A National Marine Conservation Area Proposal for Lancaster Sound: Feasibility Assessment Report

Submitted by: The Lancaster Sound National Marine Conservation Area Feasibility Assessment Steering Committee

February 2017


This is a summary of the report

To receive the full report in English, French or Inuktitut, please contact pc.media@pc.gc.ca

Lancaster Sound is a natural and cultural seascape that is one of the most significant ecological areas in the world. It is critical habitat for species such as the polar bear, bowhead whale, narwhal and beluga whale. For Inuit living in the Lancaster Sound region—Tallurutiup Tariunga* as it is known locally—it is a home rich in culture and wildlife.

The idea of protecting the international, national and regional values of Lancaster Sound has been a recurring theme since the late 1970s. In 2009, work began in earnest as a federal –territorial – Inuit agreement launched a joint study to determine the desirability and feasibility of establishing a national marine conservation area in Lancaster Sound. This work was led by a Steering Committee composed of Parks Canada, the Government of Nunavut and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association (QIA).

This report summarizes the results of the feasibility assessment and of the Steering Committee’s work and recommendations.

Established under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act, national marine conservation areas (NMCAs) are a type of marine protected area administered by Parks Canada. NMCAs are multi-use areas which balance protection and sustainable use through management as well as zoning, in cooperation with local people. Mineral and hydrocarbon exploration and development and ocean dumping are prohibited.

Under the terms of the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement, traditional harvesting rights of Inuit will continue to be upheld within the proposed NMCA. In addition, the establishment of an NMCA in Lancaster Sound will require an Inuit Impact and Benefit Agreement to be negotiated between Inuit and government. This agreement will cover the implementation of the financial, employment, training and educational requirements, the economic benefits, as well as the cooperative management of the NMCA.

Man kneeling at edge of sea ice
© Diane Blanchard

Over the course of the feasibility assessment, the Steering Committee gathered information on ecological values, tourism opportunities, fisheries, marine transportation and potential hydrocarbon resources. It used Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit (Inuit traditional knowledge) alongside scientific knowledge to get a more complete understanding of the use and value of the area.

Consultations were conducted in the five communities adjacent to the NMCA proposal (Pond Inlet, Arctic Bay, Grise Fiord, Resolute Bay and Clyde River), with 32 community meetings attended by over 430 people. Input was solicited from regional and national stakeholders including industry and non-government organizations.

During the consultations, all five communities expressed significant support for the protection of the entire Lancaster Sound region and the establishment of an NMCA. The Steering Committee concluded that the establishment, development and operation of a national marine conservation area in Lancaster Sound can provide a number of ecological and social benefits, including:

  • conserving the rich biodiversity and maintaining ecological processes and life support systems of the Lancaster Sound marine ecosystem for the benefit of marine species, Nunavummiut and Canadians
  • establishing a collaborative relationship between Canada and Inuit that would guide current and future activities in Lancaster Sound to ensure the ecological and cultural viability of the area for future generations
  • protecting and conserving species at risk and their habitats
  • protecting the Inuit way of life and Inuit traditions through protection of the marine environment and marine wildlife food sources
  • allowing all activities within the NMCA, including fisheries and marine transportation activities, to be managed in a more ecologically holistic manner
  • protecting historical resources, such as shipwrecks and archaeological sites
  • providing opportunities for visitors to experience and appreciate this environment
  • encouraging ecological research and monitoring
  • providing a level of resilience to the fragile Arctic marine ecosystem facing climate change
  • encouraging ecologically sustainable economic opportunities in the region
Boy on bike with arctic town and landscape in background
© Francine Mercier

Prior to governments making a final decision on a boundary, additional study of the hydrocarbon potential of the proposed Lancaster Sound NMCA is needed to provide governments and QIA with the necessary information to make an informed decision with respect to a final boundary. The Geological Survey of Canada is to complete its assessment by March 31, 2017.

The Steering Committee concluded that a Lancaster Sound NMCA is feasible and recommends a boundary approximately 109,000 square kilometres in size. The establishment of a national marine conservation area in Lancaster Sound is an investment worth pursuing for the benefit of present and future generations, and one that would produce a new relationship between Canada and Inuit that is in the national interest and of international significance.

The area is known by Inuit both as Tallurutiup Tariunga and Tallurutiup Imanga. Just prior to the August announcement, the Inuit and the Qikiqtani Inuit Association decided the NMCA would be called Tallurutiup Imanga.

Proposition d’une aire marine nationale de conservation dans le détroit de Lancaster

Présenté par : le comité directeur de l’évaluation de faisabilité du projet d’aire marine nationale de conservation du détroit de Lancaster

Février 2017


Voici un résumé du rapport.

Pour recevoir le rapport complet en français, en anglais ou en inuktituk, veuillez écrire à pc.media@pc.gc.ca

Le détroit de Lancaster est un paysage marin naturel et culturel qui représente l’une des aires écologiques les plus importantes au monde. C’est un habitat essentiel pour des espèces telles que l’ours polaire, la baleine boréale, le narval et le béluga. Pour les Inuits vivant dans la région du détroit de Lancaster – Tallurutiup Tariunga* comme on l’appelle localement – c’est une région riche sur le plan culturel et faunique.

L’idée de protéger les valeurs internationales, nationales et régionales du détroit de Lancaster est un thème récurrent depuis la fin des années 1970. En 2009, les travaux ont commencé sérieusement lorsqu’une entente fédérale-territoriale-inuite a été conclue pour mener une étude conjointe en vue de déterminer s’il serait souhaitable et faisable d’établir une aire marine nationale de conservation dans le détroit de Lancaster. Ce travail a été dirigé par un comité directeur composé de Parcs Canada, du gouvernement du Nunavut et de l’Association inuite du Qikiqtani (AIQ).

Ce rapport résume les résultats de l’évaluation de faisabilité ainsi que les travaux et les recommandations du comité directeur.

Établies en vertu de la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada, les aires marines nationales de conservation (AMNC) sont un type d’aire marine protégée administré par Parcs Canada. Les AMNC sont des aires à usages multiples qui établissent un équilibre entre la protection et l’utilisation durable par la gestion et le zonage, en coopération avec les populations locales. L’exploration et l’exploitation minières, pétrolières et gazières et l’immersion en mer sont interdites.

En vertu des dispositions de l’Accord sur les revendications territoriales du Nunavut, les droits de récolte traditionnelle des Inuits continueront d’être maintenus dans le cadre de l’AMNC proposée. En outre, l’établissement d’une AMNC dans le détroit de Lancaster nécessitera une entente sur les répercussions et les avantages pour les Inuits qui devra être négociée entre les Inuits et le gouvernement. Cette entente couvrira la mise en œuvre des exigences financières et en matière d’emploi, de formation et d’éducation, les avantages économiques et la gestion coopérative de l’AMNC.

Homme en train de s’agenouiller sur le bord d’un morceau de glace marine
© Diane Blanchard

Au cours de l’évaluation de faisabilité, le comité directeur a recueilli des informations sur les valeurs écologiques, les possibilités touristiques, la pêche, le transport maritime et les ressources potentielles en hydrocarbures. Il a utilisé l’Inuit Qaujimajatuqangit (savoir traditionnel inuit) en plus du savoir scientifique pour mieux comprendre l’utilisation et la valeur de l’aire.

Des consultations ont été menées dans les cinq communautés adjacentes à la région visée par le projet d’AMNC (Pond Inlet, Arctic Bay, Grise Fiord, Resolute Bay et Clyde River); 32 réunions communautaires auxquelles ont participé plus de 430 personnes ont été tenues. Les points de vue des intervenants régionaux et nationaux, y compris d’organisations industrielles et non gouvernementales ont été sollicités.

Dans le cadre des consultations, les cinq communautés ont exprimé un soutien important à l’égard de la protection de l’ensemble de la région du détroit de Lancaster et de l’établissement d’une AMNC. Le comité directeur a conclu que l’établissement, le développement et l’exploitation d’une aire marine nationale de conservation dans le détroit de Lancaster peuvent offrir un certain nombre d’avantages écologiques et sociaux, y compris :

  • préserver la richesse de la biodiversité et maintenir les processus écologiques et les systèmes indispensables à la vie de l’écosystème marin du détroit de Lancaster au bénéfice des espèces marines, des Nunavummiut et des Canadiens;
  • établir une relation de collaboration entre le Canada et les Inuits qui guiderait les activités actuelles et futures dans le détroit de Lancaster afin d’assurer la viabilité écologique et culturelle de la région pour les générations futures;
  • protéger et conserver les espèces en péril et leurs habitats;
  • protéger le mode de vie des Inuits et leurs traditions grâce à la protection du milieu marin et des sources alimentaires de la faune marine;
  • permettre à toutes les activités de l’AMNC, y compris les activités de pêche et de transport maritime, d’être gérées dans la perspective holistique de l’écologie;
  • protéger les ressources historiques, telles que les épaves et les sites archéologiques;
  • offrir aux visiteurs la possibilité de connaître et d’apprécier cet environnement;
  • encourager la recherche et la surveillance écologique;
  • fournir un niveau de résilience à l’écosystème marin fragile de l’Arctique qui fait face au changement climatique; et
  • favoriser les possibilités économiques écologiquement viables dans la région.
Garçon sur un vélo avec un village et un paysage arctiques en arrière-plan
© Francine Mercier

Avant que les gouvernements ne prennent une décision définitive sur une limite, une étude supplémentaire du potentiel d’hydrocarbures contenus dans l’AMNC du détroit de Lancaster proposée est nécessaire pour fournir aux gouvernements et à l’AIQ l’information nécessaire à une prise de décision éclairée à l’égard d’une limite définitive. La Commission géologique du Canada doit terminer son évaluation d’ici le 31 mars 2017.

Le comité directeur a conclu qu’une AMNC dans le détroit de Lancaster est faisable et recommande une limite d’environ 109 000 kilomètres carrés. L’établissement d’une AMNC dans le détroit de Lancaster est un investissement qui mérite d’être poursuivi au profit des générations actuelles et futures et qui permettrait d’établir une nouvelle relation entre le Canada et les Inuits, une relation qui serait bénéfique à l’échelle nationale et importante à l’échelle internationale.

* Cette région est connue des Inuits sous les appellations de Tallurutiup Tariunga et Tallurutiup Imanga. Juste avant l’annonce du mois d’août, les Inuits et la Qikiqtani Inuit Association ont décidé que l’AMNC portera le nom de Tallurutiup Imanga.