Plan to spend at least two hours touring the museum and gorgeous grounds overlooking Baddeck Bay and Kidston Island with its picturesque lighthouse. You can also spot the headlands of Beinn Bhreagh, Bell's beloved summer home where he did much of his scientific work. Famous as being the start and end of the Cabot Trail, Baddeck is a one-hour drive from Sydney Airport and a four-hour drive from Halifax.

Getting here

Location

559 Chebucto Street
Baddeck, Nova Scotia
B0E 1B0

Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site is located on Chebucto Street (Route 205), in a residential area on the east edge of the Village of Baddeck, a community of 1,000 people which is the municipal and service centre of Victoria County, Nova Scotia.

From Port Hawkesbury, Nova Scotia:

Drive east on the TransCanada Highway (Highway 105) for about one hour. Take Exit 9 at Baddeck. It's two kilometres (1.25 miles) to the site.

From Sydney, Nova Scotia:

Drive west on Highway 125 to the TransCanada Highway (Highway 105) and continue driving for about one hour. Take Exit 9 at Baddeck. It's two kilometres (1.25 miles) to the site.

The J.A. Douglas McCurdy Sydney Airport now offers direct daily flights between Sydney and Toronto, as well as daily flights between Sydney and Halifax. Please check their website for further information.

Hours of operation

May 18 - October 30, 2018
Daily
9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Facilities and services

Accessible Facilities Accessible services
Lookout Lookout
Restaurant or café
Bus parking
Parking Parking
Restrooms Restrooms
Information Information
Picnic Area Picnic area
Wi-Fi

Museum Store

The Alexander Graham Bell Museum Association, a non-profit co-operating organization, operates the Museum Store.  Products include books, kites, educational toys, souvenirs and other items that relate strongly to Bell, his work and the themes of the site.

Tetra Café 

The Alexander Graham Bell Museum Association also operates the Tetra Café serving coffee, tea and other beverages, as well as delicious baked goods.  The café offers free wireless Internet service. Browse, snack and get connected within unique architectural design elements, plenty of natural light and a stellar view of Baddeck Bay, part of the UNESCO Bras d'Or Lake Biosphere Reserve. 

Recreation

The museum's rooftop viewing deck provides a panoramic view of the Bells' beloved "Beinn Bhreagh" (Gaelic for "beautiful mountain") home still owned by their descendants and Baddeck Bay, part of the UNESCO Bras d'Or Lake Biosphere Reserve.
Picnic tables (one accessible for mobility-impaired visitors) are located adjacent to the rooftop viewing deck.  There are also picnic tables on the viewing area and on the patio area adjacent to the museum.

Quick facts

  • Explore the world's largest collection of Bell's artefacts and inventions, including replicas of the first telephones and a full-scale model of the HD-4 Hydrofoil craft.
  • Pull on your white gloves to discover the private life of a public genius in three remarkable behind-the-scenes tours.
  • Designated as a national historic site in 1952, the site spans 10 hectares (25 acres) overlooking gorgeous Bras d’Or Lakes.

Prévoyez au moins deux heures pour visiter le musée et le magnifique site surplombant la baie de Baddeck et l'île Kidston avec son phare pittoresque. Vous pouvez aussi admirer le domaine de Beinn Bhreagh, la résidence d'été tant aimée de Bell et où il a réalisé la majeure partie de ses travaux scientifiques. Servant à la fois de point de départ et de point d'arrivée de la Cabot Trail, Baddeck est une destination renommée qui se trouve à une heure de route de l'aéroport de Sydney et à quatre heures de route d'Halifax.

Comment s’y rendre

Emplacement

559, rue Chebucto
Baddeck (Nouvelle-Écosse)
B0E 1H0

Le lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell est situé sur la rue Chebucto (route 205), dans le secteur est du village de Baddeck, une communauté de 1 000 habitants qui est le centre municipal et le centre de services du comté de Victoria (Nouvelle-Écosse).

De Port Hawkesbury (Nouvelle-Écosse) :

Suivez la route Transcanadienne (route 105) vers l'est pendant une heure. Prenez la sortie 9 à Baddeck. La distance jusqu'au site est de 2 km.

De Sydney (Nouvelle-Écosse) :

Empruntez la route 125 vers l'ouest jusqu'à la route Transcanadienne (route 105), puis continuez vers l'ouest sur la route Transcanadienne pendant une heure. Prenez la sortie 9 à Baddeck. La distance jusqu'au site est de 2 km.

L'aéroport J.A. Douglas McCurdy Sydney Airport offre maintenant des vols quotidiens directs entre Sydney et Toronto, ainsi que des vols quotidiens entre Sydney et Halifax. Veuillez consulter leur site Web pour plus d'informations.

Heures d'ouverture

Du 18 mai au 30 octobre 2018
Quotidien
9 h - 17 h

Installations et services

Accessible Facilities Installations accessibles
Lookout Belvédère
Restaurant ou café
Stationnement pour autocars
Parking Stationnement
Restrooms Toilettes
Information Renseignements
Picnic Area Aire de pique-nique
Accès sans fil à l'internet

Boutique du musée

L’Association du Musée Alexander Graham Bell, organisation coopérante à but non lucratif, tient la boutique du musée. Vous y trouverez des livres, des cerfs-volants, des jouets éducatifs, des souvenirs et d’autres articles en lien étroit avec Alexander Graham Bell, ses travaux et les thèmes exploités au lieu historique.

Tetra Café

L’Association du Musée Alexander-Graham-Bell gère également le Tetra Café où vous trouverez du café, du thé et d’autres boissons, ainsi que de délicieuses pâtisseries.

Le café propose un service Internet sans fil gratuit. Naviguez tout en prenant une collation et branchez-vous dans un milieu de conception architecturale unique baigné de lumière naturelle, d’où vous aurez une vue imprenable sur la célèbre baie de Baddeck qui fait partie de la réserve de la biosphère du lac Bras d’Or. 

Loisirs

Du belvédère situé sur le toit du musée, vous aurez une vue panoramique sur « Beinn Bhreagh » (« belle montagne » en gaélique), la résidence que les Bell aimaient tant et qui est toujours habitée par leurs descendants, ainsi que sur la baie de Baddeck, qui fait partie de la réserve de la biosphère du lac Bras d’Or.

À côté du belvédère sur le toit, vous trouverez des tables à pique-nique (dont une est accessible aux visiteurs à mobilité réduite). Il y a également des tables à pique-nique sur le belvédère et sur la terrasse adjacente au musée.

Faits en bref

  • Découvrez la plus importante collection d’artéfacts et d’inventions de Bell au monde, comme les répliques des premiers téléphones et une maquette grandeur nature de l’hydroptère HD-4.
  • Enfilez vos gants blancs et sondez la vie privée d’un illustre génie grâce à trois remarquables visites en coulisse.
  • Désigné lieu historique national en 1952, le site couvre 10 hectares (25 acres) et surplombe le superbe lac Bras d’Or.