View of two locks in the evening beside tree-lined shore. Jones Falls Lock Station, Rideau Canal World Heritage site

Rideau Canal, Ontario

Two large recreational boats with their owners sitting in a full lock. A train is visible on a bridge in the background. Kingston Mills Lock Station, Rideau Canal World Heritage site
Two kayakers paddle on the Rideau Canal in Ottawa beside the National Arts Centre. A large American recreational boat (the Integrity) is visible as is the Peace Tower and East Block of Parliament Hill. Kayaking on the Rideau Canal
© Ottawa Tourism

Date of Inscription: 2007

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

The Rideau Canal was designated as a World Heritage site by UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee under the following criteria:

Criterion (i): The Rideau Canal remains the best preserved example of a slackwater canal in North America demonstrating the use of European slackwater technology in North America on a large scale. It is the only canal dating from the great North American canal-building era of the early 19th century that remains operational along its original line with most of its original structures intact.

Criterion (iv): The Rideau Canal is an extensive, well preserved and significant example of a canal which was used for military purposes linked to a significant stage in human history - that of the fight to control the north of the American continent.

Description

The Rideau Canal is a recreational paradise, attracting visitors from across North America and beyond to travel its 202 km length and explore its historic engineering and military feats at 24 unique lockstations . Consisting of a series of beautiful lakes and rivers connected by canals, it stretches from Kingston to Ottawa, Canada’s capital, and is the oldest continuously operated canal in North America.

This engineering marvel and the fortifications built at Kingston to protect it were constructed at a time when Great Britain and the United States of America vied for control of the north of the American continent. Conceived in the wake of the War of 1812, it was to be a war-time supply route providing a secure water route for troops and supplies from Montreal to reach the settlements of Upper Canada and the strategic naval dockyard at Kingston. Through a stroke of brilliance, Lt. Col. John By of the British Royal Engineers envisioned and built a canal that would join the Cataraqui and Rideau Rivers. Thousands of Irish immigrants, French Canadians and Scottish stonemasons were among the labourers who helped push the canal through the rough bush, swamps and rocky wilderness of Eastern Ontario. Opened in 1832, the Rideau Canal was one of the greatest engineering feats of the 19th century, and today is the best-preserved ‘slackwater’ canal in North America, and the only canal from the great 19th-century canal-building era that still operates along its original route and with most of its original structures intact.

When the fear of war passed, the canal soon became a major artery for regional commerce. Today, the log rafts, barges and steamers have given way to pleasure boats and paddlers, while scenic driving, cycling and hiking routes along the waterway provide easy access to the lockstations by land.

More Information

Parks Canada:

Rideau Canada National Historic Site

Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada

World Heritage Centre:

World Heritage - Rideau Canal

Deux écluses en soirée près de la berge bordée d’arbres. Poste d’éclusage de Jones Falls, canal Rideau, site du patrimoine mondial

Canal Rideau, Ontario

Deux imposantes embarcations de plaisance et leurs propriétaires assis près d’un poste d’éclusage complet. Un train sur un pont est visible en arrière plan. Poste d’éclusage de Kingston Mills, canal Rideau, site du patrimoine mondial
Deux kayakistes pagaient sur le canal Rideau à Ottawa à côté du Centre national des Arts. Au loin, on voit une grosse embarcation de plaisance (l’Integrity), la Tour de la Paix et l’édifice de l’Est sur la Colline du Parlement. Kayak sur le canal Rideau
© Tourisme Ottawa

Date d’inscripti on : 2007

Justification de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

Le Canal Rideau en Ontario, a été inscrite sur la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial par le Comité du patrimoine mondial, pour la raison ci-dessous :

Critère (i) : Le canal Rideau reste l'exemple de canal en plans d'eau (slackwater canal) le mieux préservé d'Amérique du Nord, et il illustre l'utilisation à grande échelle de cette technologie européenne en Amérique du Nord. C'est le seul canal datant de la grande époque de construction de canaux en Amérique du Nord, au début du XIXe siècle, qui soit encore opérationnel sur son parcours initial et qui conserve intactes la plupart de ses structures d'origine.

Critère (iv) : Le canal Rideau est un exemple de grande envergure, bien préservé et significatif de canal utilisé à des fins militaires et illustrant une période significative de l'histoire humaine, celle de la lutte pour le contrôle du nord du continent américain.

Description

Le canal Rideau est un véritable paradis pour les activités récréatives et il attire des visiteurs de partout en Amérique du Nord et d'ailleurs, qui viennent parcourir son tracé de 202 kilomètres et découvrir ses 24 écluses qui témoignent de merveilles d'ingénierie historique et de hauts faits militaires. Composé de rivières et de lacs magnifiques reliés par des canaux, le canal Rideau s'étend de Kingston à Ottawa, la capitale du Canada, et il est le plus ancien canal à avoir été utilisé de façon continue en Amérique du Nord.

Cette merveille de l’ingénierie et les fortifications construites à Kingston pour la protéger illustrent ensemble une époque où la Grande-Bretagne et les États-Unis se disputaient le contrôle de la partie nord du continent américain. La construction du canal Rideau est une conséquence de la guerre de 1812 avec les États-Unis. En cas de conflit armé, le canal devait constituer une voie de transport alternative qui permettrait aux troupes et aux approvisionnements expédiés à partir de Montréal d’atteindre en sécurité le Haut-Canada et l’important chantier naval de Kingston. Grâce à son génie créateur, le lieutenant-colonel John By des British Royal Engineers a conçu et construit un canal reliant les rivières Cataraqui et Rideau. Des milliers d’immigrants irlandais et de Canadiens français comptaient parmi tous ces travailleurs qui ont percé les bois, les marécages et le relief sauvage et rocheux de l’Est de l’Ontario. Le canal a été terminé en 1832; c’est l’un des ouvrages du génie les plus remarquables du XIXe siècle. Aujourd’hui, le canal Rideau est le canal à plans d’eau successifs le mieux conservé d’Amérique du Nord et le seul canal datant de la grande époque de la construction des canaux au XIXe siècle qui est encore utilisé aujourd’hui sur son tracé original, et dont la plupart des structures d’époque sont intactes.

Après que la crainte d’une guerre se soit estompée, le canal Rideau devint l’une des principales artères commerciales de la région. Aujourd'hui, les trains de bois, les barges et les navires à vapeur ont cédé la place aux embarcations de plaisance; les routes panoramiques, les pistes cyclables et les sentiers de randonnées situés le long de la voie navigable donnent maintenant un accès facile aux écluses par voie terrestre.

Plus d'information

Parcs Canada :

Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau

Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada

Centre du patrimoine mondial :

Canal Rideau