When three railway workers stumbled upon a cave full of hot mineral spring waters in 1883, they inadvertently helped create Canada’s first national park. Explore the Cave and Basin, the trails, the historic buildings and the state of the art exhibits.

Banff National Park was the first national park in Canada and it all started with steam venting from a crack in the rocks on the side of a mountain. Indigenous Peoples had known of this site for thousands of years but when a trio of railway workers in 1883 noticed the vent leading to a large cavern full of mineral rich warm water they saw a chance to make money. A small structure was built so paying guests could come “Take the waters” or enjoy a warm soak.

When applying for land titles, the entrepreneurs were denied ownership. The Government of Canada saw this as the perfect first step in creating a national park system. The hot springs and 16 square kilometres surrounding the site were deemed off-limits for sale or settlement. Soon the park boundaries were widened. A town, a bridge over the Bow River and a hotel were constructed so the public could access the Cave and Basin.

Now, the Cave and Basin and the entire Banff National Park is the crowning glory of the Canadian National Parks system and is a part of the UNESCO Rocky Mountain Parks World Heritage Site.

En 1883, lorsque trois cheminots tombèrent sur une caverne remplie d’eau chaude provenant de sources minérales, ils contribuèrent sans le savoir à la création du premier parc national du Canada. Explorez la caverne Cave and Basin, les sentiers, les bâtiments historiques et les expositions ultramodernes.

Le parc national Banff fut la première aire protégée du Canada. Tout commença par un jet de vapeur émanant d’une fissure dans la roche, sur le flanc d’une montagne. Les peuples autochtones connaissaient ce lieu depuis des milliers d’années, mais, lorsque les trois travailleurs ferroviaires remarquèrent en 1883 le trou d’aération menant à une grande caverne remplie d’eau minérale chaude, ils y virent une occasion de faire fortune. Ils y construisirent un petit bâtiment où les clients payaient pour venir « prendre les eaux ».

Les entrepreneurs revendiquèrent le titre foncier, mais leur demande fut rejetée, le gouvernement du Canada voyant dans cette caverne la possibilité de créer un réseau de parcs nationaux. Les sources thermales et la propriété de 16 km2 qui l’entoure furent frappées d’un interdit de vente et de colonisation. Les limites du parc ne tardèrent pas à être agrandies. Une ville, un pont au-dessus de la rivière Bow et un hôtel furent construits dans les environs pour que le public puisse avoir accès aux sources thermales Cave and Basin.

Aujourd’hui, le lieu historique national Cave and Basin et le parc national Banff tout entier représentent les fleurons du réseau de parcs nationaux canadiens, et ils font partie du site du patrimoine mondial des parcs des Rocheuses canadiennes, l’un des trésors de l’UNESCO.