There’s a reason Lake Superior has been referred to as an inland ocean and you’ll discover that for yourself when you visit this immensely beautiful Great Lake. Called Gitchi Gummi or “The Big Lake” by the Anishinaabe and known for its furious storms, the Lake Superior National Marine Conservation Area will soon be recognized as one of the largest protected areas of fresh water in the world.

Featured things to do

Getting here

22 Third Street
Nipigon ON P0T 2J0

Hours of operation

The area is accessible year-round

Fees

Free admission. There are no fees for this site.

Contact us

Phone: 807-887-5467
Email: superior-superieur@pc.gc.ca

A family of cyclists and a heritage lighthouse

Your free pass to discovery

Celebrate Canada’s 150th anniversary at our Parks Canada places from coast to coast to coast.

Get your free 2017 Discovery Pass

Canada 150

Sites nearby

  • A person in the front of a canoe.
    Pukaskwa National Park

    This is Ontario’s only wilderness national park, defined by pink-and-slate granite shores, Great Lake temperaments and near-endless stretches of spruce, fir, pine and hardwoods. Biodiverse coastal regions—where wetland, lake and forest meet—are home to iconic Canadian species like bald eagles, moose and bears.

  • Sault Ste. Marie Canal National Historic Site

    Tour the Sault Ste. Marie Canal with an informative Parks Canada guide and you’ll soon understand the vitally important role this innovative piece of engineering made to water transportation in Canada. 

  • Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site

    Visit Fort St. Joseph National Historic Site, 92 km south east of Sault Ste. Marie on the southern tip of St. Joseph Island, to learn about the once-vital British stronghold on Upper Canada’s western front.

On compare souvent le lac Supérieur à une mer intérieure. Découvrez-le par vous-même en vous rendant près de ce Grand Lac, gigantesque et magnifique. Surnommé « Gitchi Gummi » (le Grand Lac) par le peuple Anishinaabe, ce plan d’eau est réputé pour ses violentes tempêtes. L’aire marine nationale de conservation du Lac-Supérieur sera bientôt reconnue comme l’une des plus grandes étendues d’eau douce protégées au monde.

En vedette

Comment s’y rendre

22, rue Third
Nipigon ON P0T 2J0

Heures d’ouverture

L'aire demeure accessible à l’année

Tarifs

Entrée gratuite. Il n’y a pas de droits d’entrée pour ce lieu.

Nous joindre

Téléphone : 807-346-2901
Courriel : superior-superieur@pc.gc.ca

Une famille de cyclistes et un phare patrimonial

Votre entrée libre vers la découverte

Célébrez le 150e anniversaire du Canada à tous les endroits de Parcs Canada d’un océan à l’autre.

Obtenez votre carte d’entrée Découverte gratuite!

Canada 150

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Une personne dans un canot.
    Parc national Pukaskwa

    Seul parc national sauvage de l’Ontario, Pukaskwa se caractérise par un climat capricieux propre aux Grands Lacs, par des affleurements de granit rosé et par des forêts d’épinettes, de sapins, de pins et de feuillus s’étendant à l’infini. Les régions situées en bordure du lac, riches en biodiversité, où zones humides côtoient lacs et forêts, abritent des espèces emblématiques du Canada, comme les pygargues à tête blanche, les orignaux et les ours.

  • Lieu historique national du Canal-de-Sault Ste. Marie

    Visitez le canal de Sault Ste. Marie en compagnie d’un animateur-guide expérimenté de Parcs Canada. Vous comprendrez rapidement le rôle vital qu’a joué cette merveille d’ingénierie novatrice dans le transport maritime au Canada.

  • Lieu historique national du Fort-St. Joseph

    Visitez le lieu historique national du Fort St. Joseph, situé à 92 km au sud-est de Sault Ste. Marie sur la pointe sud de l’île St. Joseph. Venez en apprendre davantage sur l’emprise jadis vitale des Britanniques sur le front occidental de la province du Haut-Canada.