16th Century Workers
16th Century Workers
©Parks Canada

Interpretation facilities at Red Bay provide an excellent means of discovering Labrador's unique 16th -century history. Scale models of work buildings, reproductions, photographs and a feature film help you understand the activities that occurred in 16th -century Red Bay. A friendly and helpful staff is also on hand to answer your questions. Displays of original artifacts recovered from archaeological excavations include a chalupa , tools and weapons employed by the Basques in whaling activities, household and personal items, and remarkable well-preserved examples of 16th -century clothing.

For a first-hand look at the places where the Basques worked and lived 400 years ago you may embark on a self-guided tour of nearby Saddle Island.

Map of Saddle Island
Enlarge

Map of Saddle Island
©Parks Canada

Life "On the Labrador"

"On the Labrador" is a phrase used historically by fishermen who made seasonal voyages to the Labrador coast. Find out for yourself what life On the Labrador is like today as you explore the community of Red Bay. You will find that while modern times have brought many changes, the traditional character is still strong.

Other communities and historic sites near Red Bay, connected by a paved highway, provide numerous opportunities to discover other aspects of Labrador's culture and to explore its pristine natural environment.

Echos from the past

Echos from the past
Echos from the past
© Parks Canada


Between 1530 and 1600, at least 15 Basque whaling ships and as many as 2000 men voyaged across the turbulent Atlantic each season to capture right and bowhead whales in the Strait of Belle Isle. Whales were plentiful in the coastal waters between the island of Newfoundland and the Labrador coast then. Many whales were hunted and transformed into oil for the lucrative European market. After a five minute boat ride, 16th-century Basque whalers welcome you to Saddle Island. They’ll share tales of hardship and survival, of terrible shipwrecks and great fortunes, most based on actual historic events and people. You’ll visit the location where rendering ovens once reduced blubber into oil along with cooperages where barrels were made to ship the prized oil to Europe. See the site of former workshops, temporary dwellings, and wharves and feel moved by the Basque burial ground, containing over 60 graves. Don’t miss this remarkable journey into Basque whaling life.

Available by reservation during operating season, June – September 

Away in the Grand Bay

Feel the real life sacrifices of Basque whalers from those who made the long voyage to Labrador, and from the loved ones they left behind. You might encounter Ana, wife of Juan Martinez de Larrume, a whaler from the Basque port of Orio. She’ll share her poignant story of searching for her husband, who sailed away to Grand Bay, never to return. Most ships landed on the coast as soon as the ice melted, and left when winter returned. Juan's ship remained in Labrador late into the fall in order to extend the poor whaling season. Trapped all winter by ice in Red Bay, rescue crews were unable to reach him with provisions in time, and he perished in 1577. As you listen to these poignant stories, and see personal possessions recovered from storm-battered ships, you’ll understand the human side of Basque whaling life.

Available during operating season, June – September

Red Bay’s Weird and Wonderful

Join us in the Interpretation Centre to uncover the stories behind some of our one-of-a-kind objects, including both bizarre and beautiful artifacts of Basque life. Hand-picked by staff from our collection is a ship’s binnacle: the box that once housed delicate navigational instruments on the ship’s deck that were sealed like the hull of the ship. It was found along with an hour glass, compass and log chip and reel. You can see the scorch marks on the interior where a candle or lamp was used to read the compass at night. It is the most complete binnacle known and the only example in Canada. You’ll also see rat bones from the Norwegian black rat that lived aboard the San Juan. It was the only loss of life when the ship ran aground. Staff will also unveil the story behind very delicate glass (possibly Catalonian) restored by conservators, and more artifacts recalling 80 years of Basque whaling life.

Available during operating season, June – September

Digging through Time

Archaeology has been a passion at Red Bay for more than 30 years. In mid-1970s, the research of historian Dr. Selma Barkham uncovered a forgotten chapter in Canadian history and creating a vivid picture of an extensive 16th-century Basque whaling network on the north shore of the Strait of Belle Isle. Underwater archaeological excavation at Red Bay began in 1978. Four well preserved 16th century Basque whaling galleons and four small whaling craft have been found, making it one of the most significant marine archaeological finds in North America. Here’s your chance to explore whaling life and work on Saddle Island, alongside a Parks Canada interpreter who worked with the land and underwater archaeology teams. It’s a rare, inside look at Red Bay’s most precious sites and artifacts. See where the whalers lived and worked, rendering blubber into oil, along with a Basque gravesite, and cooperages.

Available by reservation during operating season, June – September

Travaillants du 16e sicèle
Travaillants du 16e sicèle
©Parcs Canada

Les installations d'interprétation de Red Bay sont un excellent moyen de découvrir l'histoire extraordinaire du Labrador au XVIe siècle.

Des maquettes de bâtiments de travail, des reproductions, des photographies et un film vous permettront de comprendre les activités qui se déroulaient à Red Bay à cette époque. Le personnel accueillant se fera un plaisir de répondre à vos questions.

Parmi les objets exposés qui ont été découverts au cours de fouilles archéologiques, mentionnons la Chalupa, des outils et des armes que les Basques utilisaient pour la pêche et la transformation de la baleine, des articles ménagers, des objets personnels et des vêtements d'époque remarquablement bien conservés.

Pour découvrir vous-même les endroits où les Basques ont vécu et travaillé il y a 400 ans, nous vous proposons de faire une visite auto-guidée de l'île Saddle toute proche.

Carte de l'Île Saddle
Agrandissez

Carte de l'Île Saddle
©Parcs Canada

La vie « sur le Labrador »

Les pêcheurs avaient l'habitude de dire « sur le Labrador » en parlant de la région côtière où leurs voyages saisonniers les conduisaient. Découvrez ce qu'est aujourd'hui la vie « sur le Labrador » en visitant la localité de Red Bay. Si le port s'est beaucoup modernisé depuis les années 1500, il a su néanmoins conserver son cachet traditionnel.

Les autres collectivités et lieux historiques situés non loin de Red Bay sont reliés par une route pavée. Ils vous feront découvrir d'autres façettes de la culture du Labrador et un environnement naturel magnifique, qui a conservé son état originel.

Les échos du passé

Les échos du passé
Les échos du passé
© Parcs Canada


Entre 1530 et 1600, au moins 15 navires de chasse à la baleine basques et jusqu’à 2000 hommes voyageaient chaque saison sur les eaux tumultueuses de l’Atlantique, dans l’espoir de capturer des baleines franches et boréales dans le détroit de Belle-Isle. À cette époque, les baleines abondaient dans les eaux côtières entre l’île de Terre-Neuve et la côte du Labrador. Plusieurs baleines étaient chassées et transformées en huile destinée au lucratif marché européen. Après une traversée de cinq minutes en bateau, vous arrivez à l’île Saddle. Rencontrez là des baleiniers basques du XVIe siècle qui vous raconteront leur vie ponctuée d’épreuves, d’exemples de survie, de terribles naufrages et de grandes fortunes qui découlent pour la plupart de réels événements historiques. Vous visiterez l’endroit des fonderies où l’on transformait les grandes tranches de lard en huile, ainsi que les tonnelleries où l’on fabriquait les fûts afin d’expédier l’huile vers l’Europe. Voyez le site des anciens ateliers, les logements temporaires, ainsi que les quais et laissez-vous émouvoir par le cimetière basque où l’on trouve plus de 60 sépultures. Ne ratez pas ce voyage mémorable dans la vie des baleiniers basques !

Sur réservation pendant la saison d’activités, soit de juin à septembre.

Éprouvez des émotions fortes dans la Grande Baie

Ressentez les réels sacrifices des baleiniers basques en route pour leur long voyage au Labrador et ceux des êtres chers qu’ils ont laissés derrière eux. Vous rencontrerez possiblement Ana, l’épouse de Juan Martinez de Larrume, un baleinier du port basque d’Orio qui avait entrepris le voyage jusqu’à Grande Baie et qui n’est jamais revenu. Cette dernière vous racontera le récit émouvant de ce qu’elle a vécu en tentant de retrouver son mari. La majorité des navires accostaient sur les côtes du Labrador à la fonte des glaces et repartaient dès la venue de l’hiver. Pour lui permettre de prolonger sa maigre saison de chasse à la baleine, Juan est demeuré au Labrador avec son navire jusque tard en automne. Les équipes de sauvetage, emprisonnées tout l’hiver dans la glace à Red Bay, n’ont pu lui apporter des provisions à temps, de sorte qu’il a péri en 1577. Écoutez ces récits émouvants et voyez les objets personnels récupérés des navires en proie aux pires tempêtes. Vous comprendrez mieux la vie impitoyable des baleiniers basques.

Pendant la saison d’activités, soit de juin à septembre.

Découvrez les objets étranges de Red Bay

Au centre d’interprétation, découvrez les histoires d’objets uniques, d’artéfacts à la fois bizarres et superbes reflétant la vie basque. Parmi ces objets figure l’habitacle d’un navire, soit un espace scellé qui, sur le pont du navire, a déjà contenu des instruments de navigation délicats. Le personnel du site a aussi découvert un sablier, une boussole, un loch et un moulinet. À l’intérieur, vous pourrez voir les marques roussies à l’endroit où l’on utilisait une bougie ou une lampe pour regarder la boussole la nuit. Il s’agit de l’habitacle le plus complet qu’on connaisse et le seul exemple au Canada. Vous verrez également des os du rat noir de Norvège qui vivait à bord du San Juan. Il s’agit de l’unique perte de vie déplorée au moment de l’échouage de ce navire. Le personnel vous racontera l’histoire d’un verre très délicat (possiblement de Catalogne) que les restaurateurs ont réparé ainsi que celle d’autres d’artéfacts rappelant les 80 années de vie des baleiniers basques.

Pendant la saison d’activités, soit de juin à septembre.

Partagez les découvertes des archéologues à Red Bay

L’archéologie représente une passion à Red Bay depuis plus de 30 ans. Au milieu des années 1970, la recherche de l’historienne Selma Barkham a permis de créer une image vivante d’un vaste réseau de chasse à la baleine basque du XVIe siècle, sur la rive nord du détroit de Belle-Isle. Les travaux sous-marins d’excavation archéologiques à Red Bay ont débuté en 1978. Quatre galions de chasse à la baleine basques du XVIe siècle et quatre petites embarcations de chasse à la baleine ont été mis au jour, ce qui en fait l’une des découvertes archéologiques marines les plus importantes en Amérique du Nord. Saisissez cette chance d’explorer la vie et le travail des baleiniers sur l’île Saddle à coté d’un animateur-guide de Parcs Canada qui a collaboré avec les équipes d’archéologues terrestres et sous-marins. Vous aurez un aperçu rare des sites et des artéfacts précieux de Red Bay. Voyez l’endroit où les baleiniers vivaient et travaillaient, transformant le petit lard en huile, ainsi que le cimetière basque et les tonnelleries.

Sur réservation pendant la saison d’activités, de juin à septembre.