Old Town Lunenburg, Nova Scotia

Waterfront of the town of Lunenburg at dusk in winter with town lights reflecting on ocean. Historic working Lunenburg waterfront at dusk
© Province of Nova Scotia
Large three-storey historic building in the Second Empire style of architecture with three pointed towers. Lunenburg Academy, Old Town Lunenburg.
© Town of Lunenburg

Date of Inscription: 1995

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

Old Town Lunenburg was designated as a World Heritage site by UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee under the following criteria:

Criterion (iv): Old Town Lunenburg is a well preserved example of 18th century British colonial urban planning, which has undergone no significant changes since its foundation and which largely continues to fulfil the economic and social purposes for which it was designed. Of special importance is its diversified and well-preserved vernacular architectural tradition, which spans over 250 years.

Criterion (v): It is an excellent example of an urban community and culture designed for and based on the offshore Atlantic fishery which is undergoing irreversible change and is evolving in a form that cannot yet be fully defined.

Description

Old Town Lunenburg, where all streets are straight and all corners square, is the best surviving example of a British colonial policy of creating new settlements by imposing a pre-designed "model town" plan on whatever tract of wilderness it was the King's pleasure to colonize. At least 21 North American settlements, from Cornwall and Niagara-on-the-Lake in Ontario to Savannah, Georgia, and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, benefited from this policy. But none has survived in such pristine condition as the town of Lunenburg on the south coast Nova Scotia.

The settlement was created in June 1753 as a home for 1,453 mostly German-speaking Protestant German, Swiss and Montbéliardian French colonists. The townsite, true to then-current convention, consisted of seven north-south streets, 48 feet wide (with the exception of King Street, which is 80 feet), intersected at right angles by nine east-west streets, each 40 feet wide, creating blocks that were further divided into 14 lots of 40 by 60 feet each. Each family received one town lot. The London-based Board of Trade and Plantations developed the plans without regard to local topography, which is why Lunenburg’s streets are never less than straight but sometimes dizzyingly steep.

There are some 400 major buildings within the old town, 70 percent of them from the 18th and 19th centuries, almost all of them wood, and many colourfully painted.

More Information

Town of Lunenburg:

Explore Lunenburg - History and Architecture

World Heritage Centre:

World Heritage - Old Town Lunenburg

Bord de mer de Lunenburg à la brunante en hiver; les lumières de la ville se reflètent dans l’océan. Bord de mer à la brunante à Lunenburg
© Province de la Nouvelle-Écosse
Grand édifice historique de trois étages de style Second Empire agrémenté de trois tours pointues. Lunenburg Academy, Vieux Lunenburg
© Town of Lunenburg

Date d’inscription : 1995

Justification de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

Le Vieux Lunenburg à Nouvelle-Écosse, a été inscrite sur la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial par le Comité du patrimoine mondial, pour la raison ci-dessous :

Critère (iv) : Le Vieux Lunenburg est un exemple bien conservé de la colonisation britannique et du développement urbain au XVIIIe siècle, qui n’a subi aucune modification importante depuis sa fondation et qui continue largement à remplir les objectifs économiques et sociaux pour lesquels elle a été conçue. Sa tradition architecturale vernaculaire diversifiée et bien conservée, qui s’est développée pendant 250 ans, revêt une importance particulière.

Critère (v) : C’est un excellent exemple de communauté urbaine et de culture conçue pour et fondée sur la pêche en haute mer dans l’Atlantique, qui connaît une évolution irréversible et qui évolue sous une forme que l’on ne sait pas encore parfaitement définir.

Description

Dans la vieille partie de Lunenburg, toutes les rues sont droites et les coins, carrés. Il s'agit du meilleur exemple encore existant d'une politique de l'ancien empire britannique selon laquelle un plan de ville modèle était imposé sur les espaces vierges où le roi voulait bien installer des colons. Au moins 21 villes nord-américaines ont été ainsi bâties, dont Cornwall et Niagara-on-the-Lake en Ontario, Savannah en Géorgie et Philadelphie en Pennsylvanie. De toutes ces villes, c'est Lunenburg, sur la côte sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse, qui a le mieux survécu.

Les Anglais ont créé Lunenburg en juin 1753 pour abriter 1 453 colons, principalement des protestants germanophones d’Allemagne, de la Suisse et de la région de Montbéliard en France. Selon les conventions de l’époque, cette ville a été formée de sept rues alignées du nord au sud de 48 pieds de large (sauf la rue King qui fait 80 pieds), croisées à angle droit par neuf rues alignées d’est en ouest de 40 pieds de large. Chaque bloc a été subdivisé en 14 lots de 40 pieds sur 60 pieds, subséquemment distribués à chaque famille. Le Board of Trade and Plantations de Londres créait ces plans modèles sans égard à la topographie locale, ce qui explique pourquoi les rues de Lunenburg sont si droites mais parfois d’une inclinaison à donner le vertige.

Des quelque 400 édifices principaux du Vieux-Lunenburg, 70 p. cent datent des 18e et 19e siècles, presque tous sont en bois et bon nombre sont vivement colorés.

Plus d'information

La ville de Lunenburg :

Explore Lunenburg - History and Architecture (en anglais seulement)

Centre du patrimoine mondial :

Patrimoine mondial - Le Vieux Lunenburg