Mistaken Point, Newfoundland and Labrador

Smooth cliff marked with fossils with water in the background
Main exposure of Mistaken Point’s iconic E Surface. Over 4,000 large, beautifully-preserved Ediacara-type fossils are present here, and more are being revealed as the coarse volcanic ash overlying them (black areas) wears away
© Barrett and MacKay Photography

Date of inscription: 2016

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

Criterion (viii): Mistaken Point fossils constitute an outstanding record of a critical milestone in the history of life on Earth, “when life got big” after almost three billion years of microbe-dominated evolution. The fossils range in age from 580 to 560 million years, the longest continuous record of Ediacara-type megafossils anywhere, and predate the Cambrian explosion (the oldest fossil evidence of ancestors of most modern animal groups) by more than 40 million years. Mistaken Point contains the world’s oldest-known examples of large (up to 2 metres long), architecturally complex organisms, including soft-bodied, ancestral animals. Ecologically, Mistaken Point contains the oldest and most diverse examples of Ediacaran deep-sea communities in the world and the earliest documented examples of ecological tiering and secondary community succession. Other attributes contributing to the property’s Outstanding Universal Value include the world’s first examples of metazoan locomotion, exceptional potential for radiometric dating of the assemblages, and evidence for the role of ancient oxygen levels in the regional and global appearance of complex multicellular life.

Description


Main outcrop of the famous D (green) and E (red) fossil-bearing surfaces (centre right) of the Mistaken Point Formation
© Barrett and MacKay Photography

Mistaken Point is a globally significant fossil site on the southeastern tip of the island of Newfoundland. The World Heritage site is almost entirely located within Mistaken Point Ecological Reserve, where more than 10,000 fossil impressions, ranging from a few centimetres to nearly 2 metres in length, are readily accessible for scientific study and supervised viewing by visitors to the scenic, rugged Atlantic coastline.

The fossils at Mistaken Point illustrate a critical time in the history of life: the first appearance of large, biologically complex organisms, including the first ancestral animals. These soft-bodied creatures lived during the middle Ediacaran Period (580 to 560 million years ago) and inhabited the deep sea floor of an ancient ocean where they were buried and preserved in exceptional detail by influxes of volcanic ash. The animals died where they lived, and after being hidden for hundreds of millions of years, were gradually exposed by the forces of modern erosion revealing more than 100 fossil sea-floor surfaces, ranging from small beds with single fossils to tennis-court-sized surfaces adorned with up to 4,500 megafossils.

The exquisitely preserved fossils at Mistaken Point make up the most abundant and diverse assemblage of large Ediacaran fossils of deep marine origin known anywhere in the world and provide a detailed chronology for 20 million years in the early evolution of complex life.

Mistaken Point, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Falaise à surface lisse et imprégnées de fossiles avec une vue sur la mer en arrière-plan
Principale exposition de l’emblématique surface E de Mistaken Point. Il s’y trouve plus de 4 000 grands fossiles édicariens, magnifiquement préservés, et d’autres fossiles se révèlent à mesure que les cendres volcaniques grossières qui les recouvrent (zones noires) disparaissent
© Barrett and MacKay Photography

Date d’inscription : 2016

Justification de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

Critère (viii) : Les fossiles de Mistaken Point sont des vestiges exceptionnels d’un important moment de l’histoire de la vie sur Terre, quand « la vie grandit », après près de trois milliards d’années d’une évolution dominée par les microorganismes. Les fossiles datent d’entre 580 et 560 millions d’années et constituent le registre continu le plus long de mégafossiles de l’Édiacarien du monde. Ils précèdent de plus de 40 millions d’années l’explosion du Cambrien, qui a livré les restes fossilisés des ancêtres de la plupart des groupes d’animaux modernes. Mistaken Point renferme les plus vieux exemples connus du monde de grands organismes (jusqu’à deux mètres de long) à l’architecture complexe, y compris des animaux ancestraux à corps mou. Du point de vue écologique, Mistaken Point contient les exemples les plus vieux et les plus divers de communautés édiacariennes ayant vécu en eau profonde de la planète et les premiers exemples documentés de l’étagement écologique et de la succession secondaire des communautés. D’autres attributs contribuent à la valeur universelle exceptionnelle du bien, dont les premiers exemples dans le monde de la locomotion chez les métazoaires, le potentiel exceptionnel de datation radiométrique des assemblages et les preuves du rôle des anciens niveaux d’oxygène dans l’apparition régionale et planétaire de la vie multicellulaire complexe.

Description

Falaises côtières au relief accidenté avec une vue sur la mer en arrière-plan
Affleurement principal des célèbres surfaces fossilifères D (vert) et E (rouge) (au centre à droite) de la formation de Mistaken Point
© Barrett and MacKay Photography

Mistaken Point est un site fossilifère d’importance mondiale à l’extrémité sud-est de l’île de Terre-Neuve. Le site du patrimoine mondial se situe presque entièrement dans la réserve écologique de Mistaken Point, où plus de 10 000 empreintes fossiles, de quelques centimètres à près de deux mètres de long, sont facilement accessibles aux chercheurs scientifiques ainsi qu’aux visiteurs, qui peuvent les admirer sous supervision, dans le panorama de la côte accidentée de l’Atlantique.

Les fossiles à Mistaken Point illustrent un moment crucial de l’histoire de la vie : l’apparition de grands organismes biologiquement complexes, y compris les premiers animaux ancestraux. Ces créatures à corps mou vivaient à l’époque de l’Édiacarien moyen (il y a 580 à 560 millions d’années), dans le fond des eaux profondes d’un ancien océan où elles ont été enfouies et préservées de façon exceptionnelle par des apports de cendres volcaniques. Les animaux sont morts là où ils ont vécus, et, après avoir été ensevelis durant des centaines de millions d’années, l’érosion les a progressivement exposés, découvrant plus de 100 surfaces fossilifères du fond marin, allant de petits gisements d’un seul fossile à des surfaces de la taille d’un terrain de tennis pouvant porter 4 500 mégafossiles.

Les fossiles préservés dans les moindres détails de Mistaken Point forment l’assemblage le plus abondant et diversifié de grands fossiles édiacariens des profondeurs marines connus dans le monde, et ils fournissent une chronologie détaillée sur 20 millions d’années des débuts de l’évolution des formes complexes de vie.