A barefooted female Parks Canada staff member leads three visitors and a small dog alongside a muddy creek. South Loop Hike, Wood Buffalo National Park

Wood Buffalo National Park, Northwest Territories

A male Wood bison Wood Bison Bull, Wood Buffalo National Park
An aerial photo of lakes surrounded by grass. A small tree-lined river terminates in the foreground. Peace Athabasca Delta, Wood Buffalo National Park

Date of Inscription: 1983

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

Wood Buffalo National Park was designated as a World Heritage site by UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee under the following criteria:

Criterion (vii): The great concentrations of migratory wildlife are of world importance and the rare and superlative natural phenomena include a large inland delta, salt plains and gypsum karst that are equally internationally significant.

Criterion (ix): Wood Buffalo is the most ecologically complete and largest example of the entire Great Plains-Boreal grassland ecosystem of North America, the only place where the predator-prey relationship between wolves and wood bison has continued, unbroken, over time.

Criterion (x): Wood Buffalo contains the only breeding habitat in the world for the whooping crane, an endangered species brought back from the brink of extinction through careful management of the small number of breeding pairs in the park. The park’s size (4.5 million ha), complete ecosystems and protection are essential for in-situ conservation of the whooping crane.

Description

Wood Buffalo is Canada's largest national park, and the very embodiment of the space and wilderness that symbolize Northern Canada. Its 44,807 square kilometres include huge tracts of boreal forest and plains, and some of the largest undisturbed grass and sedge meadows left in North America. Those meadows sustain the largest free-roaming herd of bison, commonly known as buffalo, in the world.

Great rivers grace the park as the mighty Peace flows through the heart of the park and the Slave and Athabasca form the eastern border. Where the Peace and Athabasca issue into Lake Athabasca is the world's largest inland freshwater delta. The endless streams and wetlands of the delta accommodate countless waterfowl, including ducks, geese, swans, loons and grebes.

The park was established in 1922, largely as a home for the remnant population of bison that escaped the slaughter in the late 19th century that reduced the monarch of the plains from 60 million to a relative handful. The plains in the park are on the historic northern limit of the bison's range, and several thousand plains bison were shipped north to join the native wood bison herd already there. The park is also home to the world's last remaining wild flock of endangered whooping cranes.

More Information

Parks Canada:

Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada

World Heritage Centre:

World Heritage - Wood Buffalo National Park

Une employée de Parcs Canada pieds nus mène trois visiteurs et un petit chien le long d’un ruisseau boueux. Randonnée sur la boucle sud, parc national Wood Buffalo

Le Parc national Wood Buffalo, Alberta et Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Bison des bois mâle. Bison des bois mâle, parc national Wood Buffalo
Photo aérienne de lacs entourés d’herbe. Petite rivière bordée d’arbres en avant plan. Delta Peace Athabasca, parc national Wood Buffalo

Date d’inscription : 1983

Justification de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

Le Parc national Wood Buffalo en Alberta et au Territoires du Nord-Ouest, a été inscrite sur la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial par le Comité du patrimoine mondial, pour la raison ci-dessous :

Critère (vii) : Les grandes concentrations d’oiseaux migrateurs sauvages ont une importance mondiale et les phénomènes naturels rares et incomparables que constituent le grand delta intérieur, les plaines salées et les karsts gypseux ont également une valeur sur le plan international.

Critère (ix) : Wood Buffalo est l’exemple le plus complet sur le plan écologique et le plus important de tout l’écosystème des Grandes plaines et prairies boréales vierges d’Amérique du Nord, le seul lieu où le rapport prédateur-proie entre le loup et le bison des bois s’est maintenu, sans s’interrompre, au fil du temps.

Critère (x) : Wood Buffalo contient le seul habitat de reproduction au monde de la grue blanche, espèce menacée qui a été sauvée de l’extinction grâce à une gestion attentive du petit nombre de couples reproducteurs dans le parc. La superficie du parc (4,5 millions d’hectares), les écosystèmes complets et la protection sont essentiels à la conservation de la grue blanche sur le site.

Description

Wood Buffalo est le plus grand parc national au Canada et l'incarnation même des grands espaces sauvages qui symbolisent le nord canadien. Ses 44 807 kilomètres carrés comprennent de vastes forêts boréales, des plaines et certaines des plus grandes et des dernières prairies d'herbe et de laîche vierges en Amérique du Nord. Et ces prairies abritent le plus important troupeau de bisons en liberté au monde.

De grandes rivières enjolivent le parc, notamment la puissante rivière de la Paix et les rivières Slave et Athabasca qui en forment la frontière à l’est. La rencontre du lac Athabasca et des rivières de la Paix et Athabasca forme le plus important delta intérieur d’eau douce au monde. Les innombrables rivières et marécages du delta abritent une multitude d’oiseaux aquatiques, dont des canards, des oies, des cygnes, des huards et des grèbes.

Le parc a été créé en 1922, principalement pour sauver les bisons qui avaient échappé au carnage de la fin du 19e siècle. De 60 millions, la population de cette bête avait été réduite presque à néant. Les plaines du parc se trouvent à l’extrémité nord du territoire traditionnel du bison, et des milliers de bisons ont été transportés du sud pour accroître la population indigène de bisons des bois. Le parc abrite aussi la dernière volée au monde de grues blanches d’Amérique, une espèce en danger de disparition.

Plus d'information

Parcs Canada :

Parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo

Centre du patrimoine mondial :

Patrimoine mondial - Parc national Wood Buffalo