By boat
When you travel by boat on the St. Lawrence River, you enter the Marine Park's territory in the demarcated area via the GPS coordinates indicated in the mal below. On the Saguenay River, you enter the Marine Park when, heading in the direction of the St. Lawrence River, you pass Cap-à-L’Est. The park covers the entire surface of the water up to the mouth of the river. To give you an idea, if the weather is good, you will need two days to sail the Saguenay River between La Baie and L’Anse-Saint-Jean. If powered by motor, it should take two hours to travel the same distance at a maximum of 25 knots (speed limit). From Quebec, plan for 2-3 days depending on the tides and your craft. From Rimouski, count half a day by motor to reach Tadoussac, and a day by sail. These times are given for information only, weather and marine conditions can affect your navigation. Please take note that the marine activities are governed by the Marine Activities in the Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park Regulations.

By car
It is best to travel by car. The Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park is surrounded by 4 tourist regions. Arriving by Charlevoix, you take Highway 138 from Quebec City. When arriving by Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, you could take highways 170 or 172, which run alongside the Saguenay River along its south and north shores. On the North Shore, you take Highway 138. By the Lower St. Lawrence, you could take a ferry from Rivière-du-Loup or Trois-Pistoles.

Bus
It is possible to travel by bus between the major cities and the area along the Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park. It takes 1 day by bus from Montreal, 5 hours from Quebec City, and approximately 2 hours from Saguenay. Once in the area, it is difficult to get around by bus, because each bus route offers only one trip per day.

Ferries
You can cross the St. Lawrence River between the Lower St. Lawrence and Charlevoix with the Saint-Siméon/Rivière-du-Loup ferry. Otherwise, it is possible to cross between the Lower St. Lawrence and the North Shore by taking the ferry between Les Escoumins and Trois-Pistoles. Consult the schedules:

Saint-Siméon/Rivière-du-Loup

Les Escoumins/Trois-Pistoles

Boat shuttle

A shuttle travels the Saguenay River during the summer season. On it, you could bring your bicycle for travel between the riverside villages, most of which are connected by the Route verte, a provincial bicycle path. For information on the shuttle and the Route verte, please go to the following links:

Croisières du Fjord

La Route verte

Airports
The closest airports are in Montreal and Quebec City. They offer connections for flights from most major cities throughout the world. The regional airports closest to the Saguenay–St. Lawrence Marine Park are the ones in Saguenay (Bagotville) and Baie-Comeau. For directions from the airports, please consult the directions by car or by public transportation.

When to visit

Most of the whales that spend the summer in the marine park are migratory animals. They can be observed from May to November. Whale watching cruise companies offer departures from early May to the end of October. Departures are more frequent during the high season, which runs from late June to early September.

En bateau
Lorsque vous naviguez sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent, vous entrez dans les limites du parc marin aux coordonnées GPS indiquées sur la carte ici-bas. Sur la rivière Saguenay, vous entrez dans le parc marin dès que vous passez Cap à L’Est en direction du fleuve. Le parc couvre toute la surface de l’eau jusqu’à l’embouchure. À titre d’exemple, prévoyez deux jours dans de bonnes conditions pour parcourir le fjord du Saguenay entre La Baie et L’Anse-Saint-Jean à la voile. À moteur, prévoyez environ deux heures pour parcourir la même distance à un maximum de 25 nœuds (limite de vitesse). De Québec, prévoyez 2-3 jours selon les marées et selon votre type d’embarcation. De Rimouski, comptez une demi-journée de navigation à moteur pour vous rendre à Tadoussac, et une journée lorsque à voile. Ces temps sont donnés à titre indicatif seulement, les conditions météorologiques et marines peuvent affecter votre navigation. Veuillez noter que les activités en mer sont encadrées par le Règlement sur les activités en mer dans le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent.

En auto

Le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent est entouré de 4 régions touristiques. En arrivant de Québec, vous traverserez Charlevoix par la route 138. Si vous arrivez par le Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean, vous pourrez emprunter les routes 170 ou 172, qui longent la rivière Saguenay au sud et au nord. Sur la Côte-Nord, vous vous déplacerez en empruntant la route 138. Par le Bas-Saint-Laurent, vous pourrez emprunter un traversier à Rivière-du-Loup pour rejoindre Charlevoix ou à Trois-Pistoles pour rejoindre la Côte-Nord.

En transport en commun
Le transport par autobus vous permet de vous déplacer entre les grandes villes et la région bordant le parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent. Il faut compter 1 journée de déplacement par autobus depuis Montréal, 5 heures depuis Québec et environ 2 heures depuis Saguenay. Une fois dans la région, il est difficile de se rendre d’un endroit à l’autre en autobus car chaque circuit ne fait qu’un arrêt par jour. Le meilleur moyen de transport reste l’auto.

Par d’autres moyens
Vous pouvez traverser le fleuve entre le Bas-Saint-Laurent et Charlevoix avec la traverse Saint-Siméon / Rivière-du-Loup. Sinon, il est possible de traverser entre le Bas-Saint-Laurent et la Côte-Nord en empruntant la traverse entre Les Escoumins et Trois-Pistoles. Consultez les horaires :

Saint-Siméon / Rivière-du-Loup

Les Escoumins / Trois-Pistoles

Une navette parcourt le fjord du Saguenay durant la saison estivale. Vous pouvez y transporter votre vélo pour visiter les villages riverains. La plupart sont desservis par la Route verte, une voie cyclable provinciale. Pour des informations sur la navette et la Route verte consultez les liens suivants :

Croisieres du Fjord

La Route verte

Aéroports
Les aéroports internationaux les plus près sont à Montréal et à Québec. Ils offrent des liaisons avec la plupart des grandes villes du monde. Les aéroports régionaux se trouvant à proximité du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent sont ceux de Saguenay (Bagotville) et de Baie-Comeau. Pour les indications à partir des aéroports, voyez les indications pour voyager en auto ou en transport en commun.

Quand visiter

La plupart des baleines qui passent l’été dans le parc sont migratrices. Elles peuvent être observées de mai à novembre. Les compagnies d’excursion d’observation des baleines offrent des départs dès le début mai à la fin octobre. Les départs sont plus fréquents durant la haute saison qui s’échelonne de la fin juin au début de septembre.