© Parks Canada/T. Bunbury
 
 
Here on this hilltop once stood soldiers’ barracks, storehouses, a kitchen and a brewery. At its peak, Fort Edward served as a small, but busy military hub. Today, the blockhouse and cannon remain as reminders of the fort’s important role in securing British rule in the 1750s, while Britain and France battled for control of North America. 
 
 

History

Fort Edward was constructed in June 1750 to secure the overland route between Annapolis Royal, the old capital of Nova Scotia, and the new capital at Halifax, founded in 1749. The British colonial officials also intended the fort to assert government authority in the Piziquid area, one of the centres of Acadian settlement in the province. As well, Mi'kmaq frequently travelled through the area following the two rivers (the Avon and the St. Croix) that met below the hill on which the fort was constructed.

In the autumn of 1755, Fort Edward served as a centre for the deportation of approximately 1200 Acadian men, women and children from the villages of Pisiquid. Some Acadians however evaded the deportation and small groups were detained at the fort over the next few years.

During the American Revolution, the fort was repaired and garrisoned to protect the area, now called Windsor, from attack by American raiders. One of the captains of the British regiment occupying the fort was Allan Macdonald, husband of Flora Macdonald, who had won fame as the rescuer of Bonnie Prince Charlie following the defeat of his Highland forces at the Battle of Culloden in 1745. Flora spent the winter of 1778-79 at Fort Edward before she returned to Scotland.

when war broke out between Britain and the United States in 1812, military officials feared an attack on the Windsor area. Fort Edward was hastily repaired and manned. Despite this brief revival, Fort Edward had ceased to have strategic importance in the defence of Nova Scotia decades before. The fortifications gradually fell into disrepair but the grounds were used by the local militia for training as well as for the site of the Windsor Agricultural Fair. During the First World War, the fort grounds also served as a camp for troops from the Annapolis Valley waiting to go overseas.

An Exact Plan of Fort Edward at Pesaquid, 1757 (William Clements Library, Ann Arbor, Michigan), shows that the defences included a blockhouse, barracks for soldiers and officers, provisions stores, a powder magazine and service buildings, protected by earth ramparts, a wooden palisade and a ditch. Outside the ramparts, on the hillside, were small gradens, stables for cattle and horses, a hospital, a forge and huts for some of the soldiers. There was also a truckhouse, a government-sanctioned trading post set up to facilitate trade with the Mi'kmaq. Only the blockhouse survives: the oldest standing blockhouse of the 200 that were built in Canada and the oldest surviving in North America.

 

Blockhouse architecture

The Blockhouse form

Man standing in front of blockhouse door

 

The term “blockhouse” usually denotes a simple wooden structure of two storeys with the upper storey overhanging the lower. The heavy timbers that formed their walls were easily cut from nearby forests and hewed with simple tools. Blockhouses provided excellent protection against arrows and small arms, the weapons used most when the British built Fort Edward. 
 

 



Construction

Framing timbers for the blockhouse Framing timbers for the blockhouse

Acadian craftsmen prepared the framing timbers for the blockhouse in Halifax. They were then transported to Piziquid. On the second storey of the blockhouse, you can see paired sets of roman numerals on the timbers. This made it easy for the workers to put the framework of the blockhouse together at the site.

Built to defend

Exterior of the fort’s second storey Interior showing pothole and overhead loopholes Interior close-up of loophole showing splayed form

From left to right: exterior of the fort’s second storey; interior showing pothole and overhead loopholes; interior close-up of loophole showing splayed form.

The Fort Edward block house possesses several defensive features. As the above photos show, square potholes were cut into the centre of the upper walls. Soldiers used four-pounder guns here, most likely set on swivel mountings. They could also fire on invaders through the five slits above the potholes. These so-called “loopholes” were stationed at shoulder-height. The openings are splayed to give the soldier a wider angle of fire.


Machicolations

Machicolations of the upper storey Machicolations of the upper storey Machicolations of the upper storey 

“Machicolations” – long slits cut in the floor of the overhang of the upper storey – enabled soldiers to fire down at attackers who reached the blockhouse.

Photos © Parks Canada/T. Bunbury


Resources

West Hants Historical Society

 

Fort Edward archaeology

Archaeologists have worked at Fort Edward at various times between 1986 and 1999. This work has been done for practical purposes, to clear areas for electrical wiring, for the construction of paths and for the stabilization of the blockhouse. But each has been valuable in revealing interesting information about the fort and its occupants.

The Blockhouse midden: Treasures amid the garbage

A cannonball lies in the dirt below the floorboards of the blockhouse 1998: A cannonball lies in the dirt below the floorboards of the blockhouse. This seems to be part of fill taken from an early eighteenth-century midden (garbage dump) and placed inside the building, perhaps as insulation. 

Plans to stabilize the foundation of the blockhouse led to a full excavation of the interior, plus the perimeter around the exterior. Most surprising was the discovery that a massive amount of garbage had been thrown under the floorboards some time before the middle of the 19th century. Perhaps this was done to reduce the air space under the floorboards and maybe provide some insulation. Within the space below the floorboards, archaeologists found military buttons, shoe buckles, musket balls and gun flints, broken ceramic dishes and glass bottles, tobacco pipes, Jews’ harps, ink bottles and a wide variety of animal bones, discarded from meals. All of these seem to date to the first quarter of the 19th century.

Here are just a few of the items the archaeologists discovered:


Anglo-American coarse earthenware dish with a slipped decorationjawbone of a monkfishsoldiers cut bone discs from flat bones to replace buttons lost on their clothingan ink bottle and a clay marble

Anglo-American coarse earthenware dish with a slipped decoration; jawbone of a monkfish (Lophius americanus), caught and eaten by soldiers of the garrison; soldiers cut bone discs from flat bones to replace buttons lost on their clothing; tobacco pipes, an ink bottle and a clay marble


Before the Blockhouse: Acadian Parish Church of l’Assomption

Archaeologist Stephen Powell In 1986, archaeologist Stephen Powell discovers evidence of the Acadian church below the northwest bastion.

Below the floor of the blockhouse, a charcoal layer marks the original site of the Acadian Church of l’Assomption Below the floor of the blockhouse, a charcoal layer marks the original site of the Acadian Church of l’Assomption. 

Archaeology has also confirmed the presence of the Parish Church of l’Assomption on the hilltop. Something as mundane as the placement of security lights around the blockhouse led to the first evidence. Deep in a small square excavated for the light fixture in the northwest bastion, archaeologist Stephen Powell uncovered pieces of clay, burnt in a fire, which clearly showed traces of salt-marsh grasses, spartina sp

Torchis specimen
This mixture of clay and spartina, called "torchis," was commonly used as insulation in Acadian houses. Later excavations in the blockhouse revealed a layer of charcoal and torchis under dirt dug out for the building’s foundation. Clearly, the layer pre-dated the blockhouse. As Jonathan Fowler of Saint Mary’s University has pointed out, Joshua Winslow recorded in his journal of June 1750, that the Acadians pulled down the Mass House (by then abandoned), to level the ground for the blockhouse.

 

Photos © Parks Canada/R. Ferguson

 

Resources

A ten-minute walk down adjacent King Street leads you to the museum of the West Hants Historical Society. Here you can view military buttons, cannon balls and other artifacts excavated from Fort Edward.

© Parcs Canada/T. Bunbury
 
 
Ici, sur cette colline, se dressaient autrefois des casernes pour les soldats, des entrepôts, une cuisine et une brasserie. Au sommet, le fort Edward constituait un centre militaire petit mais très achalandé. Aujourd’hui, le blockhaus et le canon nous rappellent l’important rôle que le fort a joué pour assurer la domination britannique dans les années 1750, alors que la Grande-Bretagne et la France se disputaient le contrôle de l’Amérique du Nord.
 
 

Histoire

Le fort Edward a été construit en juin 1750 pour protéger la voie terrestre entre Annapolis Royal, l'ancienne capitale de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et Halifax, la nouvelle capitale, fondée en 1749. Les autorités coloniales britanniques voulaient aussi, de cette façon, asseoir leur autorité sur la région de Piziquid, l'un des centres de l'établissement acadien dans la province. De nombreux Mi'kmaq fréquentaient également la région puisqu'ils empruntaient les deux rivières (Avon et St. Croix) qui se rencontrent en contre-bas de la colline sur laquelle le fort a été construit.

À l'automne de 1755, Le fort Edward servit de quartier général lors de la déportation d'environ 1 200 Acadiens, hommes, femmes et enfants, des villages de Piziquid. Quelques Acadiens réussirent cependant à échapper à la déportation et de petits groupes de fuyards furent détenus au fort au cours des années suivantes.

Au cours de la Révolution américaine, les autorités militaires réparèrent le fort et y postèrent une garnison pour protéger la région de ce qui est aujourd'hui Windsor des attaques surprises des Américains. L'un des capitaines du régiment britannique qui a habité le fort était Allan Macdonald, l'époux de Flora Macdonald qui est connue pour avoir sauvé Bonnie Prince Charlie après la défaite de ses troupes écossaises à la bataille de Culloden en 1745. Flora a passé l'hiver de 1778-1779 au fort Edward avant de retourner en Écosse.

Les autorités militaires réparèrent de nouveau le fort à la hâte et y postèrent une garnison quand la guerre éclata entre la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis en 1812, parce qu'elles craignaient une attaque sur la région de Windsor. Malgré ce bref regain d'activité, le fort Edward avait déjà perdu depuis des décennies sa valeur stratégique dans la défense de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Les fortifications finirent par tomber en ruine, mais les terrains furent utilisés pour l'entraînement de la milice locale et la tenue de l'exposition agricole de Windsor. Pendant la première Guerre mondiale, le fort servit également de camp aux troupes de la vallée de l'Annapolis en partance pour l'Europe.

Un plan exact du fort Edward à Pesaquid, 1757 (bibliothèque William Clement, Ann Arbor, Michigan), montre que les défenses étaient constituées d’un blockhaus, de casernes pour les soldats et les officiers, d’entrepôts à provisions, d’une poudrière et de bâtiments de services, lesquels étaient protégés par des remparts de terre, une palissade de bois et un fossé. À l’extérieur des remparts, sur le versant de la colline, se trouvaient de petits jardins, des bâtiments pour le bétail et les chevaux, un hôpital, une forge et des cabanes pour certains soldats. Il y avait également une maison de troc, un poste de traite sanctionné par le gouvernement mis sur pied pour faciliter le commerce avec les Mi’kmaq. Il ne reste plus aujourd’hui que le blockaus, le plus vieux des 200 qui furent construits au Canada et le plus vieux qui existe encore en Amérique du Nord.

Architecture du blockhaus

La forme du blockhaus

Homme devant la porte du blockhaus

 

Le terme « blockhaus » désigne habituellement une structure simple en bois de deux étages; l’étage supérieur étant légèrement en saillie. Les lourdes pièces de bois qui forment les murs proviennent des forêts avoisinantes et ont été façonnées à l’aide d’outils simples. Les blockhaus offraient une excellente protection contre les flèches et les armes légères, qui étaient principalement utilisées à l’époque de la construction du fort Edward.

 

 

Construction

le bois de charpente du blockhaus le bois de charpente du blockhaus

Des artisans acadiens ont préparé le bois de charpente du blockhaus à Halifax. Les pièces de bois ont ensuite été transportées à Piziquid. À l’étage supérieur du blockhaus, vous pouvez voir des ensembles jumelés de chiffres romains inscrits sur le bois. Il était ainsi plus facile pour les travailleurs d'assembler sur place la charpente.

Ouvrage de défense

Extérieur de l’étage supérieur du fort embrasure et meurtrières vues de l’intérieur gros plan d’une meurtrière et de sa forme évasée

De gauche à droite : Extérieur de l’étage supérieur du fort; embrasure et meurtrières vues de l’intérieur; gros plan d’une meurtrière et de sa forme évasée.

Le blockhaus du fort Edward est doté de plusieurs moyens de défense. Comme le montre la photo ci-dessus, des embrasures carrées ont été faites au centre des murs de l’étage supérieur. Les soldats y utilisaient des canons de quatre livres probablement sur pivots. Ils pouvaient aussi tirer sur les envahisseurs par les cinq ouvertures pratiquées au-dessus des embrasures. Ces « meurtrières » étaient situées à la hauteur des épaules. Les ouvertures étaient évasées pour donner aux soldats un angle de tir plus large.

Mâchicoulis

Les « mâchicoulis » de l’étage supérieur Les « mâchicoulis » de l’étage supérieur Les « mâchicoulis » de l’étage supérieur 

Les « mâchicoulis », ces longues fentes pratiquées dans le plancher de l’étage supérieur, permettaient aux soldats de tirer vers le bas sur les attaquants, si ces derniers parvenaient à atteindre le blockhaus.

Photos © Parcs Canada/T. Bunbury


Ressources

West Hants Historical Society (en anglais seulement)


Fouilles archéologiques au fort Edward

Des archéologues ont travaillé au lieu historique national du Fort-Edward à diverses périodes entre 1986 et 1999. Les travaux ont été exécutés pour des raisons d’ordre pratique, afin de dégager des espaces pour l’installation de câbles électriques, pour l’aménagement de sentiers et pour la stabilisation du blockhaus. Chaque fouille archéologique a toutefois révélé des renseignements précieux sur le fort et ses occupants.

Le tertre du blockhaus : Des trésors parmi les détritus 

Un boulet de canon repose sur le sol sous les planches du plancher du blockhaus 1998 : Un boulet de canon repose sur le sol sous les planches du plancher du blockhaus. Il s’agirait de remblais provenant d’un tertre (amoncellement de détritus) datant du début du 18e siècle et placé à l’intérieur du fort, peut-être pour isoler le bâtiment.

Des plans visant à stabiliser la fondation du blockhaus ont mené à l’excavation complète de l’intérieur, ainsi que du contour extérieur du bâtiment. Durant ces travaux, la découverte la plus étonnante a été sans contredit la grande quantité de détritus qui avaient été jetés sous les planches du plancher avant le milieu du 19e siècle. On voulait peut-être ainsi réduire l’espace libre sous le plancher et fournir une certaine isolation. Sous le plancher, les archéologues ont donc découvert des boutons d'uniforme, des boucles de chaussures, des balles de mousquet et des pierres à fusil, de la vaisselle en céramique et des bouteilles en verre cassées, des pipes, des guimbardes, des bouteilles d’encre et une grande variété d’os d’animaux, jetés après les repas. Tous ces articles semblaient dater du premier quart du 19e siècle.

Voici quelques-uns des articles que les archéologues ont découverts :

Assiette en terre cuite grossière anglo-américaine à décor d’engobemâchoire d’une baudroie (Lophius americanus), attrapée et mangée par des soldats de la garnisonles soldats façonnaient des disques à partir d’os plats pour remplacer les boutons d’uniforme qu’ils avaient perdus pipes, bouteille d’encre et bille en argile

Assiette en terre cuite grossière anglo-américaine à décor d’engobe; mâchoire d’une baudroie (Lophius americanus), attrapée et mangée par des soldats de la garnison ; les soldats façonnaient des disques à partir d’os plats pour remplacer les boutons d’uniforme qu’ils avaient perdus ; pipes, bouteille d’encre et bille en argile


Avant le blockhaus : L’église paroissiale acadienne de l’Assomption

l’archéologue Stephen Powell En 1986, l’archéologue Stephen Powell a découvert des preuves de la présence de l’église acadienne sous le bastion nord-ouest

Sous le plancher du blockhaus, une couche de charbon marque l’emplacement original de l’église acadienne de l’Assomption Sous le plancher du blockhaus, une couche de charbon marque l’emplacement original de l’église acadienne de l’Assomption



















Les fouilles archéologiques ont aussi confirmé la présence de l’église paroissiale de l’Assomption au sommet de la colline. Une tâche aussi banale que l’installation d’un éclairage de sécurité autour du blockhaus a mené à la découverte de la première preuve. Au fond d’un petit trou carré creusé pour y installer la lumière du bastion nord-ouest, l’archéologue Stephen Powell a mis au jour des morceaux d’argile brûlés durant un incendie qui présentaient clairement des traces d’herbes des marais salés (spartina sp.).

Spécimen du torchis

Le torchis, un mélange d’argile et de spartina, était couramment utilisé comme isolant dans les maisons acadiennes. Des fouilles ultérieures à l’intérieur du blockhaus ont révélé la présence d’une couche de charbon et de torchis sous le sol de la fondation du bâtiment. Cette couche datait manifestement d’avant la construction du blockhaus. Comme l’a indiqué Jonathan Fowler, de la Saint Mary’s University, Joshua Winslow a consigné dans son journal, en juin 1750, que les Acadiens ont démoli l’église (qui avait été abandonnée) pour niveler le terrain en vue de la construction du blockhaus.

 

 

Photos © Parcs Canada/R. Ferguson


Ressources

À dix minutes de marche du lieu se trouve le musée de la West Hants Historical Society (en anglais seulement). Vous pouvez vous y rendre en empruntant la rue King adjacente. Vous pourrez y admirer des boutons d’uniforme, des boulets de canon et d’autres artefacts qui ont été exhumés au fort Edward.