Commemorative Intent

Charles Fort was designated a national historic site in 1951 for the following reasons:

  • it was the fort built by Sir William Alexander to plant the colony of “Nova Scotia”;
  • it was occupied by Scottish colonists from 1629 to 1632, when the territory was restored to France.

 

Plaque Text

A group of about 70 Scottish settlers began a colony here in 1629, eight years after King James I granted 'Nova Scotia' to Sir William Alexander. Led by Alexander's son, the Scots built a small fort, the remains of which lie beneath Fort Anne. Despite many deaths during the first winter, the surviving colonists thrived on agriculture, fishing, and trade with the Mi'kmaq. Most returned to Great Britain in 1632 after France reacquired the region by treaty. Although the colonization attempt was short-lived, the province of Nova Scotia owes its name, flag, and coat of arms to this early Scottish settlement.

 

History of Charles Fort

Charles Fort Monument 
Charles Fort Monument

©Parks Canada, 2008

In 1621, as part of European expansion overseas, James I of England and VI of Scotland granted Sir William Alexander, a Scottish noble, a charter for New Scotland - “Nova Scotia” - to establish a Scottish colony in North America. The charter covered the geographic area made up today of the Maritime Provinces and the Gaspé peninsula. (At the time, the French claimed part of the region as Acadia while the Mi'kmaq knew it as their traditional lands, Mi'kmaki .) The charter gave Alexander rights to minerals and fisheries; the power to make laws, form a government, stop pirates, and seek peaceful relations with Native people; as well as permission to build one or more forts. It would be eight years before such a colony was established, but in 1625, the year Charles I became king, a coat of arms was approved for New Scotland. Four hundred years later, in the 1920s, the flag and arms of the Province of Nova Scotia were adopted using the 1625 heraldry as their basis and inspiration.

In 1629, eight years after the granting of a charter to establish the colony and four years after the approval of a coat of arms, Sir William's son, Sir William Alexander the younger, brought a group of 70 men and women to colonize New Scotland. A second party, led by Sir James Stewart of Killeith, Lord Ochiltree, and comprised of English settlers, established a colony at Baleine, Cape Breton, a few miles north of where the French would later establish Louisbourg. There, they built Fort Rosemar, only to have the French destroy the settlement two months later. Meanwhile, Alexander, with the assistance of Claude de Saint-Étienne de La Tour(1), established his headquarters at Port-Royal (renamed Annapolis Royal by the British after 1713). There, he oversaw the construction of Charles Fort, named in honour of King Charles I. Designed by Captain Ogilvie, the fort was “in forme of a pentagonon, with many horne works good both for offence and defence.” It mounted eight pieces of ordnance - “four demie culvering and foure minion.” The settlers and ships' crews also erected a house for Alexander and a storehouse.

During the first winter, 30 of the 70 Charles Fort settlers died. More colonists arrived in May 1630, along with the Mi'kmaw chief, Segipt, and his family who had gone to England to meet the king(2). When Alexander went to England in the fall of 1630, he found negotiations underway for a return of the area to the French.  In 1632, this area, along with the rest of New France (Canada and Acadia), was officially returned to France under the Treaty of Saint-Germain-en-Laye.  Forty-seven of the Charles Fort settlers returned to England on the Saint-Jean, one of the vessels that later carried French settlers to La Hève (known today as LaHave) (3) under the new governor, Isaac de Razilly. A few of Alexander's settlers remained in the colony. As partial compensation for the elder Alexander's heavy financial losses, the king made him Earl of Stirling.

1. Claude Saint-Étienne de La Tour came to what was then Acadia with his son, Charles, in 1610 to help settle Port-Royal.  In 1628, De La Tour was captured by the English during a voyage from France to Cap Sable, where his son had built a fur trading post called Fort Lomeron (later renamed Fort La Tour although identified as Fort Saint-Louis in the writings of Samuel de Champlain), and was taken to England as a prisoner.  Expecting Acadia would be lost to the English due to French neglect, he decided to side with the English, providing information about Acadia and assisting with plans to colonize "New Scotland."  In return, he was named a Baronet of Nova Scotia.  In 1630, he and his English wife joined a group of colonists and sailed for Cap Sable, expecting his son to join him in siding with the English in return for a title and other honours.  However, Charles refused and his father led an attack on the fort which failed.  Claude then had little choice but to accompany the other colonists to Port-Royal which was now under English control.  He later wrote to his son asking to be permitted to join him at Cap Sable.  Surprisingly, Charles agreed but forced his father to take up residence outside the fort.

2. Early in the settlement, good relations had been established between the settlers and the Aboriginal peoples of the area.  An eyewitness account written by Richard Guthry states that the Mi'kmaq were “infinitly loving to there wyves and children, and to one another; feasting when they meet, till all there store be gone so every day serves itselfe.”  According to Guthry, the Aboriginal people he met were a “fair cariaged a people among whom people may live verry weel,” suggesting relations between the Mi'kmaq and Scottish settlers at Port-Royal were good.

3. Fort LaHave National Historic Site of Canada was designated in 1924 as the first permanent French settlement in Acadia, settled in 1632.

 

Locating Charles Fort

Charles Fort was built on the escarpment above the junction of the Annapolis and Allain rivers. The site is a high point on the Annapolis River whose shores are bordered by low salt marshes that, at the time of the Scots, were flooded by the spring tides of the Bay of Fundy but, since about 1640, have been protected by dykes. The site has a commanding view of the Annapolis River and Goat Island. Because of its elevated location and rather flat terrain, the site was used as a campsite by the Mi'kmaq and other Aboriginal peoples travelling by canoe through interior rivers from the Bay of Fundy to the south shore of Nova Scotia via what is now Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site and was where the French, during the period of the Port-Royal Habitation (1605-1613), grew wheat and possibly other crops.

For many years, however, Charles Fort was thought to have been situated on the north side of the Annapolis River, on a rise behind the Port-Royal Habitation, a fur trade post and the centre of French colonizing efforts from 1605 to 1613. A French 1708 map and a British 1725 map identified this as the location, and oral tradition perpetuated the idea. (The 1725 map referred to it as the “Scotch Fort.”) However, this location did not agree with details given in a first-hand account, published in 1940, which stated that Claude de Saint-Étienne de La Tour, who had lived at the Habitation and was aboard ship with Alexander, pointed out the Habitation site and the site of a La Tour fort. Alexander, “disliking both,” sailed further up the river to a place beside a small river. A more detailed version of the document published in 1992 stated that there were ruins of a French mill on the small river, thus establishing it as the Allain River, where the French had built a grist mill for grinding the grain grown in nearby wheat fields in 1607.

 

Finding Proof

Archaeological excavations carried out during the summers of 1989 to 1992 on the grounds of Fort Anne National Historic Site confirmed this as the site of Charles Fort.  During their excavations, Parks Canada archaeologists unearthed artefacts likely associated with the early Scottish settlement, including Rhenish stoneware sherds and, more importantly, a royal bale seal (1). The lead seal is of interest because the crown and thistle Royal Arms of King James I, or of his son and heir, King Charles I, marks one side of the seal, while the other side bears the impression of the Arms of the port of Bristol. These stamped impressions are significant for they are datable. The crown and thistle motif indicates that the seal dates to c.1600s-40s, during the reigns of James I and Charles I. (It is not possible, at present, to determine whether the crown and thistle stamp relates to James I or Charles I, as both kings used the same motif.) The presence of the Bristol arms on the other side of the seal is not in conflict with this date for English legislation had been in place since about 1483-4 requiring the arms of the county or city to be on one side of the seal, with the royal arms on the other side.

Royal bale seal with crown and thistle motif
Royal bale seal with crown and thistle motif

The excavations also support historical texts, which indicate that, after the departure of the Scots, the French occupied the fort and later dismantled it to build a new earthwork fort. The date of the new earthwork is known to have been 1643. The French had taken over the Scottish Port-Royal and, following Razilly's death in 1636, Charles de Menou d'Aulnay(2) had relocated the settlers from La Have to Port-Royal, making it his headquarters. The 1643 fort was the first of four French fortifications to be built on the site. The fourth, which fell to British and New England troops in 1710 during the War of the Spanish Succession, became known as Fort Anne in the early years of the nineteenth century and was garrisoned by the British until the fall of 1854.

Rhenish stoneware sherds
Rhenish stoneware sherds
©Parks Canada, 2008

1. Lead seals were used throughout much of Europe from the late 1300s to the early 1800s as a way of regulating the production of cloth and assuring quality control.  A seal would be attached to cloth to indicate that it had been inspected and, in the case of England, that appropriate taxes had been paid to the Crown. (Source: Geoff Egan, “Lead Cloth Seals and Related Items in the British Museum,” British Museum Occasional Papers 93 (London, 1995) 1, 23.)

2.  Charles de Menou d'Aulnay (ca. 1604–1650) was an eminent French sea captain who played a key role in the settlement of Acadia.  He commanded La Hève (LaHave) and Port-Royal in 1636 and became governor of Acadia in 1647.  Over a fourteen-year period, he oversaw the construction of forts, mills and schools and ventured into shipbuilding.  He drained marshes with a system of dykes and tide gates, enabling settlers to survive through agriculture.  One of the great architects of French settlement in Canada, D'Aulnay was designated a person of national historic significance in 1972 and is commemorated by a plaque at Fort Anne National Historic Site.

Énoncé d'intégrité commémorative

Le fort Charles a été désigné lieu historique national en 1951 pour les raisons suivantes :

  • C'est le fort qu'avait fait construire sir William Alexander pour fonder la colonie de la Nouvelle-Écosse;
  • Il fut occupé par des colons écossais de 1629 à 1632, année où le territoire repassa à la France.

 

Texte de la plaque

Le Fort Charles

Quelque 70 pionniers écossais fondèrent ici une colonie en 1629, huit ans après l'octroi de la « Nova Scotia » à sir William Alexander par le roi Jacques Ier. Dirigé par le fils d'Alexander, ils bâtirent un modeste fort, dont les vestiges reposent sous le fort Anne. L'agriculture, la pêche et le commerce avec les Mi'kmaq permirent aux survivants du premier hiver de prospérer. La plupart d'entre eux rentrèrent en Grande-Bretagne en 1632, à la suite du traité redonnant la région à la France. Malgré la courte durée de cet établissement, la province de la Nouvelle-Écosse lui doit son nom, son drapeau et ses armoiries.

 

L'histoire du fort Charles

Monument de fort Charles
Monument de fort Charles

En 1621, pour étendre son hégémonie aux terres d'outre-mer, le roi Jacques Ier d'Angleterre et Jacques VI d'Écosse concéda à sir William Alexander, un noble écossais, la charte de la Nouvelle-Écosse, en vue de la fondation d'une colonie écossaise en Amérique du Nord. Cette charte couvrait le territoire qui réunit aujourd'hui les provinces Maritimes et la Gaspésie. (À l'époque, la France revendiquait une partie de ce territoire, à savoir l'Acadie, tandis que les Mi'kmaqs considéraient la région entière comme leur Mi'kmaki,ou territoire ancestral.) La charte conférait à Alexander des droits sur les minéraux et les ressources halieutiques, le pouvoir d'adopter des lois, de former un gouvernement, d'intercepter les pirates et de nouer des relations pacifiques avec les Autochtones, ainsi que la permission d'ériger un ou plusieurs forts. Cette colonie ne vit le jour que huit ans plus tard. Malgré tout, les armoiries de la Nouvelle-Écosse furent approuvées en 1625, année où Charles Ier accéda au trône. Quelque 400 ans plus tard, dans les années 1920, le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse adopta le drapeau et les armoiries de la province en s'inspirant du blason créé en 1625.

En 1629, huit ans après l'obtention de la charte et quatre ans après l'approbation des armoiries, sir William Alexander fils amena un groupe de 70 hommes et femmes en Nouvelle-Écosse pour coloniser le territoire. Un second groupe, formé de colons anglais et dirigé par sir James Stewart de Killeith, lord Ochiltree, fonda une colonie à Baleine, au Cap-Breton, à quelques kilomètres au nord de l'endroit où les Français devaient plus tard fonder Louisbourg. Ces colons y érigèrent le fort Rosemar, que les Français détruisirent deux mois plus tard. Entre-temps, Alexander, avec l'aide de Claude de Saint-Étienne de La Tour (1), établit son siège à Port-Royal (renommé Annapolis Royal par les Anglais après 1713). De cet endroit, il supervisa la construction du fort Charles, baptisé ainsi en l'honneur du roi Charles Ier. Conçu par le capitaine Ogilvie, le fort avait la forme d'un pentagone, et les pointes étaient adaptées aussi bien à l'offensive qu'à la défense. Il renfermait huit pièces d'artillerie : quatre demi-couleuvrines et quatre moyennes. Les colons et les membres d'équipage des navires y construisirent également une résidence pour Alexander et un entrepôt.

Pendant le premier hiver, 30 des 70 colons du fort Charles périrent. D'autres colons arrivèrent en mai 1630 avec le chef mi'kmaw Segipt et sa famille, qui étaient allés rencontrer le roi en Angleterre(2). Lors de son voyage en Angleterre à l'automne de 1630, Alexander apprit que des négociations étaient en cours en vue de la restitution du territoire à la France. En 1632, cette région, de même que le reste de la Nouvelle-France (le Canada et l'Acadie), redevint une possession française en vertu du traité de Saint‑Germain-en-Laye. En tout, 47 des colons du fort Charles retournèrent en Angleterre à bord du Saint-Jean, l'un des navires qui devait plus tard transporter des colons français à La Hève (LaHave)(3) sous les ordres du nouveau gouverneur, Isaac de Razilly. Quelques colons d'Alexander demeurèrent dans la colonie. Pour indemniser partiellement Alexander père de ses lourdes pertes financières, le roi le nomma comte de Stirling.

1. Claude Saint-Étienne de se rendit en Acadie avec son fils Charles en 1610 pour participer à la colonisation de Port-Royal. En 1628, il fut capturé par les Anglais au cours d'un voyage entre la France et le cap Sable, où son fils avait construit un poste de traite appelé fort Lomeron (rebaptisé plus tard fort La Tour, mais appelé fort Saint-Louis dans les écrits de Samuel de Champlain). Le Français fut fait prisonnier en Angleterre. Persuadé que l'Acadie serait négligée par la France et qu'elle passerait à l'Angleterre, il s'allia aux Anglais, leur fournit de l'information sur l'Acadie et les aida à planifier la colonisation de la Nouvelle-Écosse. En échange, il fut nommé baronnet de la Nouvelle-Écosse. En 1630, De La Tour partit pour le cap Sable avec sa femme anglaise et un groupe de colons, convaincu que son fils se rallierait lui aussi aux Anglais en échange d'un titre et d'autres honneurs. Toutefois, Charles ne l'entendait pas ainsi. Son père dirigea une attaque contre le fort, mais l'offensive se solda par un échec. Claude de La Tour n'avait alors d'autre choix que d'accompagner les autres colons à Port-Royal, devenue possession anglaise. Il écrivit plus tard à son fils pour lui demander la permission de le rejoindre au cap Sable. Étonnamment, Charles accepta, mais força son père à élire résidence à l'extérieur du fort.

2. Au début de la colonisation, les Écossais entretenaient de bons rapports avec les Autochtones de la région. Dans un compte rendu de ses observations, Richard Guthry raconte que les Mi'kmaqs témoignaient d'une bonté infinie envers leurs épouses, leurs enfants et les autres membres de leur tribu et que, chaque fois qu'ils se rassemblaient, ils organisaient des festins jusqu'à épuisement de leurs provisions, de sorte qu'ils vivaient au jour le jour. Guthry ajoute que les se comportaient bien et qu'il était possible de très bien vivre avec eux, ce qui donne à penser que les relations entre les Mi'kmaqs et les colons écossais de Port-Royal étaient bonnes.

3. Le fort LaHave a été classé lieu historique national en 1924. Fondé en 1632, cet ouvrage de fortification abritait la première colonie française permanente de l'Acadie.

 

L'emplacement du fort Charles

Le fort Charles fut construit sur l'escarpement qui domine le confluent des rivières Annapolis et Allain. Cet endroit est l'un des points les plus élevés de la rivière Annapolis, cours d'eau bordé de marais salés bas qui, à l'époque des Écossais, étaient inondés par les marées printanières de la baie de Fundy, mais qui sont protégés par des digues depuis 1640 environ. Le site offre une vue imprenable sur la rivière Annapolis et l'île Goat. Comme il s'agit d'une hauteur entourée de terrain relativement plat, l'endroit servait de campement aux Mi'kmaqs et à d'autres tribus autochtones qui voyageaient en canot de la baie de Fundy à la côte sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse, en parcourant les cours d'eau de ce qui est aujourd'hui le parc national et le lieu historique national Kejimkujik. C'est également là que les Français, pendant la période de l'Habitation de Port-Royal (1605-1613), faisaient pousser du blé et peut-être également d'autres cultures.

Pendant bien des années, on crut que le fort Charles avait été construit du côté nord de la rivière Annapolis, sur une élévation de terrain située derrière l'Habitation de Port-Royal, poste de traite et centre névralgique des efforts de colonisation de la France de 1605 à 1613. Une carte française de 1708 et une carte anglaise de 1725 y plaçaient toutes deux le fort, et la tradition orale perpétua l'idée. (La carte de 1725 faisait mention du « Scotch Fort »). Cependant, l'endroit ne concorde pas avec les détails d'un récit de première main publié en 1940, où il est écrit que Claude de Saint-Étienne de La Tour, qui avait vécu à l'Habitation et qui se trouvait à bord du navire avec Alexander, montra à ce dernier l'emplacement de l'Habitation, puis celui d'un ouvrage de fortification appelé fort La Tour. Alexander, qui n'aurait aimé ni l'un ni l'autre, remonta la rivière jusqu'à un endroit situé près d'un petit cours d'eau. Une version plus détaillée du document qui a été publiée en 1992 fait état de la présence de ruines d'un moulin français au bord du cours d'eau. Ce détail permet de confirmer qu'il s'agissait de la rivière Allain, où les Français avaient construit un moulin à provende en 1607 pour moudre le grain cultivé dans les champs de blé avoisinants.

 

Les preuves

Les fouilles archéologiques estivales réalisées de 1989 à 1992 à l'intérieur du lieu historique national du Fort-Anne permirent de confirmer l'emplacement du fort Charles. Pendant leurs travaux, les archéologues de Parcs Canada exhumèrent des artefacts vraisemblablement associés à la colonie écossaise, notamment des tessons de poterie rhénane et, surtout, un sceau à ballot royal (1). Ce sceau en plomb revêt de l'intérêt, parce que l'une des faces illustre la couronne et le chardon des armoiries du roi Jacques Ier ou de son fils et héritier, le roi Charles Ier, et l'autre, les armoiries du port de Bristol. Ces estampilles ont l'avantage de pouvoir être datées. Le motif de la couronne et du chardon date des 40 premières années du XVIIe siècle, époque correspondant au règne de Jacques Ier et de Charles Ier. (Il n'est pas possible, pour l'instant, de déterminer à quel roi l'estampille renvoie, puisque tous deux employaient le même motif.) La présence des armoiries de Bristol sur l'autre côté du sceau n'entre pas en contradiction avec ces dates. En effet, les lois anglaises qui exigeaient l'estampillage des armoiries du comté ou de la ville sur une face du sceau et les armoiries royales sur l'autre étaient en vigueur depuis 1483-1484.

Sceau à ballot royal avec le motif de la couronne et du chardon
Sceau à ballot royal avec le motif de la couronne et du chardon

Les fouilles viennent aussi corroborer les textes historiques qui indiquent que, après le départ des Écossais, les Français occupèrent le fort avant de construire un nouvel ouvrage de terre. On sait que ces travaux de terrassement ont été effectués en 1643. Les Français avaient pris possession de Port-Royal, qui appartenait alors aux Écossais. Après la mort de Razilly en 1636, Charles de Menou d'Aulnay (2) avait réinstallé les colons de LaHave à Port-Royal pour y établir son siège. Le fort de 1643 fut le premier de quatre ouvrages de fortification français qui se succédèrent au même endroit. Le quatrième, qui tomba aux mains des troupes de l'Angleterre et de la Nouvelle-Angleterre en 1710 pendant la guerre de Succession d'Espagne, en est venu à s'appeler fort Anne au début du XIXe siècle. Les Anglais y maintinrent une garnison jusqu'à l'automne de 1854.

Des tessons de poterie rhénane
Des tessons de poterie rhénane

1.  Les sceaux en plomb demeurèrent en usage dans la majeure partie de l'Europe de la fin du XIVe siècle jusqu'au début du XIXe siècle. Il s'agissait d'un moyen de réglementer la production de tissu et d'en contrôler la qualité. Le sceau fixé au tissu attestait que le produit avait été inspecté et, dans le cas de l'Angleterre, que les impôts exigés avaient été versés à la Couronne. (Source : Geoff Egan, « Lead Cloth Seals and Related Items in the British Museum », British Museum Occasional Papers 93, Londres, 1995, 1, 23.)  

2.  Éminent capitaine français, Charles de Menou d'Aulnay (v. 1604–1650) joua un rôle clé dans la colonisation de l'Acadie. Il dirigea La Hève (LaHave) et Port-Royal en 1636, puis devint gouverneur de l'Acadie en 1647. Pendant une période de 14 ans, il supervisa la construction d'ouvrages de fortification, de moulins et d'écoles avant de se lancer dans la construction de bateaux. On lui doit l'assèchement de plusieurs marais par un réseau de digues et d'aboiteaux qui permirent aux colons de survivre par l'agriculture. Grand architecte de la colonisation française au Canada, D'Aulnay fut désigné personne d'importance historique nationale en 1972. Une plaque érigée au lieu historique national du Fort-Anne commémore son œuvre.