Originally established by the French in 1720, Port-la-Joye—Fort Amherst commemorates the first permanent European settlement on Île Saint-Jean (today Prince Edward Island). After falling to British forces in 1758 it became the site of a major deportation of French and Acadian settlers. The fort’s grassy ruins are still visible, and interpretive panels explore its rich history. The grounds also offer superb views of the surrounding countryside and Charlottetown Harbour.
Hours of operation
June 17 to October 17
Grounds, trails and washrooms in the lower parking area will be maintained.
July 1 to August 31
Visitor Reception Centre open every day, from 9 am to 5 pm
Free admission. Other fees still apply.