Visitors to SGang Gwaay World Heritage site

SGang Gwaay, British Columbia

Five totem poles illuminated by the setting sun in forest clearing. Looking south on the lower terrace of SGang Gwaay Llnagaay, SGang Gwaay World Heritage site
Six totem poles in forest clearing. Mortuary poles at SGang Gwaay World Heritage site

Date of Inscription: 1981

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

SGang Gwaay station was designated as a World Heritage site by UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee under the following criterion:

Criterion (iii): SGang Gwaay llnagaay (Nan Sdins), located on SGang Gwaay (Anthony Island) in an archipelago off the west coast of British Columbia, bears unique testimony to the culture of the Haida. The art represented by the carved poles at SGang Gwaay llnagaay (Nan Sdins) is recognized to be among the finest examples of its type in the world.

Description

What was once a vigorous Haida community of 300 people is today a haunting assemblage of weathered and fragmented house frames and mortuary and memorial poles. By the 1880s, disease had decimated the population of Nan Sdins village on SGang Gwaay, an island at the southern tip of the Haida Gwaii archipelago, and by the turn of the century only remnants of the houses and poles remained.

Fifteen poles were moved to museums in the 1930s and 1950s. More of the village has been taken by nature, consumed by age and the elements, and returned to the forest. What remains is unique in the world, a 19th-century Haida village where the ruins of 10 houses and 32 memorial or mortuary poles bespeak the power and artistry of a rich and flamboyant society.

The Haida have always thrived on the wealth of both the sea and the forest. Shellfish and salmon were staple foods. Giant Western red cedars were the raw material of ocean-going canoes, vast post and plank houses, and great poles bearing both symbols of family history and, holding inside, the bones of ancestors. The Haida lived on SGang Gwaay for thousands of years (as two-metre-thick refuse heaps of shells attest). The remnants of the village represent an ongoing chapter in an epic story of human settlement and artistry.

More Information

Parks Canada:

Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve of Canada and Haida Heritage Site

World Heritage Centre:

World Heritage - SGang Gwaay

Des visiteurs fréquentent le site du patrimoine mondial SGang Gwaay.

SGang Gwaay, Colombie-Britannique

Cinq mats totémiques illuminés par le coucher de soleil dans une clairière. Terrasse inférieure de SGang Gwaay Llnagaay, site du patrimoine mondial, vue du nord
Six mats totémiques dans une clairière. Mâts funéraires au site du patrimoine mondial SGang Gwaay

Date d’inscription : 1981

Justification de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

SGang Gwaay en Colombie-Britannique, a été inscrite sur la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial par le Comité du patrimoine mondial, pour la raison ci-dessous :

Critère (iii) : SGang Gwaay llnagaay (Nan Sdins), situé à SGang Gwaay (Île Anthony) dans un archipel au large de la côte ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, offre un témoignage unique de la culture des Haïdas. L’art qu’illustrent les mâts sculptés de SGang Gwaay llnagaay (Nan Sdins) est reconnu comme l’un des exemples les plus remarquables de ce type dans le monde.

Description

Jadis un village haïda dynamique de 300 personnes, SGang Gwaay est aujourd'hui un rassemblement quelque peu mystérieux des ruines de charpentes de maisons, de colonnes mortuaires et de mâts totémiques abîmés par le temps. Vers les années 1880, des maladies avaient décimé la population du village de Nan Sdins situé sur l'île SGang Gwaay à l'extrémité sud de l'archipel de Haïda Gwaii. Au tournant du siècle, il ne restait que les ruines.

Quinze totems ont été logés dans des musées dans les années 1930 et 1950, et plusieurs autres pièces, endommagées par le temps et les éléments, sont retournées à la forêt. Mais ce qui reste est unique au monde : un village haïda du 19e siècle, composé des ruines de 10 maisons et de 32 mâts et colonnes qui témoignent de la puissance et du talent artistique d ’une société riche et flamboyante.

Les Haïdas ont toujours profité des richesses de la mer et des forêts. Les fruits de mer et le saumon servent de denrées de base, alors que les thuyas géants permettent de construire des canots de mer, des maisons faites de larges planches et poteaux et de grands mâts qui portent des symboles de l’histoire familiale et, à l’intérieur, des ossements d’ancêtres. Les Haïdas ont habité SGang Gwaii durant des millénaires, comme le prouvent les dépôts de coquillages de deux mètres de haut. Les restes de Nan Sdins aident à perpétuer l’histoire épique de cette communauté aux artistes de talent indéniable.

Plus d'information

Parcs Canada :

Réserve de parc national du Canada et site patrimonial Haïda de Gwaii Haanas

Centre du patrimoine mondial :

Patrimoine mondial - SGaang Gwaii (Île Anthony)