.peinp@pc.gc.ca

Heures d'ouverture

À partir de mai
Horaire complet (anglais seulement)

Entrée gratuite pour les jeunes en 2018. Les autres frais s’appliquent.
Tarification complète

 


Installations et services

Information Renseignements
Restaurant ou café
Parking Stationnement
Restrooms Toilettes
Picnic Area Aire de pique-nique