The kill site at Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, looking north
© Government of Alberta

Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump, Alberta

Aerial view of visitor centre, cliff, and grassy landscape. Panoramic shot of Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump
© Government of Alberta
Visitors walking across brown grassy plain. Tour group heading to the cairns at Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump
© Government of Alberta

Date of Inscription: 1981

Justification of Outstanding Universal Value

Head-Smashed-In-Buffalo Jump was designated as a World Heritage site by UNESCO’s World Heritage Committee under the following criterion:

Criterion (vi): Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump is one of the oldest, most extensive, and best preserved sites that illustrate communal hunting techniques and the way of life of Plains people who, for more than five millennia, subsisted on the vast herds of bison that existed in North America.

Description

For thousands of years, the bison provided the Aboriginal peoples of North America's Great Plains with many of life's requirements - meat for food, hides for clothing and shelter, sinew, bone and horn for tools, and dung for fires. The principal means of killing large numbers of bison was the buffalo jump, where herds were stampeded over cliffs and butchered at the bottom. Buffalo jumps were common on the northern Plains. But the biggest, oldest and best-preserved buffalo jump in North America is the Head-Smashed-In (or estipah-skikikini-kots in Blackfoot) Buffalo Jump in the Porcupine Hills of southwestern Alberta.

Countless thousands of bison were herded over the edge of the 10- to 18-metre-high cliffs, beginning perhaps 5,700 years ago and continuing until the middle of the 19th century. At the base of the cliff today are skeletal remains, in some places 11 metres deep. Close by is the site of the butchering camp, a kilometre-wide expanse pocked with the remnants of meat caches and cooking pits, and itself underlain with up to a metre of butchered bison bones. The area on top of the cliff was (and still is) a wide reach of prime grazing range. A system of more than 500 stone cairns, at which people built fires or waved blankets, begins 10 kilometres west of the cliff. The cairns helped direct the bison into drive lanes approaching the precipice.

More Information

Province of Alberta:

Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump

World Heritage Centre:

World Heritage - Head-Smashed-In Buffalo Jump

Précipice à bisons Head Smashed In, vu du norde
© Government of Alberta

Le précipice à bisons Head-Smashed-In, Alberta

Vue aérienne du centre d’accueil, de la falaise et de la zone herbeuse. Vue panoramique du précipice à bisons Head Smashed In
© Government of Alberta
Des visiteurs traversent une plaine brune et herbeuse. Visite organisée des cairns du précipice à bisons Head Smashed In
© Government of Alberta

Date d’inscription : 1981

Justification de la valeur universelle exceptionnelle

Le précipice à bisons Head-Smashed-In en Alberta, a été inscrite sur la liste des sites du patrimoine mondial par le Comité du patrimoine mondial, pour la raison ci-dessous :

Critère (vi) : Le précipice à bisons Head-Smashed-In est l’un des sites les mieux préservés, les plus étendus et les plus anciens qui illustrent les pratiques de chasse communales et le mode de vie des peuples des Plaines d’Amérique du Nord qui, pendant plus de cinq millénaires, ont subsisté grâce aux énormes troupeaux de bisons qui existaient en Amérique du Nord.

Description

Le bison a assuré la survie des Autochtones des grandes plaines d'Amérique du Nord durant des millénaires. Sa viande servait de nourriture, sa peau était utilisée pour des vêtements et des abris, ses nerfs, ses os et ses cornes pour des outils, et son crottin alimentait le feu. Le précipice à bisons représentait le moyen le plus efficace d'abattre un grand nombre de ces bêtes. Les Autochtones les dirigeaient vers le précipice et, en bas, les dépeçaient. Les précipices à bison étaient communs dans les plaines septentrionales d'Amérique du Nord, mais Head-Smashed-In (ou estipah-skikikini-kots en pied-noir) dans les collines de Porcupine dans le sud-ouest de l'Alberta est le plus imposant, le plus vieux et le mieux préservé.

On ne peut compter les milliers de bisons qui ont subi cette chute de 10 à 18 mètres, depuis 5 700 ans peut-être et jusqu'au milieu du 19e siècle. Au pied de la falaise, des ossements sont enfouis jusqu'à 11 mètres sous terre. Un site de dépeçage d'un kilomètre de long se trouve tout près, marqué de traces d'entrepôts de viande et de lieux de cuisson et recouvrant jusqu'à un mètre d'os de bisons abattus. Les terres au sommet de la falaise offraient — comme aujourd'hui — une grande surface de pâturage de première qualité. Un système composé de plus de 500 monticules de pierres, près desquels on allumait des feux ou agitait des couvertures, débute à 10 kilomètres à l'ouest des falaises. Il servait à canaliser les bisons vers le précipice.

Plus d'information

La province d'Alberta :

Head-Smashed-In (en anglais seulement)

Centre du patrimoine mondial :

Patrimoine mondial - Le précipice à Bisons Head-Smashed-In