Travel back to 1896 when wealth was measured in fur pelts and salmon, the natural bounty bartered by the Carrier First Nations and European fur traders at Fort St. James. Tour Canada’s largest collection of wooden buildings faithfully restored to the fur trade era. Spend the night in the historic Murray house warmed by a wood stove and memories of the family who lived here more than a century ago.

Featured things to do

Take the “Escape the Fort'' challenge
Take the “Escape the Fort'' challenge

Search the entire Fort grounds with clues like ''Where is AC Murray now?'' or hit the bull’s-eye and play a game of graces. If you complete the challenge you will get 20% off in our café to try the legendary rack of ribs or delicious salmon!

World class chicken racing

Flock to the famous chicken races held daily on a special track in a lakefront field at Fort St. James. Bet your chicken bucks on a top-flight bird and get pinned with a winner’s button.

Spend the night in 1896

Sleep in the historic home of the fort’s former chief factor, just as it was in 1896, down to the bedding, wood stove and chamber pot. Enjoy after-hours free rein of the fort.

Getting here

280 Kwah Rd. West
PO Box 1148
Fort St. James BC  V0J 1P0

Hours of operation

June 1 to September 21
Every day, from 9 am to 5 pm

*Open all year round for self-guided walks of the historic site grounds, interpretive tours available by appointment.

Fees

Free admission in 2017. Other fees still apply.
Detailed fees list

Contact us

Telephone:
250-996-7191
Email: stjames@pc.gc.ca

Sites nearby

  • Fort Langley National Historic Site

    Experience life as a 19th century voyageur at Fort Langley, where the colony of British Columbia was born. Mingle with fur traders, pan for gold, learn the blacksmith’s art and camp in an HBC-themed oTENTik.

  • Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haida Heritage Site

    Amid lush rainforest islands and seas rich with wildlife, Gwaii Haanas harbours rare sites of carved poles and longhouses, making this park culturally important to the Haida people who co-manage cooperatively manage the region with Parks Canada.

  • Jasper National Park

    Jasper astonishes visitors with its vast wilderness, dotted with glaciers, lakes, waterfalls, rivers, mountains and deep-cut canyons. Hike, paddle, swim, ski, fish, and take in soothing hot springs, scenic drives and extraordinary wildlife.

Remontez jusqu’en 1896, alors que la Première Nation des Porteurs et les commerçants européens troquaient fourrures et saumons au fort St. James et que ces ressources naturelles abondantes étaient signe de richesse. Visitez le plus important groupe de bâtiments en bois du Canada, restaurés conformément au style de l’époque de la traite des fourrures. Passez la nuit dans la résidence historique des Murray, chauffée au poêle à bois et où vous attendent des souvenirs rappelant la famille qui y a habité il y a plus d’un siècle.

En vedette

Take the “Escape the Fort'' challenge
Relevez le défi : « Évadez-vous du fort! »

Découvrez tous les recoins du fort en répondant à des questions telles que « Où se trouve maintenant A.C. Murray? », visez et atteignez une cible ou encore faites une partie de jeu des grâces! Les gagnants obtiennent un rabais de 20 % à notre café.

Courses de poulets de grand prestige

Pressez-vous pour assister aux fameuses courses de poulets organisées quotidiennement sur une piste spécialement aménagée dans un champ du fort St. James, en bordure du lac. Misez vos jetons sur l’oiseau vainqueur et obtenez l’épinglette du gagnant.

Vivez une nuit de 1896

Dormez dans la résidence historique de l’ancien chef traiteur du fort, exactement comme en 1896… literie, poêle à bois et pot de chambre compris! Savourez ce moment tel un chef du fort, après les heures d’ouverture.

Comment s’y rendre

280 rue Kwah Ouest
CP 1148
Fort St. James BC  VOJ 1P0

Heures d’ouverture

Du 1er juin au 21 septembre
Tous les jours, de 9 h à 17 h

*Ouvert à l’année pour les promenades autoguidées sur la propriété historique. Visites guidées d’interprétation offertes sur rendez-vous.

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite en 2017. Les autres frais s’appliquent.
Tarification complète

Nous joindre

Téléphone :
250-996-8566
Courriel : stjames@pc.gc.ca

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national du Fort-Langley

    Vivez dans la peau d'un voyageur du XIXe siècle au fort Langley, lieu de naissance de la colonie de la Colombie-Britannique. Mêlez-vous aux commerçants de fourrures, venez laver de l'or à la batée et découvrez l'art du forgeron.

  • Réserve de parc national, réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation, et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas

    Au milieu des îles, des mers et de la forêt tropicale luxuriante abritant toutes sortes d’espèces sauvages, le parc national Gwaii Haanas offre des sites exceptionnels où se trouvent des mâts sculptés et des habitations traditionnelles, ce qui en fait un lieu d'une grande importance culturelle pour le peuple Haida, qui d'ailleurs en assume conjointement l’intendance avec Parcs Canada.

  • Parc national Jasper

    Émerveillez-vous devant cet océan de nature sauvage parsemé de glaciers, de lacs, de chutes, de rivières, de montagnes et de canyons abrupts et profonds. Adonnez-vous à la randonnée, au canot, à la baignade, au ski et à la pêche et profitez des sources thermales apaisantes, des routes panoramiques et de la faune extraordinaire.