The Melanson Settlement is in Annapolis, Nova Scotia. Via Rail has a regular service to Halifax and the site is a two hour drive from there. Visitors can take the ferry from Saint John, New Brunswick which connects to Digby, just a 30-minute drive away. The Halifax Stanfield International Airport has regular flights to and from North America and Europe. Plan to spend an hour on the short (193 m) trail and lookout.

Getting here

Location

3870 Granville Rd.
Port Royal NS B0S 1K0

By car

Melanson Settlement National Historic Site is located just west of Annapolis Royal and Granville Ferry about one kilometre before Port-Royal National Historic Site. From Halifax or Yarmouth, take Exit 22 off Highway 101 and continue north on Route 8 to Annapolis Royal. At the traffic lights, turn right on Route 1, and cross the causeway. Take the first left and follow the signs indicating Port-Royal (10.5 km/6.5 miles). Driving time from Halifax is approximately 2 hours; from Yarmouth, approximately 1.5 hours.

By train

Via Rail has regular train service to the nearest train station at Halifax. From Halifax, take Highway 102, to Exit 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) and on to Highway 101. Take Highway 101 to Exit 22 and follow the directions above.

By ferry

Bay Ferries offers ferry services to southwestern Nova Scotia. The Fundy Rose sails between Saint John, New Brunswick and Digby, Nova Scotia. Driving time from Digby to Annapolis Royal is approximately 30 minutes. The CAT sails between Portland, Maine and Yarmouth, Nova Scotia. Drive time from Yarmouth to Anapolis Royal is approximately 1.5 hours.

Airports

The Halifax International Airport has regular flights to and from North America and Europe. From the airport take Highway 102, to Exit 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) and on to Highway 101. Take Highway 101 to Exit 22 and follow the directions above.

Helpful links:

Parks Canada Visitor Guide - Atlantic Canada 
Town of Annapolis Royal
NovaScotia.com - NS Official Tourism website 
Via Rail
Halifax International Airport
Bay Ferries

Free admission.

Facilities and services

Dogs on leash
Restrooms Restrooms
Lookout Lookout
Parking Parking

L’Établissement Melanson se trouve à Annapolis en Nouvelle-Écosse. Via Rail offre un service régulier jusqu’à Halifax, à deux heures de route de l’Établissement Melanson. Vous pouvez prendre le traversier qui relie Saint John au Nouveau-Brunswick à Digby en seulement 30 minutes. L’Aéroport international Stanfield d’Halifax offre des vols réguliers au départ et à destination de villes d’Amérique du Nord et d’Europe. Prévoyez une heure pour parcourir le court sentier (193 m) menant au belvédère.

Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

3870 route Granville
Port Royal NS B0S 1K0


 

En voiture

Le lieu historique national de l'Établissement-Melanson est situé juste à l'ouest d'Annapolis Royal et de Granville Ferry, à environ un kilomètre du lieu historique national de Port-Royal. Depuis Halifax ou Yarmouth, empruntez la sortie 22 sur la route 101 et suivez la route 8 en direction nord jusqu'à Annapolis Royal. Au feu de signalisation, tournez à droite sur la route 1 et traversez le pont-chaussée. Prenez ensuite la première route à gauche et suivez les panneaux indicateurs pour Port–Royal (10,5 km).

En avion

L’aéroport international de Halifax dessert de façon continue plusieurs villes d’Amérique du Nord et d’Europe. De l’aéroport, prenez la route 102 jusqu’à la sortie 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) et ensuite la route 101 jusqu’à la sortie 22, puis suivez les directives présentées ci dessus.

En train

La compagnie ferroviaire Via Rail offre un service régulier jusqu'à la station la plus près, Halifax. De Halifax, prenez la route 102 jusqu’à la sortie 4B (Windsor/Annapolis Valley) et ensuite la route 101 jusqu’à la sortie 22, puis suivez les directives présentées ci dessus.

En traversier

Les traversiers de l’entreprise Bay Ferries desservent le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Le bateau Fundy Rose assure la liaison entre Digby, en Nouvelle-Écosse, et Saint John, au Nouveau Brunswick. Annapolis Royal est situé à environ 30 minutes de route de Digby. Le CAT assure quant à lui la liaison entre Portland, Maine et Yarmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse. Annapolis Royal est situé à environ 1,5 heures de route de Yarmouth.

Liens utiles

Parcs Canada - Guide du visiteur au Canada atlantique
La ville d'Annapolis Royal (en anglais seulement)
Site officiel du tourisme de la Nouvelle-Écosse 
Via Rail 
L’aéroport international de Halifax 
Bay Ferries (en anglais seulement)

Entrée gratuite.

Installations et services

Chiens en laisse
Restrooms Toilettes
Lookout Belvédère
Parking Stationnement