Canada's Tentative List

Gwaii Haanas, British Columbia

Proposed Justification of "Outstanding Universal Value"

Criterion (iii): The homeland of the Haida is represented by the whole Gwaii Haanas area – not just the island of SGang Gwaay with its house vestiges and carved mortuary and memorial poles. This homeland is documented in oral tradition and archaeological resources and it is rich in associated cultural values;

Criterion (v): It is an outstanding example of land and sea use which is representative of a culture and of human interaction with the environment;

Criterion (vi): It is evocative of the Haida cosmological relationship with this place;

Criterion (vii): It possesses exceptional natural scenic beauty and superlative natural phenomena focused on the mountains-to-the-sea landscape, with old-growth forested islands, coastal zone and undersea life;

Criterion (ix): A superb display of ecological processes occurring in the old-growth temperate rainforests and the role of the islands in wildlife evolution can be observed;

Criterion (x): The diversity of species and the presence of endemics are exceptional.

Note:
These criteria were identified during the Tentative List process. The criteria used might change as the nomination is developed.

Description:

The Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve and Haida Heritage Site covers about 15 percent of the Queen Charlotte Islands, an archipelago 80 km off the northwest coast of mainland British Columbia that separates Hecate Strait from the Pacific Ocean. The size of the terrestrial area, which consists of 138 islands, is 1,495 km², with a surrounding marine conservation area (proposed) of 3,400 km². The park reserve includes SGang Gwaay World Heritage Site, a 3 km² island inscribed in 1981 under cultural criterion (iii). Two other remarkable former Haida villages, Tanu and Skedans, are located within the park reserve. As well, more than 600 archaeological features in the park reserve give.evidence of Haida occupation and activities in the region. Traditional narratives, songs, places names and language relate the park reserve area intimately to Haida history and way of life. The rich and living culture of the Haida people permeates the area. The natural resources of the area, with their abundance of essential ingredients for sustenance and growth, are an integral part of Haida traditional culture, and life with the land and sea. Natural features of Gwaii Haanas range from the highly dissected San Christoval Mountains, which form the backbone of the area, to fiords, 40 freshwater lakes, old-growth temperate rainforests and a rich diversity and abundance of wildlife. The proposed marine conservation area lies along one section of the Queen Charlotte tectonic plate, and includes highly diverse living intertidal and sub-tidal marine communities. It is also strategically located along the Pacific flyway, hosting huge seabird breeding colonies as well as being an important migrant stopover. Marine mammals are also abundant, including sea lions, porpoises, killer whales and migrating grey whales.

More Information

Parks Canada

Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haida Heritage Site

Liste indicative des sites du patrimoine mondial au Canada

Gwaii Haanas, British Columbia

Critères suggérés :

Critères (iii) : La terre natale des Haïdas est représentée par l’ensemble de la région Gwaii Haanas et non seulement par l’île de SGaang Gwaii, avec ses vestiges d’habitation et ses mâts funéraires et commémoratifs sculptés. Cette terre natale est décrite dans la tradition orale et dans les ressources archéologiques de ce peuple et elle est riche en valeurs culturelles associatives;

Critères (v) : il s’agit d’un exemple éminent d’occupation du territoire et d’utilisation de la mer, qui est représentatif d’une culture et de l’interaction humaine avec l’environnement;

Critères (vi) : le bien évoque la relation cosmologique des Haïdas avec ce lieu;

Critères (vii) : il présente une beauté naturelle exceptionnelle et contient des phénomènes naturels remarquables, axés sur le paysage qui s’étend des montagnes jusqu’à la mer et caractérisés par ses îles recouvertes de forêts anciennes, par sa zone côtière et par sa vie sous-marine;

Critères (ix) : il offre un superbe exemple de processus écologiques en cours dans les forêts ombrophiles anciennes tempérées et du rôle que jouent les îles dans l’évolution de la flore et de la faune;

Critères (x) : la diversité des espèces et la présence d’espèces endémiques présentent un caractère exceptionnel.

Note :
Ces critères ont été identifiés durant le processus d’établissement d’une liste indicative. Les critères utilisés peuvent changer au fur et à mesure de la nomination.

Description

La réserve de parc national et le site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas couvrent environ 15 % des îles de la Reine-Charlotte, un archipel situé à 80 kilomètres au large de la côte nord-ouest de la partie continentale de la Colombie-Britannique et séparant le détroit d'Hecate de l'océan Pacifique. La superficie du secteur terrestre, qui se compose de 138 îles, est de 1495 km2, et ce dernier est entouré d'une aire marine de conservation (proposée) de 3400 km2. La réserve de parc englobe le Site du patrimoine mondial SGaang Gwaii, une île de 3 km2 inscrite en 1981 en fonction du critère culturel (iii). Deux autres villages haïdas anciens d'une qualité remarquable - Tanu et Skedans - se trouvent dans cette réserve de parc. En outre, dans ce dernier, plus de 600 vestiges archéologiques témoignent de l'occupation et des activités des Haïdas dans la région. Les récits, les chants, la langue et les noms de lieu traditionnels créent un lien intime entre la réserve de parc et l'histoire et le mode de vie des Haïdas. La culture riche et vivante de ce peuple imprègne toute la région, dont les ressources naturelles, qui abondent en éléments essentiels à la subsistance et à la croissance, font partie intégrante de la culture traditionnelle des Haïdas, ainsi que de la vie en milieu terrestre et maritime. Les caractéristiques naturelles de Gwaii Haanas vont des monts San Christoval fort découpés, formant l'épine dorsale de la région, jusqu'à des fjords, 40 lacs d'eau douce et de forêts ombrophiles anciennes tempérées, en passant par une faune très diversifiée et abondante. L'aire marine de conservation qu'il est proposé d'établir s'étend le long d'une section de la plaque tectonique de la Reine-Charlotte et abrite des communautés marines intertidales et subtidales vivantes des plus diversifiées. Elle est également située à un endroit stratégique, le long de la voie migratoire du Pacifique, et accueille ainsi de gigantesques colonies de nidification d'oiseaux de mer, en plus de constituer une importante halte migratoire. L'aire de conservation recèle aussi des mammifères marins, dont des lions de mer, des marsouins, des épaulards et des baleines grises migratrices.

Plus d’information

Parcs Canada :

Réserve de parc national, réserve d'aire marine nationale de conservation, et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas