Stroll the path surrounded by shady green trees to reach the viewpoint overlooking what used to be the Melanson Settlement, a close-knit community of families and neighbours farming together on the dykeland. Look down to the rivière Dauphin (Annapolis River) and the marais de Saint-Charles (Queen Anne Marshe). See original artwork on interpretive panels which explain more of the importance of this place and of the life that was once lived here.

Situated on uplands along the Annapolis River, this open field is the pre-Deportation site (circa 1664) of an Acadian settlement established by Charles Melanson dit La Ramée and his wife, Marie Dugas. The site reveals patterns of dyke-land agriculture and settlement that, although unique in North America, were common throughout the Port-Royal area and in other parts of Acadia.

Original artwork highlights the interpretive panels that tell of the importance of Melanson Settlement. A short loop trail (193 m) guides the visitor from the parking lot to a lookout where the uplands, marsh and river are all visible.

 
Trail with family © Parks Canada/R. Smith
Trail - girl and dog
Trail - flora Photos © Parks Canada/A. Rierden

 

All activities

Dog walking
Photography
Interpretive trail
Picnic Area Picnicking
Lookout

À l’ombre des pins argentés qui bordent le sentier, promenez-vous jusqu’au point de vue surplombant ce qui était autrefois l’Établissement Melanson, une communauté très soudée composée de familles et de voisins qui travaillaient ensemble au marais asséché. Regardez le marais de Saint-Charles (marais Queen Anne) et la rivière Dauphin (Rivière Annapolis) qui s’écoule en contrebas.

Sur les panneaux d’interprétation, admirez des œuvres d’art originales qui mettent en lumière l’importance de ce lieu et qui décrivent la vie de ses habitants.

Situé sur une terrasse en bordure de la rivière Annapolis, ce pré est l'emplacement d'un hameau acadien d'avant la Déportation, fondé vers 1664 par Charles Melanson, dit La Ramée, et par Marie Dugas, son épouse. On y observe encore des vestiges d'agriculture sur terres endiguées et d'un établissement qui, même s'ils sont uniques en Amérique du Nord, étaient communs dans toute la région de Port-Royal et ailleurs en Acadie.

Des oeuvres originales illustrent les panneaux d'interprétation qui expliquent l'importance de l'Établissement-Melanson. Un court sentier en boucle (193 m) amène le visiteur du stationnement à un belvédère qui donne sur la terrasse, le marais et la rivière.

 

 

Sentier en famille © Parcs Canada/R. Smith
Sentier - fille et chien
Sentier - flore Photos © Parcs Canada/A. Rierden
 

Toutes les activités

Chiens en laisse
Photographie
Sentier d'interprétation
Picnic Area Aire de pique nique
Belvédère