From the heart of Canada’s capital, the historic Rideau Canal waterway winds south from Ottawa through towns, farms and woodlands for 202 kilometres (126 miles) towards Kingston on Lake Ontario. Constructed after the War of 1812 on fears of an American invasion of the St. Lawrence River, it served as an alternative shipping route between Montréal and Kingston.

The working canal, with its 19th century locks and structures, links rivers and lakes with man-made channels - an ideal landscape for outdoor activities and glimpses of Old Ontario on a watery route through living history.

Accessible by road, bicycle, hiking, paddling and leisurely cruises, the Rideau Canal offers self-guided walking trails at many of its 24 lockstations where it’s possible to pitch a tent within a historic setting. Venture into beautiful historic towns and military structures and, in winter, skate the frozen canal through Ottawa.

La voie navigable historique du canal Rideau serpente à travers les villes, les fermes et les forêts sur 202 km, depuis Ottawa, cœur de la capitale canadienne, en direction de Kingston, au sud, sur la rive du lac Ontario. Construite après la guerre de 1812, par crainte d’une invasion américaine sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent, elle a servi de voie navigable de rechange entre Montréal et Kingston.

Avec ses écluses et ses ouvrages du XIXe siècle, le canal en service relie des rivières et des lacs grâce à des canaux excavés. Il constitue un paysage idéal pour les activités de plein air et témoigne de l’histoire vivante de l’Ontario d’autrefois et de sa voie navigable.

Accessible en voiture, en vélo, à pied, en kayak et en bateau de plaisance, le canal Rideau et un grand nombre de ses 24 postes d’éclusage vous offrent des sentiers de randonnée pédestre autoguidés. Vous pouvez aussi planter votre tente dans un décor pittoresque. Aventurez-vous dans les magnifiques villes historiques et les vestiges militaires. Profitez de l’hiver pour traverser Ottawa en patinant sur le canal gelé.