Canada's Tentative List

Tr’ondëk Klondike, Yukon

Proposed Justification of "Outstanding Universal Value":

Criterion (iv):

Tr’ondek–Klondike is an outstanding example of an evolving gold rush landscape that illustrates the iconic gold rushes of the nineteenth century, which were a significant stage in human history. It offers a superlative representation of an Indigenous people’s continuing relationship with their lands, which was maintained despite the impacts of the Gold Rush. It also offers an intact mining landscape that reveals the magnitude of the event and the ongoing evolution of placer gold mining.

Criterion (vi):

Tr’ondek–Klondike is iconic in its direct and tangible association with frontier culture. In Tr’ondek–Klondike, the expression of frontier culture has evolved to describe a space where Indigenous culture thrives and interacts with newcomer culture that is heavily influenced by the spirit of adventure and self-reliance that characterized the Gold Rush.

Description:

Centred on the Yukon and Klondike rivers in northwestern Canada, Tr’ondëk–Klondike is an exceptional living cultural landscape that reflects the enduring coexistence of Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in and newcomer populations, which were brought and bound together by an iconic nineteenth-century gold rush. The Klondike Gold Rush took place between 1896 and 1898 and saw approximately 30 000 people from all over the world travel north to the Klondike in search of gold. Located in a rugged subarctic environment, the nominated property includes a wide variety of heritage attributes found along an 85-kilometre stretch of the Yukon River, in the historic Gold Rush-era town of Dawson City and in the Klondike goldfields. The attributes include Indigenous sites, camps, and settlements such as Tr’ochëk and Moosehide; the layout, streetscapes, and extensive vernacular building stock of Dawson City; and the landforms, infrastructure, machinery, and compounds associated with over a century of continuous placer gold mining in the goldfields.

The fundamentally different relationships with the land for the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in and newcomer populations continue to shape the cultural landscape today. Traditional Indigenous culture and values coexist with active placer mining in an area that has long been associated with a frontier meeting place of Indigenous peoples and newcomers in search of land and resources. This context and the enormous impact of the Gold Rush and its aftermath are legible in the material heritage of the landscape. They are also evocatively portrayed in a rich body of literature and photography as well as narrated in the stories of the Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in. Ultimately, the site is a distinctive, intact, and comprehensive example of a nineteenth-century gold rush whose legacy has shaped the region and its inhabitants for the past 120 years.

Liste indicative des sites du patrimoine mondial au Canada

Tr’ondëk Klondike, Yukon

Critères suggérés 

Critère (iv) 

Tr’ondëk–Klondike est un exemple éminent de paysage minier en évolution qui témoigne de la ruée vers l’or emblématique du XIXe siècle et qui fut d’une grande importance dans l’histoire de l’humanité. Tr’ondëk–Klondike est exceptionnel en ce qu’il est un paysage complet de la ruée vers l’or où les activités minière initiales dans les placers aurifères et les traditions et pratiques culturelles autochtones demeurent au cœur de l’identité des lieux et continuent encore aujourd’hui de façonner le paysage.

Critère (vi) 

Tr’ondëk–Klondike est emblématique du fait de son lien direct et tangible avec la culture frontalière. Dans Tr’ondëk–Klondike, l’expression « culture frontalière » a évolué pour décrire un lieu où la culture autochtone s’épanouit et interagit avec la culture des nouveaux arrivants, très influencée par l’esprit d’aventure et d’autosuffisance caractéristique de la ruée vers l’or.

Description 

Centré sur les rivières Yukon et Klondike dans la partie nord-ouest du Canada, Tr’ondëk–Klondike est un paysage culturel vivant qui témoigne de la coexistence de longue date des Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in et des nouveaux venus qui se sont retrouvés liés les uns aux autres par la fameuse ruée vers l’or du XIXe siècle. La ruée vers l’or du Klondike a eu lieu entre 1896 et 1898 et elle a poussé environ 30 000 personnes de partout dans le monde à se diriger vers le Klondike dans l’espoir d’y trouver de l’or. Située dans un environnement subarctique rigoureux, la région faisant l’objet de la candidature comprend un large éventail d’attributs patrimoniaux tout au long d’un tronçon de 85 km de la rivière Yukon, dans la ville de la ruée vers l’or qu’est Dawson City et dans les champs aurifères du Klondike. On y trouve des sites, des camps et des établissements autochtones comme le camp de pêche Tr’ochëk et le village de Moosehide; les plans, les paysages de rue et les bâtiments de construction vernaculaire de Dawson City; ainsi que la topographie, l’infrastructure, la machinerie et les enceintes caractéristiques de plus d’un siècle d’exploitation continue de placers dans les champs aurifères.

Les relations fondamentalement différentes qu’entretiennent avec la terre les Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in et les nouveaux venus façonnent toujours le paysage culturel. La culture et les valeurs traditionnelles des Autochtones coexistent avec l’exploitation active des placers dans une région depuis longtemps associée avec un lieu de rencontre frontalier entre les Autochtones et les nouveaux venus en quête de terres et de ressources. Ce contexte et les impacts immenses de la ruée vers l’or et de ses suites sont visibles dans le patrimoine physique du paysage. Ils sont aussi très bien dépeints dans un riche corpus documentaire et photographique, ainsi que dans les récits narratifs des Tr’ondëk Hwëch’in. Au final, l’endroit est un exemple exceptionnel, intact et complet de la ruée vers l’or du XIXe siècle, dont le legs façonne depuis 120 ans les paysages de la région et les peuples qui y vivent.