Experience nature, culture and history just minutes from Banff Avenue. Impressive architecture, bubbling mineral waters, and an accessible underground cave gave rise to a huge idea, the birthplace of Canada’s national parks—one of Canada’s most treasured icons.

Dates
  • Year round
  • Program lasts 1 hour
  • Group reservations are required
Price

Parks Canada is pleased to offer free admission to our places in 2017. Regular fees still apply for experiences and services, such as guided tours, hikes and programs that are not usually included with admission.

  • GST included
  • Program Fee $73.60 per group of 28 max, per hour per interpreter $3.40/person, starting January 2018
Details

As the birthplace of Canada’s National Parks, Cave and Basin NHS connects visitors to the essence of Banff National Park, through nature, culture and history. The sulphurous hot springs were used by First Nations for millennia, gathering here for trade and bathing in the healing waters. When the springs were “re-discovered” in 1883, they soon became a major draw for international visitors. On the Discovery Tour, visitors dip their hands in steamy thermal waters, take an easy boardwalk stroll over pristine marshlands, and learn about Banff's storied past all in the location that started one of the world’s greatest conservation movements.

On a five-stop guided outdoor journey, learn how three railway workers discovered liquid gold in the form of thermal pools; experience the grandeur of the 1914 historic bathing pavilion where swimmers first dipped their toes in the warm waters, leading to the later development of world-famous Banff Upper Hot Springs. After the tour, explore the interactive exhibits of Story Hall and enjoy a giant 4-screen, HD journey through Canada’s stunning protected areas and see the dancing lights of the underground Cave, the place that started it all.

Independent leisure travellers can explore the site at their own pace. Visit the events calendar for new exhibits, special events, and activities.

Reserve

Special Notes

  • Group reservations are required
  • This experience is outdoors, be prepared, weather can change at any time
  • Site has limited accessibility; Discovery Tour includes stairs and boardwalks, please inquire for accessible Discovery Tour
  • Maximum 28 per guide
Travel trade
  • Suitable for large groups, maximum 28 per guide
  • Suitable for small groups
  • Suitable for FIT(Fully Independent Travelers)
  • Group reservations are required
  • Available in French upon request
  • Motorcoach parking available
  • On site café
  • Washrooms on site
  • Gift shop located in Welcome Centre
Canadian Signature Experience canadienne distinctive

This experience is part of Destination Canada’s Canadian Signature Experiences collection, which shows the world the best that Canada has to offer.

See all of Parks Canada’s Canadian Signature Experiences

Experience nature, culture and history just minutes from Banff Avenue. Impressive architecture, bubbling mineral waters, and an accessible underground cave gave rise to a huge idea, the birthplace of Canada’s national parks—one of Canada’s most treasured icons.

Dates
  • Toute l’année
  • La visite guidée dure une heure
  • Les réservations sont obligatoires pour les groupes
Price

Parcs Canada a l’honneur d’offrir un accès gratuit à ses aires protégées en 2017. Les droits ordinaires continuent de s’appliquer pour les expériences et les services, par exemple les visites guidées, les randonnées et les programmes habituellement non compris dans les droits d’entrée.

  • TPS comprise
  • Droits : 73,60 $ l’heure par interprète, par groupe d’au plus 28 personnes 3,40 $ par personne, à compter de janvier 2018
Details

Berceau des parcs nationaux du Canada, le lieu historique national Cave and Basin rapproche les visiteurs de l’essence du parc national Banff par la nature, la culture et l’histoire. Pendant des millénaires, les Premières Nations ont fréquenté les sources thermales sulfureuses; elles s’y rassemblaient pour faire des échanges commerciaux et pour profiter de leur pouvoir curatif. Quand elles ont été « redécouvertes » en 1883, les sources thermales sont vite devenues une attraction importante pour les visiteurs des quatre coins de la planète. Pendant la visite guidée de la Découverte, les visiteurs trempent la main dans des eaux chaudes vaporeuses, font une balade facile sur un trottoir de bois au-dessus d’un marais inviolé et découvrent différents chapitres de l’histoire de Banff à l’endroit même qui a vu naître l’un des plus grands mouvements de conservation de la planète.

Au cours d’une visite guidée à cinq haltes en plein air, explorez le récit des trois ouvriers du chemin de fer qui ont découvert de l’or liquide sous la forme de bassins d’eaux minérales chaudes; faites l’expérience de la splendeur du pavillon de bain historique de 1914, le premier à accueillir les baigneurs désireux de plonger l’orteil dans les eaux chaudes et le précurseur du célèbre complexe des sources thermales Upper Hot Springs de Banff. Après la visite guidée, explorez les expositions interactives de la Salle des récits, faites une tournée en HD des magnifiques aires protégées du Canada à l’aide de quatre écrans géants, et admirez les lueurs dansantes de la caverne souterraine, là où tout a commencé.

Les voyageurs d’agrément indépendants peuvent explorer les lieux à leur propre rythme. Consultez le calendrier des activités pour vous renseigner sur les expositions et les activités à venir.

Reserve

Special Notes

  • Les réservations sont obligatoires pour les groupes.
  • L’activité a lieu en plein air. Il faut bien se préparer; les conditions météorologiques peuvent changer en tout temps.
  • Seules certaines installations du lieu historique sont faciles d’accès. Le parcours de la visite guidée de la Découverte comporte des escaliers et des trottoirs de bois. Renseignez-vous sur les visites guidées de la Découverte adaptées aux personnes à mobilité réduite.
  • Il ne peut y avoir plus de 28 personnes par guide.
Travel trade
  • Convient aux groupes nombreux; maximum de 28 personnes par guide
  • Convient aux petits groupes
  • Convient aux voyageurs indépendants
  • Réservations obligatoires pour les groupes 
  • Visite guidée offerte en français sur demande 
  • Places de stationnement pour autocars 
  • Café sur place
  • Toilettes sur place
  • Boutique de cadeaux dans le bâtiment d’accueil 
     
Canadian Signature Experience canadienne distinctive

Cette expérience fait partie de la collection d'expériences canadiennes distinctives de Destination Canada, qui présente au monde ce que le Canada a de mieux à offrir.

Voyez toutes les expériences canadiennes distinctives de Parcs Canada