Canada's Tentative List

Ivvavik/Vuntut/Herschel Island (Qikiqtaruk), Yukon

Proposed Justification of "Outstanding Universal Value"

Criterion (iv): Together, Ivvavik, Vuntut and Herschel Island is an outstanding example of a landscape which illustrates the very early human occupation of northwest North America via the Bering Yukon Refugium;

Criterion (v): It is an outstanding example of traditional land use representative of two distinctive Aboriginal cultural traditions adapting to the extreme environment of the Coastal Plain, the North Slope, the Old Crow Basin and Herschel Island;

Criterion (vii): It possesses scenic beauty and natural phenomena, with mountains, wetlands, wild rivers and migrating wildlife spectacles;

Criterion (viii): It illustrates geological processes relating to Pleistocene events and Beringia;

Criterion (x): It includes significant biological diversity, its wide range of species including caribou, bear, waterfowl and marine life.

Note:
These criteria were identified during the Tentative List process. The criteria used might change as the nomination is developed.

Description:

Together, Ivvavik National Park of Canada, Vuntut National Park of Canada, and Herschel Island (Qikiqtaruk) Territorial Park comprise 15 500 km2 of wilderness on the Yukon coastal plain, Richardson Mountains, a portion of the Old Crow Flats wetlands and an arctic island in the Beaufort Sea. Together, these parks comprise a land rich in wildlife, in variety of landscape and in vegetation. This area was not glaciated, and forms part of the Beringia corridor as evidenced in its rich assemblage of archeological and palaeontological deposits. Major rivers flow through the coastal plain, cutting spectacular canyons on their way to the Beaufort Sea. Part of the area, the Old Crow Flats, is a Ramsar site internationally recognized for breeding and migratory water howl. Three species of bear are found in parts of the area, along with a host of other wildlife, including Dall sheep and moose. The area supports close to 10 percent of the world’s caribou population, with the Porcupine Herd numbering close to 123 000 animals. A portion of the calving grounds for the herd is located in Ivvavik National Park of Canada. This is the land of the Inuvialuit and Vuntut Gwitchin, who have hunted, fished and traded in the region for thousands of years. The cultural landscape’s rich and complex human history is expressed through archaeological evidence and oral history. A key area to the peopling of North America, it illustrates successive occupations over thousands of years of adaptation to evolving climatic episodes. During preparation of nomination documentation, careful consideration will be given to final proposed boundaries to include all of parts of nearby protected areas, for example Fishing Branch Ni’iinlii’njik Territorial Park (7 000 km2), which is located south of Vuntut National Park of Canada.

More Information

Parks Canada

Ivvavik National Park of Canada

Vuntut National Park of Canada

Liste indicative des sites du patrimoine mondial au Canada

Ivvavik / Vuntut / Herschel Island (Qikiqtaruk), Yukon

Critères suggérés :

Critères (iv) : Conjointement, Ivvavik, Vuntut et Herschel Island sont un exemple éminent de paysage qui illustre l’occupation humaine très ancienne du nord-ouest de l’Amérique du Nord par l’intermédiaire du « refuge Bering-Yukon »;

Critères (v) : il s’agit d’un exemple éminent d’occupation traditionnelle du territoire, représentatif de deux traditions culturelles autochtones distinctes s’adaptant à l’environnement extrême de la plaine côtière, du versant Nord, du bassin Old Crow et de l’île Herschel;

Critères (vii) : le bien contient des aires d’une grande beauté naturelle et des phénomènes naturels, caractérisés par des montagnes, des terres humides, des rivières sauvages et par le spectacle des migrations des animaux;

Critères (viii) : il illustre des processus géologiques liés au Pléistocène et à la Béringie;

Critères (x) : il présente une importante diversité biologique, caractérisée par un large éventail d’espèces, dont le caribou, l’ours, le gibier d’eau et la faune et la flore marines.

Note :
Ces critères ont été identifiés durant le processus d’établissement d’une liste indicative. Les critères utilisés peuvent changer au fur et à mesure de la nomination.

Description

Le parc national du Canada Ivvavik, le parc national du Canada Vuntut et le parc territorial Herschel Island (Qikiqtaruk) couvrent ensemble une aire naturelle de 15 500 km² qui englobe la plaine côtière du Yukon, les monts Richardson, une partie des terres marécageuses de la plaine Old Crow ainsi qu'une île arctique située dans la mer de Beaufort. Ces trois parcs forment conjointement une terre riche en faune, en paysages diversifiés et en végétation. Cette région n'a pas été englacée, et fait partie du corridor de la Béringie, comme en fait foi son riche assemblage de dépôts archéologiques et paléontologiques. De grandes rivières traversent la plaine côtière, creusant des canyons spectaculaires en s'écoulant vers la mer de Beaufort. Une partie de la région - la plaine Old Crow - est un site Ramsar reconnu à l'échelon international pour son gibier d'eau nicheur et migrateur. Trois espèces d'ours vivent dans certaines parties de la région, de pair avec une série d'autres animaux sauvages, dont le mouflon de Dall et l'orignal. La région abrite près de 10 % de la population mondiale de caribous, et la harde de la Porcupine compte près de 123000 têtes. Une partie des lieux de mise bas que fréquente le troupeau est située dans le parc national du Canada Ivvavik. Il s'agit là de la terre des Inuvialuit et des Vuntut Gwitchin, qui y chassent, y pêchent et y font du commerce depuis des milliers d'années. L'histoire humaine riche et complexe du paysage culturel s'exprime par des vestiges archéologiques et par l'histoire orale. Cette région, importante pour le peuplement de l'Amérique du Nord, illustre des occupations successives, qui s'étendent sur des milliers d'années d'adaptation à des épisodes climatiques en évolution. Lors de la préparation des documents de proposition d'inscription, une attention particulière sera portée aux limites proposées définitives, de façon à englober la totalité des parties quasi protégées, comme le parc territorial Fishing Branch (Ni'iinlii'njik) (7 000 km²), qui est situé au Sud du parc national du Canada Vuntut.

Plus d’information

Parcs Canada :

Parc national du Canada Ivvavik

Parc national du Canada Vuntut