shorelines

ShoreLINES: Stories from our guides and guardians

ShoreLINES is a quarterly newsletter intended to keep our partners and stakeholders informed about Parks Canada's activities and heritage places in Northern Ontario.

The historic lock.

The 274 m long and 18 m wide historic lock chamber could hold one "upper laker" and two smaller vessels. The present day lock was reconstructed in 1997 to accommodate recreational vessels and is of a more modest size; 77 m long and 15.4 m wide.

The historic lock.

The Sault Ste. Marie Canal was constructed between 1889 and 1895 to bypass the turbulent rapids of the St. Marys River and to provide the last link in Canada's Great Lakes St. Lawrence shipping route.

 

A duck

Early explorers and fur traders were forced to portage their supply-laden canoes around these turbulent waters. The St. Marys River Rapids remained an obstacle for vessels entering and returning from Lake Superior until the construction of the first canals.

au fil de l eau

au fil de L'EAU : Récits de nos guides et gardiens

au fil de L'EAU est un bulletin trimestriel qui vise à tenir nos partenaires et intervenants au courant des activités de Parcs Canada et des lieux patrimoniaux dans le Nord de l'Ontario.

L'écluse historique.

L'écluse historique de 274 m de long sur 18 m de large pouvait accueillir un « UpperLaker » (vraquier des Grands Lacs) et deux bateaux plus petits. L'écluse actuelle, plus petite, (77 m sur 15,4 m) a été reconstruite en 1997 pour les embarcations de plaisance.

 

L'écluse historique.

Le canal de Sault Ste. Marie a été aménagé entre 1889 et 1895 pour contourner les rapides tumultueux de la rivière St. Marys; il était également le dernier tronçon de la voie navigable canadienne reliant les Grands Lacs et le Saint-Laurent.

 

Un canard

Les premiers explorateurs et les commerçants de fourrures devaient portager leurs canots chargés de fournitures pour contourner ces eaux turbulentes. Les rapides de la rivière St. Marys sont demeurés un obstacle pour les bateaux qui entraient dans le lac Supérieur ou en sortaient jusqu'à la construction des premiers canaux.