Tour guide showing visitors a flag at the Halifax CItadel National Historic Site Taking a tour is a great way to connect with history

As you explore the impressive Halifax Citadel together, your guide shares highlights from the fascinating history of the four successive versions of this fort that have protected Halifax Harbour since 1749.

There is much to absorb and ponder as you are transported back in time to a day in the life of a British soldier and his family, played by members of an historical reenactment group. Eager to share their knowledge, they love to answer your questions, especially ones about the critical role that the Halifax Citadel played in the protection and development of the city, as well as the country we now know as Canada.

Offered in both French and English, guided tours commence at the Visitor Orientation Centre and take between 45-60 minutes. The Halifax Citadel is a wheelchair-accessible site. Guided tours are offered throughout the day from early May until the end of October.

Un guide montre un drapeau à des visiteurs au lieu historique national de la Citadelle-d'Halifax. Une visite guidée est une bonne façon de se rapprocher de l'histoire

Explorez l’impressionnante citadelle d’Halifax en compagnie d’un guide. Il vous exposera des faits saillants de la fascinante histoire de ce fort, reconstruit à quatre reprises, qui a permis de protéger le port d’Halifax depuis 1749.

Remontez le temps et revivez une journée de la vie d’un soldat britannique et de sa famille grâce aux acteurs d’un groupe de reconstitution historique. Vous en apprendrez beaucoup et y trouverez sûrement matière à réflexion. Ces acteurs partagent volontiers leur passion et répondent avec plaisir aux questions. Nul doute que vous découvrirez le rôle déterminant qu’a joué la citadelle d’Halifax en matière de protection et de développement, autant pour la ville que pour le pays.

Offertes en français et en anglais, les visites guidées commencent au centre d’orientation des visiteurs et durent de 45 à 60 minutes. La citadelle d’Halifax est un site accessible aux fauteuils roulants. Les visites guidées sont offertes toute la journée, du début mai à la fin octobre.