Staff at the Halifax Citadel have crafted many ways to transport you back in time to the life of a Victorian era soldier. Join a guided tour or explore the various sites within the fort on your own. Watch the noon day gun firing of the gun, listen to the stirring sounds of the bagpipes, or join a Signature Experience and become part of the 78th Highlanders for the day. Educators can also join in an engaging Canadian history program.

Visiting with Young Children? Explore with Club Parka!

With the Club Parka booklet kids can explore, learn and have fun! The booklets are available on site. With the Photo Missions App, kids are invited to help Parka and Chirp find and photograph specific items found at our place! Download the app for free before visiting. Once one or both activities are completed, they will receive a reward!

Learn more about Parka and download other activities! Download the free Photo Missions App

Featured

  • Special events

    Celebrate with us! 

  • Commemorating the World Wars

    Through special exhibits and events, Parks Canada invites Canadians to learn more about the World Wars and the crucial role civilians and those in the armed forces played in protecting and building their communities and thus Canada as a whole. 

  • Guided tours

    As you explore the impressive Halifax Citadel together, your guide shares highlights from the fascinating history of the four successive versions of this fort that have protected Halifax Harbour since 1749.

All activities

Participez aux nombreuses activités conçues par le personnel de la citadelle d’Halifax : elles vous feront revivre la vie du soldat de l’époque victorienne ! Inscrivez-vous à une visite guidée ou explorez de manière autonome les divers atouts du fort. Assistez au tir du coup de canon de midi, laissez le son des cornemuses vous émouvoir, ou encore vivez une expérience unique en vous joignant au régiment des 78e Highlanders pour une journée. Les enseignants peuvent aussi participer activement à un programme sur l’histoire canadienne.

 

En vedette

  • Événements spéciaux

    Célébrez le 150e du Canada avec nous!

  • Commémoration des Guerres mondiales

    Par le biais d'expositions et d'événements spéciaux, Parcs Canada invite les Canadiens et les Canadiennes à en apprendre davantage sur les Guerres mondiales et le rôle crucial que les civils et les soldats ont joué dans la défense et l'édification non seulement de leurs communautés, mais aussi du pays tout entier.

  • Visites guidées

    Explorez l’impressionnante citadelle d’Halifax en compagnie d’un guide. Il vous exposera des faits saillants de la fascinante histoire de ce fort, reconstruit à quatre reprises, qui a permis de protéger le port d’Halifax depuis 1749.

Toutes les activités