Common menu bar links

Sharing Responsibility for Safety

What Is Parks Canada?

This page has been archived.

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Parks Canada protects and presents nationally significant examples of Canada's natural and cultural heritage and fosters public understanding, appreciation and enjoyment in ways that ensure their ecological and commemorative integrity for present and future generations.

Parks Canada is responsible for a wide range of natural and cultural heritage areas throughout Canada, including:
41 national parks, 792 national historic sites (132 of which we partially or fully manage), 8 historic canals, as well as marine conservation areas, heritage rivers, heritage railway stations, federal heritage buildings, and UNESCO World Heritage Sites.


Experiencing Canada's Treasures...

Each year, millions of visitors come to appreciate and enjoy the diverse natural and cultural landscapes managed by Parks Canada. From mountain peaks to rugged coastlines, from backpacking to birdwatching, people discover the wild beauty of our country in many different ways.....