A view taken along a stone wall of towers and ramparts beside a grassy field with trees. Esplanade sally port - Historic district of Old Québec
Two men stand in an archway looking up at stones. St. Louis Gate and ramparts - Historic district of Old Québec

Date of Inscription: 1985

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

The Historic District of Old Québec was designated as a World Heritage site by UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee under the following criteria:

Criterion (iv): A coherent and well preserved urban ensemble, the Historic District of Old Québec is an exceptional example of a fortified colonial town and by far the most complete north of Mexico.

Criterion (vi): Québec, the former capital of New France, illustrates one of the major stages in the European settlement of the cololonization of the Americas by Europeans.

Description

Close to half the buildings in the Historic District of Old Québec were built before 1850. Although the city itself has grown into a modern metropolis of some 600,000 people, the historic district, covering 135 hectares (about five percent of the city total) remains among the most coherent such areas in North America. Moreover, Québec is unique among cities on the continent in having retained almost all its fortifications, and la vieille capitale may claim for itself the honour of being the only walled city in North America.

Champlain built his original habitation on the shore of the St. Lawrence River, near the site of the former Iroquois village of Stadacona, at the foot of a great promontory called Cap Diamant. Settlement grew first along the river, and later, following the lead of military and religious institutions, on the promontory itself. The river bank, or Lower Town, remained residential and commercial, and Upper Town became the seat of administration and religion.

In the 1820s, when Québec was Canada’s leading seaport, the British army built a substantial citadel atop Cap Diamant and improved the wall around Upper Town. In the 1870s, Governor General Lord Dufferin, in an early example of urban heritage conservation, persuaded the city not to demolish the fortifications, by then strategically useless, thus defining the historic character - and tourist potential - of Old Québec.

More Information

Parks Canada:

Cartier-Brébeuf National Historic Site of Canada

Fortifications of Québec National Historic Site of Canada

Grosse Île and the Irish Memorial National Historic Site of Canada

Lévis Forts National Historic Site of Canada

Saint-Louis Forts and Châteaux National Historic Site of Canada

World Heritage Centre:

World Heritage - the Historic District of Old Québec

Quebec City:

A Brief History of Québec City

Photo prise le long d’un mur de pierre fait de tours et de ramparts, à côté d’un champ herbeux parsemé d’arbres. La poterne de l'esplanade - Arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec
Deux hommes se tiennent sous une arche et regardent les pierres. La porte Saint-Louis et les remparts en automne - Arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec

Date d’inscription : 1985

Justification de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

L'arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec à Québec, a été inscrite sur la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial par le Comité du patrimoine mondial, pour la raison ci-dessous :

Critère (iv) : Ensemble urbain cohérent et bien préservé, l'arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec est un exemple exceptionnel de ville coloniale fortifiée, de loin le plus complet au nord du Mexique.

Critère (vi) : Québec, l'ancienne capitale de la Nouvelle-France, représente l'une des étapes importantes de la colonisation des Amériques par les Européens.

Description

Près de la moitié des édifices de l’arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec ont été construits avant 1850. Certains datent de l'époque de la Nouvelle-France, et deux d'entre eux remontent presque au temps de la fondation de la ville par Samuel de Champlain en 1608. Bien que la ville soit devenue une métropole d'environ 600 000 habitants, l'arrondissement historique, qui couvre 135 hectares ou près de 5 p. cent de la ville, offre une continuité historique des plus remarquables en Amérique du Nord. Ayant conservé presque toutes ses fortifications, la vieille capitale mérite d'être qualifiée de seule ville fortifiée en Amérique du Nord.

Champlain a construit sa première habitation aux abords du fleuve Saint-Laurent, près du site de l’ancien village iroquois de Stadacona, au pied du majestueux promontoire du Cap Diamant. Le peuplement s’est d’abord effectué le long du fleuve, mais certains colons ont plus tard suivi les institutions militaires et religieuses en haut du promontoire. La rive, ou la basse-ville, est demeurée résidentielle et commerciale, alors que la haute-ville est devenue le siège de l’administration et de la religion.

Dans les années 1820, alors que Québec était le principal port de mer du Canada, l’armée britannique a construit une imposante citadelle sur le Cap Diamant et renforcé les fortifications autour de la haute-ville. Cinquante ans plus tard, lord Dufferin, alors gouverneur général, posait un des premiers gestes de conservation du patrimoine urbain, en convainquant la ville de ne pas détruire les murs, rendus désuets du point de vue stratégique. Il contribua ainsi à définir le caractère historique - et maintenant touristique - du Vieux-Québec.

Plus d'information

Parcs Canada :

Lieu historique national du Canada Cartier-Brébeuf

Lieu historique national du Canada des Fortifications-de-Québec

Lieu historique national du Canada de la Grosse-Île-et-le-Mémorial-des-Irlandais

Lieu historique national du Canada des Forts-de-Lévis

Lieu historique national du Canada des Forts-et-Châteaux-Saint-Louis

Centre du patrimoine mondial :

Patrimoine mondial - l'Arrondissement historique du Vieux-Québec

La ville de Québec :

Survol de l'histoire de la ville de Québec