The Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site is an iconic historic site and the country’s largest archaeological site with enormous historical and cultural value for Canadians. Parks Canada’s responsibility is to ensure this place is protected for future generations.

Parks Canada is taking action to help protect and preserve an important part of Canada's history that is under threat of being lost to coastal erosion and sea level rise. The Flood Protection Project outlined below identifies the steps that will be taken.  

Flood Protection Project

Sea level rise combined with coastal erosion and increasing storm intensity and frequency are elevating flood potential and the loss of cultural resources at the Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site. Parks Canada is taking action to help protect and preserve an important part of Canada's history that is currently impacted by these factors.

The Flood Protection Project will help protect the Fortress of Louisbourg from damages to the reconstructed buildings, cultural resources and ecologically sensitive areas. Parks Canada has sought the advice of marine geologists and engineers to provide solutions that are practical and effective to minimize the risk of flooding.

Parks Canada, in collaboration with Fisheries and Oceans Canada, has conducted an environmental assessment of the project and identified mitigation measures for potential impacts related to fish habitat and the environment. Parks Canada has a proven track record in ensuring projects do not cause significant adverse environmental effects. 

The Flood Protection Project consists of two components: Barrier Beach and the Quay Wall. 

Flood protection projectFlood protection project
 

Barrier Beach

Barrier beach
Barrier beach

Barrier Beach is one of the most fragile features along the coastline of the Fortress of Louisbourg and it is at risk of breaching in the very near future. The project involves the construction of two groynes,  protective structures of stones that will extend from the shore into the water to prevent beach from washing away, along with beach nourishment and dredging sediment.

Parks Canada has engaged directly with lobster fishers, including those who fish in and around the project footprints. This project’s impacts to fish habitat will be offset through measures that maintain or improve fisheries productivity, by creating or restoring productive fish habitat. 

Barrier Beach work will start Monday, December 18, 2017 from 7:00 a.m. until 5:30 p.m. and will continue until March 2018.

This work will involve a fleet of tandem trucks or trailers hauling material from a pit or quarry to the project site, approximately 60-100 truckloads per day. Whenever possible as it relates to weather, the trucks will use the Louisbourg Bypass Road in order to avoid impacts to the community of Louisbourg. However, it is likely at times of significant snow, the traffic will be required to travel through Route 22.

We apologize in advance for the short-term disruption during this work, as you may hear an increase in noise levels and truck traffic. Whenever possible, we will minimize this to the greatest extent possible. 

Quay Wall

Quay wall
Quay wall

The height of the Quay Wall will be raised one metre to minimize the risk of flooding, protect existing cultural resources and support positive visitor experiences. Once this work is completed, the Quay Wall will function properly and receive a much-needed facelift. The increase in height will be met with a higher embankment to view out to the community of Louisbourg.

Timeline:
Phase 1: East end of quay – April to June 2018
Phase 2: Middle section of quay – October to December 2018
Phase 3: West end of quay – March to July 2019

Parks Canada will schedule this work outside of the peak tourism season to minimize impacts for visitors.

If you have questions, comments or would like to find out more information about the Flood Protection Project, please email pc.infocb.pc@pc.gc.ca.

Le lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg est un lieu historique emblématique et le plus vaste site archéologique au pays avec une immense valeur tant historique que culturelle pour tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes. Il est de la responsabilité de Parcs Canada de s'assurer que cet endroit soit protégé pour les générations à venir.

Parcs Canada prend des mesures pour aider à protéger et à préserver une part importante de l'histoire du Canada qui est maintenant menacée par l'érosion côtière et l'élévation du niveau de la mer. Le projet de protection contre les inondations présenté ci-dessous précise les mesures qui vont être prises.

Projet de protection contre les inondations

L'élévation du niveau de la mer associée à l'érosion côtière, ainsi qu'une plus grande fréquence et intensité des tempêtes, augmentent les risques d'inondation et la perte de ressources culturelles au lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg. Parcs Canada prend des mesures pour aider à protéger et à préserver un lieu important dans l'histoire du Canada, lieu actuellement touché par ces facteurs.

Le projet de protection contre les inondations aidera à protéger la forteresse de Louisbourg contre des dégâts causés aux bâtiments reconstruits, aux ressources culturelles et aux zones écologiquement sensibles. Parcs Canada a pris conseil auprès d'ingénieurs et géologues marins pour trouver des solutions pratiques et efficaces visant à minimiser les risques d'inondation.

Parcs Canada, en collaboration avec Pêches et Océans Canada, a effectué une évaluation environnementale du projet et déterminé des mesures d'atténuation pour les impacts potentiels sur l'habitat des poissons et sur l'environnement. Parcs Canada a fait ses preuves pour ce qui est de s'assurer que les projets menés n'entraînent pas d'effets environnementaux négatifs importants.

Le projet de protection contre les inondations s'articule autour de deux parties : un cordon littoral et un mur de quai. 

Projet de protection contre les inondations
Projet de protection contre les inondations
 

Le cordon littoral

Le cordon littoral
Le cordon littoral

Le cordon littoral est l'un des éléments les plus vulnérables de la côte qui longe la forteresse de Louisbourg et il menace de se rompre dans un futur très proche. Le projet implique la construction de deux épis, une structure protectrice en pierre qui s'avancera dans l'eau en prolongement de la rive pour empêcher la plage d'être emportée par l'érosion, en plus d'un remblayage de la plage et du dragage des sédiments.

Parcs Canada travaille directement avec les pêcheurs de homards, y compris ceux qui pêchent à l'intérieur et autour de la zone de couverture du projet. Les impacts de ce projet sur l'habitat des poissons seront compensés par des mesures visant à maintenir ou à améliorer la productivité des pêches, par la création ou la restauration d'un habitat productif pour les poissons.

Les travaux sur le cordon littoral commenceront le lundi 18 décembre 2017. Ils auront lieu de 7 h à 17 h 30 et s'étendront jusqu'en mars 2018.

Ces travaux exigent une flotte de remorques ou camions tandems pour transporter les matériaux d'un puits d'extraction ou d'une carrière jusqu'au site du projet, avec près de 60 à 100 camions chargés circulant chaque jour. Dans la mesure du possible, si la météo le permet, les camions emprunteront la route de contournement de Louisbourg afin d'éviter toute répercussion sur la communauté de Louisbourg. Cependant, il est probable qu'en cas de neige abondante que les camions empruntent la route 22.  

Nous nous excusons à l’avance pour les répercussions à court terme que ces travaux pourraient engendrer. Vous pourriez en effet remarquer une augmentation du bruit ainsi qu'une circulation accrue de camions. Nous nous efforcerons autant que possible de réduire ces impacts au maximum.

Le mur du quai

Le mur du quaiLe mur du quai

La hauteur du mur du quai sera élevée d'un mètre afin de minimiser les risques d'inondation, protéger les ressources culturelles existantes et offrir aux visiteurs des expériences positives. Une fois ces travaux terminés, le mur du quai sera opérationnel et aura reçu une cure de rajeunissement bien nécessaire. L'élévation de la hauteur du quai s'accompagnera d'une digue plus haute offrant une vue sur la communauté de Louisbourg. 

Calendrier : 
Phase 1: Extrémité est du quai – d'avril à juin 2018
Phase 2: Partie centrale du quai – d'octobre à décembre 2018
Phase 3: Extrémité ouest du quai – de mars à juillet 2019

Parcs Canada planifiera ces travaux hors de la haute saison touristique afin de minimiser les répercussions sur les visiteurs.

Si vous avez des questions, des commentaires, ou si vous désirez en apprendre plus sur le projet de protection contre les inondations, contactez-nous par courriel à pc.infocb.pc@pc.gc.ca.