Canada’s Minister of Environment and Climate Change and Minister responsible for Parks Canada has appointed an Advisory Committee that is reviewing all Tentative List applications and will recommend to the Minister those properties which it believes should be included on Canada’s updated Tentative List for World Heritage Sites.

The Advisory Committee is composed of seven Canadians that collectively represent a broad base of knowledge in natural and cultural heritage conservation and commemoration in Canada:

An open, transparent, and merit-based process was used to solicit and appoint these candidates to the Ministerial Advisory Committee.

The Committee will meet on three occasions

  • April 2017: to participate in an orientation session
  • Mid-June 2017: to review all applications
  • November 2017: to decide on a final list of sites to recommend to the Minister

Biography of Committee members

Dr. Christina Cameron (Chair)

Christina Cameron is a Professor in the School of Architecture and Canada Research Chair on Built Heritage at the University of Montreal. She serves as Chair of the Advisory Committee on the Official Residences of Canada and President of the Canadian Commission for UNESCO. She worked at Parks Canada for thirty five years, including as Director General of National Historic Sites and as Secretary to the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. She has been actively involved in World Heritage as Head of Delegation for Canada (1990-2008), Chairperson (1990, 2008) and Rapporteur (1989). She teaches a Masters seminar on World Heritage, and carries out related research. She has received a multitude of national and international awards for her professional and volunteer work, including an Outstanding Achievement Award (2007) from the Government of Canada, the National Trust of Canada’s Gabrielle Léger Medal for Lifetime Achievement (2014), and the Order of Canada (2014).

Guujaaw

Guujaaw had been an active participant leading up to the conservation and protection of Gwaii Haanas in the 1970s, and deeply involved in the designation of Nunstins as a “World Heritage Site”. He went on to serve as a negotiator in the drafting of the innovative Gwaii Haanas Agreement. He later served as member of the Gwaii Haanas Archipelago Management Board, setting standards in cooperative management. He has worked with many Indigenous groups throughout British Columbia and beyond in the protection of culturally and ecologically important sites. He served as President of the Haida Nation from 2000 to 2013, where he negotiated the protection of another 27% of the islands and a blueprint for reconciliation with the Provincial Crown. Guujaaw has been a carpenter, hunter, fisher and trapper and presently a carver, singer and historian.

Dr. Shabnam Inanloo Dailoo

Shabnam Inanloo Dailoo is Assistant Professor and Director of Athabasca University’s Heritage Resources Management Program. She is also Co-Chair of the National Trust for Canada’s National Roundtable on Heritage Education. She was formerly a Heritage and Community Engagement Advisor with Western Heritage Inc. Ms. Dailoo was a member of the Canadian delegation to the 32nd session of the World Heritage Committee in Québec City in 2008, and her PhD dissertation focussed on the challenges and complexities of inscribing cultural landscapes on the World Heritage List.

Mr. George Greene

George Greene is the Founding Chair of Stratos Inc., a consulting firm which provides advice on national and international conservation matters and sustainable development practice in Canada’s natural resource sectors. He is also currently a Visiting Professor with the University of Ottawa’s Institute of the Environment and an Adjunct Professor in Environmental Governance with the University of Guelph. His professional work has included both the development and review of Canadian World Heritage nominations. He served as Assistant Director General of the IUCN from 1995 to 1999, then as member of its Global Council from 2008 to 2016. He also worked at the Canadian International Development Agency for five years, including as Director General for Policy Development.

Dr. William Moss

William Moss has been Chief Archæologist for the City of Québec since 1985. He has previously worked in England, and in Québec for Parks Canada and the Québec government's Department of Culture and Communications. Projects carried out under his supervision have generated an important body of knowledge that has been widely communicated to the city's inhabitants, as well as contributing to the conservation and development of numerous archæological heritage resources. A sessional lecturer at Laval University and a regularly invited lecturer in Québec and abroad, Mr. Moss is active in several learned societies, such as the Society of Antiquaries of London, ICOMOS's International Committee on Archæological Heritage Management, and the Society for American Archæology's Committee on International Government Affairs. The Society for Historical Archæology presented him with the 'Carol V. Ruppé Distinguished Service Award' in 2016 for his longstanding contribution to the SHA, particularly in promoting its presence in the French-speaking world. Locally, he has received awards from the tourist industry for organizing international scientific conferences. Laval University awarded him an honorary Ph.D. in 2014 for his contribution to the knowledge of, the protection and the development of Québec City's archæological heritage.

Dr. Lisa Prosper

Lisa Prosper is a cultural heritage consultant, working on projects involving the development of heritage policy and the commemoration of Indigenous heritage. She served as the Director of the Willowbank School of Restoration Art’s Centre for Cultural Landscape from 2012 to 2015. She is a board member of ICOMOS Canada and a member of ICOMOS’ International Scientific Committee on Cultural Landscapes. She presents and publishes nationally and internationally on cultural landscape theory and practice. Dr. Prosper is a member of the Mi’kmaq First Nation community.

Mr. Derek Thompson

Derek Thompson worked for the Government of British Columbia for thirty years on protected areas, environment and sustainability issues, including serving as Deputy Minister of Environment, Land and Parks for six premiers. Since his retirement from government in 2004, he has among other things served as an adjunct professor at Royal Roads University, as Special Advisor on National Parks to the federal Minister of the Environment, as teaching faculty for the Canadian Parks Council’s Parks System Leadership Course, as External Evaluator for WWF International Forests and Climate program of work, and as a consultant to the China Council for International Cooperation on Environment and Development. He has received the Canadian Parks Council’s Merit Award (1992 and 1998), the Harkin Medal (2004) by the Canadian Parks and Wilderness Society, and the Queen’s Jubilee Medal (2002).

La ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique et ministre responsable de Parcs Canada a nommé un comité consultatif pour examiner toutes les propositions soumises et lui recommander les lieux patrimoniaux qui, à son avis, devraient être ajoutés à la liste indicative du Canada.

Le comité consultatif était composé de sept Canadiens qui représentent collectivement une vaste assise de connaissances dans les domaines de la commémoration et de la conservation du patrimoine naturel et culturel au Canada :

Un processus ouvert, transparent et axé sur le mérite a été utilisé pour l’appel de candidatures et pour la nomination des membres du comité.


Présentation des membres du comité

Mme Christina Cameron (présidente)

Christina Cameron est professeur à l’École d’architecture et directrice de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en patrimoine bâti de l’Université de Montréal. Elle est également présidente de la Commission canadienne pour l’UNESCO et du Comité consultatif sur les résidences officielles du Canada. Christina Cameron a travaillé à Parcs Canada pendant 35 ans, notamment à titre de directrice générale des lieux historiques nationaux et de secrétaire de la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. En qualité de chef de la délégation canadienne (1990-2008), présidente (1990, 2008) et rapporteur (1989), Mme Cameron a participé activement au patrimoine mondial. Mme Cameron enseigne un séminaire de maîtrise sur le patrimoine mondial et mène des recherches connexes. Elle s’est vu décerner une multitude de prix à l’échelle nationale et internationale pour son travail professionnel et ses œuvres bénévoles, notamment le Prix pour services insignes (2007) du gouvernement du Canada, la Médaille Gabrielle-Léger pour l’ensemble des réalisations de la Fiducie nationale du Canada (2014) et l’Ordre du Canada (2014).

Guujaaw

Dans les années 1970, Guujaaw a joué un rôle actif dans ce qui mènera à la conservation et à la protection de Gwaii Haanas, et il a été grandement impliqué dans la désignation de Nunstins en tant que « site du patrimoine mondial ». Il a poursuivi son travail comme négociateur lors de la rédaction de l’entente novatrice sur Gwaii Haanas. Il a été par la suite membre du conseil de gestion de l’archipel Gwaii Haanas, où il a établi des normes en matière de gestion coopérative. Guujaaw a travaillé avec de nombreux groupes autochtones de la Colombie-Britannique et d’ailleurs afin de protéger des sites culturels et écologiques importants. Il a exercé les fonctions de président de la Nation haïda de 2000 à 2013, période durant laquelle il a négocié la protection d’un autre 27 % des îles et a élaboré un plan pour la réconciliation avec la Couronne provinciale. Guujaaw a été menuisier, chasseur, pêcheur et trappeur, et est présentement sculpteur, chanteur, et historien.

Mme Shabnam Inanloo Dailoo

Shabnam Inanloo Dailoo est professeure adjointe et directrice du programme de gestion des ressources patrimoniales de l’Université Athabasca et coprésidente de la Table ronde nationale de l’éducation sur le patrimoine de la Fiducie nationale du Canada. Elle a déjà travaillé à titre de conseillère spécialisée dans le patrimoine et la mobilisation communautaire à la société Western Heritage Inc. Mme Dailoo faisait partie de la délégation canadienne qui a assisté à la 32e session du Comité du patrimoine mondial à Québec en 2008, et sa dissertation de doctorat portait sur les défis et les complexités de l’inscription de paysages culturels à la Liste du patrimoine mondial.

M. George Greene

George Greene est président fondateur de l’entreprise Stratos Inc., un cabinet d’experts-conseils spécialisé dans les questions de conservation à l’échelle nationale et internationale et dans les pratiques en matière de développement durable dans les secteurs des ressources naturelles au Canada. À l’heure actuelle, il cumule également les fonctions de professeur invité à l’Institut de l’environnement de l’Université d’Ottawa et de professeur affilié en gouvernance de l’environnement à l’Université de Guelph. Dans l’exercice de ses fonctions professionnelles, il a déjà été appelé à élaborer et à examiner des dossiers de candidature pour la Liste indicative du Canada. M. Greene a également été directeur général adjoint de l’UICN de 1995 à 1999, avant de siéger au Conseil mondial de ce même organisme de 2008 à 2016. Il a également travaillé à l’Agence canadienne de développement international pendant cinq ans, notamment en qualité de directeur général de l’Élaboration de politiques.

M. William Moss

William Moss est Archéologue principal à la Ville de Québec depuis 1985. Ses expériences antérieures lui ont permis de travailler en Angleterre et au Québec, au ministère de la Culture et des Communications et à Parcs Canada. Les projets réalisés sous sa direction ont généré un ensemble important de connaissances qui ont été largement diffusées au public, tout en contribuant à la conservation et à la mise en valeur du patrimoine archéologique de la ville. M. Moss est chargé de cours à l’Université Laval et il présente régulièrement des conférences au Québec et à l’étranger. Il est actif dans plusieurs sociétés savantes dont la Society of Antiquaries of London, le Comité international de la gestion du patrimoine archéologique d’ICOMOS et le Comité des affaires gouvernementales internationales de la Society for American Archæology. La Society for Historical Archæology lui a accordé le « Carol V. Ruppé Distinguished Service Award » en 2016 pour sa contribution à l’avancement de cette société, particulièrement dans le monde francophone. L’industrie touristique régionale lui a attribué des prix pour la tenue de colloques scientifiques internationaux. L’Université Laval lui a décerné un doctorat honoris causa en 2014 pour sa contribution à la reconnaissance de l’archéologie comme outil de développement économique tout en permettant une protection et une mise en valeur de l’histoire et du patrimoine archéologique de Québec.

Mme Lisa Prosper

Experte-conseil spécialisée dans le patrimoine culturel, Lisa Prosper travaille à des projets touchant à l’élaboration de politiques sur le patrimoine et à la mise en valeur du patrimoine autochtone. De 2012 à 2015, elle a été directrice du Centre des paysages culturel de la Willowbank School of Restoration Art, et, à l’heure actuelle, elle siège au conseil d’ICOMOS Canada et au Comité scientifique international sur les paysages culturels de ce même organisme. Dr. Prosper présente et publie à l’échelle nationale et mondiale des communications sur la théorie et la pratique rattachées aux paysages culturels. Elle est membre de la Première Nation des Mi’kmaq.

M. Derek Thompson

Pendant 30 ans, Derek Thompson a travaillé pour le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique, où il était chargé de dossiers touchant aux aires protégées, à l’environnement et à la durabilité. Il a notamment exercé les fonctions de sous-ministre de l’Environnement, des Terres et des Parcs pour six premiers ministres provinciaux. Depuis sa retraite de la fonction publique en 2004, il a notamment agi comme professeur affilié à l’Université Royal Roads, conseiller spécial du ministre fédéral de l’Environnement sur les parcs nationaux, enseignant du cours de leadership lié au réseau de parcs du Conseil canadien des parcs, évaluateur externe pour le programme de travail international sur les forêts et le climat de la WWF, et expert-conseil auprès du Conseil chinois de coopération internationale en environnement et en développement. M. Thompson a reçu le Prix de mérite du Conseil canadien des parcs (en 1992 et en 1998), la Médaille J.B. Harkin (2004) de la Société pour la protection des parcs et des sites naturels du Canada ainsi que la Médaille du jubilé de la reine (2002).