On a rocky beach a female staff member holds a small round fossil in front of three children: two boys and a girl. A young girl looks on which three adults stand in the background. Education at Miguasha: Sharing knowledge with visitors of all ages is part of the mission of Miguasha National Park.
© Sépaq

Please note that Miguasha is National Park of Quebec, not a National Park of Canada. The free entry for National Parks of Canada in 2017 does not apply to Miguasha National Park.

Miguasha National Park, Quebec

A fossilized fish rests on a blue wooden surface in front of a dark background The Prince of Miguasha: The fish, Eusthenopteron foordi, nicknamed the Prince of Miguasha, is the best known fossil at Miguasha.
© Sépaq
A fossilized fish rests on a blue wooden surface in front of a dark background. Museum at Miguasha: The natural history museum is an institution dedicated to presenting the rich fossil heritage of Miguasha National Park.
© Sépaq

Date of Inscription: 1999

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

Miguasha National Park was designated as a World Heritage site by UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee under the following criterion:

Criterion (viii): In its representation of vertebrate life, Miguasha is the most outstanding fossil site in the world for illustrating the Devonian as the “Age of Fishes”. The area is of paramount importance in having the greatest number and best preserved fossil specimens found anywhere in the world of the lobe-finned fishes that gave rise to the first four-legged, air-breathing terrestrial vertebrates - the tetrapodes.

Description

Some 370 million years ago, what is today the austere coast of the Gaspé Peninsula was a tropical estuary. The craggy peaks of the Appalachians lined the horizon. Primitive trees, scorpions and spiders covered the land. In the warm tidal waters, an astonishing variety of fish thrived. Some were spiny, some armour-plated. Others had lungs and pairs of lobe-like fins that enabled them to crawl across mud flats- and enact one of the major steps in evolution, when fish evolved into four-limbed animals.

We know this today because a two-million-year snapshot of life at the time is preserved in the remarkably rich fossil beds of the Escuminac Formation, which is exposed in a seaside cliff at Miguasha, on the south shore of the Gaspé facing Baie des Chaleurs. There are some 60 such Devonian period fossil sites around the world. But none matches Miguasha in abundance of specimens, quality of fossil preservation and representation of evolutionary events for vertebrates. It is the only Devonian site on the World Heritage List.

There is sufficient biodiversity at Miguasha - scores of species of vertebrates, invertebrates, plants, algae and micro-organisms - for scientists to have constructed an almost complete picture of Devonian life. But it is the 21 species of fish fossils that made Miguasha famous, none more so than Eusthenopteron foordi, the “Prince of Miguasha,” whose limb-like fins and two-way gills-and-lungs respiratory system gave rise to the modern conception of evolution from fish to four-limbed, land-dwelling vertebrates, or tetrapods.

The Miguasha fossil beds were discovered in 1842. Starting in the 1880s, thousands of fossil specimens were collected and shipped to museums and universities around the world, helping to confirm the site’s scientific importance.

More Information

Province of Quebec:

Miguasha Park

World Heritage Centre:

World Heritage - Miguasha Park

Sur une plage rocheuse, une employée tient un petit fossile rond devant trois enfants : deux garçons et une fille. Une jeune fille regarde les trois adultes en arrière-plan. Miguasha Éducation - Le partage des connaissances avec des clientèles de tout âge fait partie de la mission du parc national de Miguasha.
© Sépaq

Veuillez noter que Miguasha est un parc national du Québec, pas un parc national du Canada. L'entrée gratuite pour les parcs nationaux du Canada en 2017 ne s'applique pas au parc national de Miguasha.

Miguasha, Québec

Poisson fossilisé sur une surface de bois bleue devant un arrière-plan foncé. Miguasha fossile Prince - Le poisson Eusthenopteron foordi, surnommé le Prince, le plus célèbre fossile de Miguasha.
© Sépaq
Photo aérienne de lacs entourés d’herbe. Petite rivière bordée d’arbres en avant plan. Miguasha Musée - Le musée d’histoire naturelle est une institution vouée à la mise en valeur du patrimoine fossilifère protégé par le parc national de Miguasha.
© Sépaq

Date d’inscription : 1999

Justification de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

Le parc national Miguasha à Québec, a été inscrite sur la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial par le Comité du patrimoine mondial, pour la raison ci-dessous :

Critère (viii) : Pour son témoignage sur la vie vertébrée et son illustration de l’«âge des poissons» du Dévonien, Miguasha est le site fossilifère le plus exceptionnel du monde. Le site est d’importance capitale car il occupe le premier rang mondial pour le nombre et la qualité de conservation des spécimens fossiles de Sarcoptérygiens qui sont les ancêtres des premiers vertébrés terrestres à quatre pattes et respirant de l’air – les tétrapodes.

Description

Il y a 370 millions d'années, dans la région de Miguasha, située dans la péninsule gaspésienne, coulait un estuaire sous un climat équatorial et, au loin, se dressaient les cimes d'une jeune chaîne de montagnes appelée Appalaches. En bordure de cet estuaire, poussait une forêt d'arbres primitifs où vivaient scorpions et araignées. Au gré des courants et des marées, une faune diversifiée de poissons vivait dans les eaux tièdes de cet estuaire. Certains poissons étaient dotés d'épines rigides, d'autres étaient protégés par une carapace ossifiée. D'autres avaient des poumons et des nageoires paires lobées leur permettant de franchir de courtes distances hors de l'eau. L'acquisition de ces nageoires représente une des plus importantes étapes de l'évolution, soit celle de la transition entre les poissons et les tétrapodes.

Cet épisode marquant dans l’évolution des vertébrés est connu aujourd’hui grâce à une séquence géologique de deux millions d’années, appelée Formation d’Escuminac et conservée dans une falaise située à Miguasha, en bordure de la côte méridionale de la Gaspésie, à l’embouchure de la baie des Chaleurs. Il existe, à l’échelle de la planète, quelque 60 sites fossilifères de la période dévonienne. Miguasha se distingue cependant par l’abondance des spécimens, la qualité de conservation des fossiles et la représentativité des événements évolutifs chez les vertébrés. C’est le seul site dévonien inscrit sur la Liste du patrimoine mondial.

La grande biodiversité de vertébrés, d’invertébrés, de plantes, d’algues et de micro-organismes de Miguasha a permis aux scientifiques de reconstituer un tableau quasi complet de cet écosystème dévonien. Mais ce sont les 21 espèces de poissons fossiles qui ont assuré à Miguasha sa renommée mondiale. L’Eusthenopteron foordi, surnommé le « prince de Miguasha », (ci-dessous) était pourvu de poumons et de structures osseuses dans les nageoires paires; il a ainsi engendré l’idée contemporaine que les vert ébrés terrestres sont issus des poissons.

Le site fossilifère de Miguasha a été découvert en 1842. À compter de 1880, des milliers de spécimens de fossiles ont été récoltés et emportés vers des musées et des universités partout dans le monde confirmant ainsi sa notoriété scientifique.

Plus d'information

La province de Québec :

Parc national de Miguasha

Centre du patrimoine mondial :

Patrimoine mondial - parc de Miguasha