Get a rare glimpse into the extraordinary heart and mind of a world-famous inventor whose genius helped shape the modern world. Pull the curtain back on Alexander Graham Bell’s interests and inventions, spanning airplanes and kites, to deaf education and artificial respiration. Feel his legacy come to life as you explore remarkable artifacts, photos and full-scale replicas that mark his masterful career as an engineer, inventor, scientist and humanitarian.

Featured things to do

White Glove Tour
White Glove Tour

Hold history in your hands on a behind-the-scenes White Glove Tour

Alec & I
Alec & I

Discover the Alec and Mabel Bell story through artifacts and photographs.

Tetrahedral kite workshop
Tetrahedral kite workshop

Challenge yourself to reproduce what Bell invented during his flight experiments.

Sites nearby

  • Marconi National Historic Site

    Discover how the wireless age began at a museum chronicling inventor Guglielmo Marconi’s achievements in carrying out the world’s first transatlantic wireless telegraph experiments in Nova Scotia at the turn of 20th century.

  • Cape Breton Highlands National Park

    A third of the world-famous Cabot Trail winds through Cape Breton Highlands National Park, renowned for stunning ocean vistas, deep-cut canyons, 26 diverse hiking trails, spectacular campsites and glorious sandy beaches.

  • Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site

    Mingle with Louisbourg’s lively 18th century citizens, hearing their stories and tasting their food while soldiers march, cannons blast, children play and women mend clothes on a typical 1740s day in the French fortified town.

  • St. Peters Canal National Historic Site

    Located in one of Canada’s oldest European settlements, St. Peters Canal links the Atlantic Ocean with the Bras d'Or Lakes as well as Canada’s historic trading past to Cape Breton Island’s vibrant future.

  • Canso Islands National Historic Site

    Wander an interpretive trail to unveil vital history. Uncover the secrets of an 18th century settlement. Be amazed by the war-torn remains of a stone fortress. Canso Islands National Historic Site brings to life the stories of Atlantic Canada.

Hours of operation

May 19 to October 30
Every day, from 9 am to 5 pm

Fees

Free admission in 2017. Other fees may apply.

Contact us

Telephone: 902-295-2069
Email: information@pc.gc.ca

Portez un regard privilégié sur un inventeur de renommée mondiale dont le génie a contribué à façonner le monde moderne. Découvrez les passions qui habitaient Alexander Graham Bell et ses inventions, depuis les avions et les cerfs-volants jusqu’à l’éducation des personnes sourdes et la respiration artificielle. Voyez son héritage prendre vie grâce aux artéfacts, aux photos et aux répliques grandeur nature qui témoignent de sa brillante carrière d’ingénieur, d’inventeur, de scientifique et d’humaniste.

En vedette

Visite en gants blancs
Visite en gants blancs

Tenez l'histoire dans vos mains lors d'une Visite en gants blancs dans les coulisses.

Alec et moi
Alec et moi

Découvrez l'histoire d'Alec et Mabel Bell à travers des artéfacts et des photos.

Atelier de cerfs-volants tétraédriques
Atelier de cerfs-volants tétraédriques

Mettez-vous au défi pour reproduire ce que Bell a inventé au cours de ses expériences de vol.

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national Marconi

    Découvrez comment a commencé l'ère du sans-fil au début du 20e siècle! Au musée, retracez comment l'inventeur Guglielmo Marconi est parvenu, au bout de nombreuses expériences, à transmettre pour la première fois au monde un télégraphe sans fil de l’autre côté de l'Atlantique depuis la Nouvelle-Écosse.

  • Parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton

    Un tiers de la célèbre Cabot Trail serpente dans le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton, réputé pour ses vues imprenables sur l'océan, ses profonds canyons, ses 26 sentiers de randonnée, ses terrains de camping spectaculaires et ses sublimes plages de sable. À vous d'en profiter!

  • Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

    Vivez au rythme trépidant des habitants de Louisbourg au 18e siècle. Écoutez leurs histoires et goûtez à leurs mets, vivez une journée type des années 1740 dans la ville fortifiée française. Autour de vous, les soldats marchent au pas, les canons grondent, les enfants jouent et les femmes raccommodent les habits des hommes.

  • Lieu historique national du Canal-de-St.-Peters

    Le lieu historique national des Îles-Canso donne vie à l'histoire du Canada atlantique. Promenez-vous sur un sentier d'interprétation où des volets essentiels du passé vous seront dévoilés. Découvrez les secrets d’une colonie du 18e siècle. Laissez-vous émerveiller par les vestiges d'une forteresse de pierre ravagée par la guerre.

  • Lieu historique national des Îles-Canso

    Le lieu historique national des Îles-Canso donne vie à l’histoire du Canada atlantique. Promenez-vous sur un sentier d’interprétation où des volets essentiels du passé vous seront dévoilés. Découvrez les secrets d’une colonie du 18e siècle. Laissez-vous émerveiller par les vestiges d’une forteresse de pierre ravagée par la guerre.

Heures d’ouverture

19 mai au 30 octobre
Tous les jours, de 9 h à 17 h

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite en 2017. D'autres frais peuvent s'appliquer.

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 902-295-2069
Courriel : information@pc.gc.ca