Parks Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

National Historic Sites in the Mountain National Parks

Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site of Canada

Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
Interactive Map of the National Historic Sites in the vicinity of the Mountain National Parks
© Parks Canada

Yellowhead Pass Yellowhead Pass
© Parks Canada

The Yellowhead Pass has been an important transportation route through the Rocky Mountains since the mid 1820s. Recognizing its significance to the fur trade, rail and highway travel and early tourism, Yellowhead Pass was designated a national historic site in 1971.

Location

Located on the outskirts of the town of Jasper, the site is bounded on the east by the junction of Highway 93 and Highway 16. The boundary follows the existing Highway 16 and Canadian National Railway (CNR) routes through Jasper National Park and into Mount Robson Provincial Park in British Columbia to the Fraser River crossing. The imposing physical qualities of this pass evoke the pioneering efforts of the early fur traders.

Yellowhead Pass Historic plaque
Yellowhead Pass Plaque
© Parks Canada

Trade Routes

When the Hudson’s Bay Company and the North West Company amalgamated in 1821, the Athabasca, and eventually, the Yellowhead Pass, came to serve as main routes across the mountains. In 1824, Yellowhead Pass (elevation 1,133 m) gained popularity as a trade route to the Fraser drainage and the area known as New Caledonia.

Tête Jaune

Pierre Bostonais, nicknamed ‘Tête Jaune,’ (French for ‘yellow head’) led the CPR’s James Macmillan through the Yellowhead Pass on a surveying mission in 1825. This was one of the first expeditions through the pass. It is believed that the pass is named for the fair-haired, Métis-Iroquois trapper, Bostonais, who was killed by a rival native group in 1828. Historically, Yellowhead Pass was also known as Leather Pass or Leather Track as it was used as a route to transport dressed moose leather west into New Caledonia where there was a shortage of this valuable material.

Yellowhead Pass

The HBC’s discovery of the pass that Aboriginal people had used for centuries due to its low elevation (1,133 m, 3,317 ft) provided an alternate route to the rich fur trade country of the upper Fraser River and New Caledonia. Utilized from the mid-1820s to the early 1850s, Yellowhead Pass fell into disuse once the Hudson’s Bay Company began to use steam ships along the coast to access what is now northern British Columbia.

Sir Sandford Fleming

In 1858, Sandford Fleming, a surveyor for the Grand Trunk Railway, proposed a coast to coast railway connecting British North America. Soon after, the British government commited to a railway connecting the Maritime provinces with Quebec. Fleming was appointed as the sole engineer to supervise the survey. In 1872, the newly formed Canadian government decided to link the current railway to the Pacific Ocean, as part of a national program to unite the country. Fleming continued to survey the route and chose the Yellowhead Pass as the possible route through the Rockies because of its modest elevation and gradual approach. Brush was cleared to make trails for the railroad, employing more than 800 men with the preliminary work required to build a railway.

Political Decisions

When Prime Minister John A. Macdonald fell into scandal concerning the railway, his successor, Alexander Mackenzie took a more cautious approach to construction, slowing development. In 1878, Macdonald was re-elected to power and returned to his aggressive building plans. Three years later, Fleming’s recommendations were overruled and Kicking Horse Pass, to the south, became the route through which the railway passed. The work that had been done to develop the Yellowhead Pass was abandoned at great cost in favour of the southern pass’s proximity to the United States and fertile agricultural land.

The Canadian Northern Rail yard in Lucerne, B.C., circa 1917.
The Canadian Northern Rail yard in Lucerne, B.C., circa 1917.
© Parks Canada

Linking the Country

Use of Yellowhead Pass for railway travel was not revived until the early 20th century, when the Grand Trunk Pacific and the Canadian Northern were both routed through the corridor. These lines, established between 1906 and 1915, re-enforced Canada’s railway network, strengthened national ties, supported the economy and linked Canada via its two coasts to international communication and commerce.

The Canadian Northern Rail yard in Lucerne, B.C., circa 1917.
The Canadian Northern Rail yard in Lucerne, B.C., circa 1917.
© Parks Canada

Roadways

In 1917, the two rail lines that passed through the Yellowhead Pass collapsed due to a lack of revenue and high construction costs shortly after the outbreak of World War I. Steel was permanently lifted from the abandoned lines and sold in response to a wartime appeal for rails and fittings. By 1919, the Federal Government had assumed control of the assets, consolidated the lines and established the Canadian National Railway. Abandoned rail grades were used for automobile road development, signalling a significant development in transportation patterns in Canada.

Construction

In the early 1920s, automobiles first passed through Yellowhead Pass, demonstrating the feasibility of linking Edmonton with British Columbia by road. Despite the desire for an all-weather road through the pass, the route was nearly impassable to most automobiles until the 1940s. During the first half of 1942, Japanese internment workers laboured on the roadway while occupying work camps in the area. Intermittent progress continued on both sides of the continental divide until the late 1960s when motorists were finally able to drive from Jasper to Vancouver on paved roads and bridges. In 1970, the narrow Yellowhead Road was replaced by the new Yellowhead Highway 16 alignment. Overcoming the rugged landscape of the pass is a testament to the feats of engineering and human labour required to construct this roadway.

Still a major transportation corridor, today.
Still a major transportation corridor, today.
© Parks Canada

Today

Today, Yellowhead Pass continues to serve as a major national transportation corridor for both goods and people. Constructed in the 1950s and 1980s, respectively, the Transmountain Pipeline as well as a fibre optic route, traverse the pass and have added to this modern national transportation corridor. Of significant economic and social importance to Canadians, as well as trading partners in North American and overseas, this contemporary highway, rail, pipeline, and telecommunication route reflects the history of the development of western Canada.

Historic Sites timeline Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Howse Pass National Historic Site Athabasca Pass National Historic Site Kootenae House National Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Jasper House National Historic Site Rocky Mountain House National Historic Site Fort St. James National Historic Site Kicking Horse Pass National Historic Site First Oil Well National Historic Site Skoki Ski Lodge National Historic Site Cosmic Ray Station National Historic Site Abbot Pass Refuge Cabin National Historic Site Jasper Information Centre National Historic Site Twin Falls Chalet Historic Site Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site Rogers Pass National Historic Site Banff Park Museum National Historic Site Cave and Basin National Historic Site Bar U Ranch National Historic Site
The Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site of Canada is commemorated by a plaque on the Yellowhead Highway.)
The Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site of Canada is commemorated by a plaque on the Yellowhead Highway.
© Parks Canada

Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site of Canada plaque states:
This pass was used for brief periods from the mid-1820s to the early 1850s by the Hudson's Bay Company, principally to transport leather, especially moosehides, from the Saskatchewan District to its posts in New Caledonia. It derives its name from Pierre Bostonais, called 'TÍte Jaune', an Iroquois freeman active here in the early 19th century. Originally chosen by Sandford Fleming for the CPR, the Yellowhead Pass eventually became part of the Grand Trunk Pacific and Canadian Northern Routes (now the CNR), and later still, a major highway crossing the Rocky Mountains.

Fast Fact:

From 1859 to1863, many parties of ‘Overlanders’ used the pass while en-route to the Caribou goldfields of British Columbia.

Fast Fact:

The Yellowhead Pass is one of several western mountain passes designated as nationally significant by the Canadian government. The importance of these passes relates to their role in opening up transportation links between east and west and in facilitating contributions to geographic understanding of the character of the Rocky Mountains. Other passes recognized include Howse Pass, Athabasca Pass, and Kicking Horse Pass through the Rocky Mountains and Rogers Pass through the Selkirk Mountains.

Sources :

‘Yellowhead Pass National Historic Site of Canada Commemorative Integrity Statement,” Parks Canada, 2006

Parcs Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lieux historiques nationaux dans les parcs nationaux des montagnes

Lieu historique national du Canada du Col-Yellowhead

Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
Carte interactif des lieux historiques national dans les environs des parcs nationaux des montagnes
© Parcs Canada

Col-Yellowhead Col-Yellowhead
© Parcs Canada

Depuis le milieu des années 1820, le col Yellowhead est un important corridor de transport qui permet de franchir les Rocheuses. Pour reconnaître l’important rôle qu’il a joué dans la traite des fourrures, le transport ferroviaire et routier ainsi que le développement du tourisme à ses premières heures, le gouvernement du Canada en a fait un lieu historique national en 1971.

Emplacement

Situé aux confins de la ville de Jasper, le lieu historique est délimité à l’est par l’intersection de la route 93 et de la route 16. La limite suit le corridor de l’actuelle route 16 et de la voie ferrée du Canadien National, traverse le parc national Jasper et pénètre dans le parc provincial du Mont-Robson, en Colombie-Britannique, jusqu’au fleuve Fraser. Le caractère imposant de ce col laisse entrevoir les efforts que les premiers commerçants de fourrures durent déployer pour le franchir.

Plaque du Col-Yellowhead
Plaque du Col-Yellowhead
© Parcs Canada

Routes de commerce

Par suite de la fusion de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson et de la Compagnie du Nord Ouest en 1821, le col Athabasca et, plus tard, le col Yellowhead devinrent les principaux corridors de transport à travers les Rocheuses. En 1824, le col Yellowhead (1 133 m d’altitude) gagna en popularité comme route de commerce jusqu’au bassin hydrographique du Fraser et au secteur appelé Nouvelle-Calédonie.

Tête Jaune

Pierre Bostonais, trappeur iroquois-métis surnommé Tête Jaune pour sa chevelure pâle, dirigea la mission d’arpentage de James Macmillan, du Canadien Pacifique, sur le col Yellowhead en 1825. Il s’agissait de l’une des premières expéditions à travers le col. Tout porte à croire que l’endroit fut baptisé en souvenir de Bostonais (le terme anglais Yellowhead signifie tête jaune), qui fut tué par un groupe autochtone rival en 1828. Le col Yellowhead porta aussi le nom de col du Cuir ou piste du Cuir, parce qu’il servait de route pour le transport de peaux d’orignal corroyées en Nouvelle-Calédonie, où ce matériau précieux était rare.

Col Yellowhead

La découverte de ce col, que les Autochtones empruntaient depuis des siècles en raison de sa faible élévation (1 133 m d’altitude), donna à la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson un autre moyen d’accès au riche territoire de chasse du haut Fraser et de la Nouvelle Calédonie. Utilisé du milieu des années 1820 jusqu’au début des années 1850, le col Yellowhead fut abandonné lorsque la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson recourut à des vapeurs le long des côtes pour accéder à ce qui est maintenant le Nord de la Colombie Britannique.

Sir Sanford Fleming

En 1858, Sanford Fleming, arpenteur de la société ferroviaire Grand Trunk Railway, proposa la construction d’un chemin de fer transcontinental pour relier l’Amérique du Nord britannique. Peu de temps après, le gouvernement britannique s’engagea à faire construire une voie ferrée entre les provinces Maritimes et le Québec. Fleming fut nommé ingénieur responsable des travaux d’arpentage. En 1872, le tout nouveau gouvernement canadien entreprit de relier le chemin de fer à l’océan Pacifique, dans le cadre d’un programme national destiné à unifier le pays. Fleming poursuivit l’arpentage du tracé et choisit le col Yellowhead comme corridor possible à travers les Rocheuses, en raison de sa faible altitude et de ses versants peu escarpés. Le passage fut débroussaillé pour permettre l’aménagement de la voie ferrée. Les travaux préliminaires nécessitèrent l’embauche de plus de 800 hommes.

Décisions politiques

Le dossier du chemin de fer plongea le premier ministre John A. Macdonald dans un scandale. Son successeur, Alexander Mackenzie, se montra plus prudent et ralentit le rythme du développement. En 1878, Macdonald fut reporté au pouvoir et retourna à ses plans de construction ambitieux. Trois ans plus tard, les recommandations de Fleming furent écartées, et le col Kicking Horse, situé au sud du col Yellowhead, fut l’axe choisi pour la construction du chemin de fer. Les travaux coûteux qui avaient été accomplis pour l’aménagement du tracé jusqu’au col Yellowhead furent abandonnés au profit de ce nouveau passage, situé plus près des États Unis et de terres agricoles fertiles.

La cour de triage du Chemin de fer Canadien du Nord à Lucerne, C.-B., vers 1917
La cour de triage du Chemin de fer Canadien du Nord à Lucerne, C.-B., vers 1917
© Parcs Canada

Une force unificatrice

L’idée de faire passer le chemin de fer par le col Yellowhead ne refit surface qu’au début du XXe siècle, lorsque le Grand Trunk Pacific et le Canadian Northern y aménagèrent tous deux leur voie ferrée. Construits entre 1906 et 1915, ces chemins de fer vinrent consolider le réseau ferroviaire du Canada, renforcer les liens nationaux, stimuler l’économie et ouvrir les deux côtes du Canada aux réseaux mondiaux de commerce et de communications.

La cour de triage du Chemin de fer Canadien du Nord à Lucerne, C.-B., vers 1917
La cour de triage du Chemin de fer Canadien du Nord à Lucerne, C.-B., vers 1917
© Parcs Canada

Naissance du transport routier

En 1917, les deux sociétés ferroviaires qui traversaient le col Yellowhead s’effondrèrent peu après le déclenchement de la Grande Guerre, victimes de revenus trop faibles et de coûts de construction élevés. Les rails d’acier furent retirés en permanence des voies abandonnées et vendus pour soutenir l’effort de guerre. En 1919, le gouvernement fédéral avait pris le contrôle des biens, fusionné les deux sociétés et fondé les Chemins de fer nationaux du Canada. Les talus ferroviaires abandonnés servirent à la construction de routes, marquant ainsi un point tournant dans le développement des réseaux de transport au Canada.

Construction

Les automobiles franchirent le col Yellowhead pour la première fois au début des années 1920, laissant présager la possibilité d’un lien routier entre Edmonton et la Colombie-Britannique. Même si tous rêvaient d’une chaussée praticable en toutes saisons pour traverser le col, la route demeura presque inaccessible à la plupart des automobiles jusque dans les années 1940. Pendant la première moitié de l’année 1942, les Japonais trimèrent sur la route pendant leur internement dans des camps de travail de la région. Les travaux se poursuivirent ensuite de façon intermittente de part et d’autre de la ligne de partage des eaux jusqu’à la fin des années 1960, après quoi les automobilistes purent finalement rouler de Jasper à Vancouver sur des routes asphaltées et pontées. En 1970, l’étroite route Yellowhead fut remplacée par le nouveau tracé de la route 16. Cette victoire sur le terrain accidenté du col témoigne bien des exploits techniques et humains qui furent nécessaires pour la construction de cette voie de circulation.

Un corridor de transport encore important de nos jours.
Un corridor de transport encore important de nos jours.
© Parcs Canada

Aujourd’hui

De nos jours, le col Yellowhead demeure un important corridor national pour le transport des biens et des personnes. Le pipeline Transmountain et une ligne de fibres optiques vinrent s’y greffer dans les années 1950 et les années 1980 respectivement. Ce corridor moderne, qui réunit une route, une voie ferrée, un pipeline et des câbles de télécommunications, revêt une grande importance économique et sociale pour la population canadienne ainsi que pour nos partenaires commerciaux en Amérique du Nord et à l’étranger. Il doit aussi son importance au fait qu’il cache en lui l’histoire du développement de l’Ouest canadien.

Histoire Rocky Mountain House Col-Howse Col-Athabasca Kootenae House Col-Yellowhead Rocky Mountain House Jasper House Rocky Mountain House Fort-St. James Col-Kicking Horse Premier Puits de Pétrole Auberge-de-Ski-Skoki Station-d’Étude-des-Rayons-Cosmiques-du-Mont-Sulphur Refuge-du-Col-Abbot Centre-d'Information-du-Parc-Jasper Salon-de-Thé-des-Chutes-Twin Col-Yellowhead Col-Rogers Musée-du-Parc-Banff Cave and Basin Ranch-Bar U
Une plaque sur la route de Yellowhead souligne le lieu historique national du Canada du Col Yellowhead.
Une plaque sur la route de Yellowhead souligne le lieu historique national du Canada du Col Yellowhead.
© Parcs Canada

Texte de la plaque :

LE COL TÊTE-JAUNE

Du milieu des années 1820 au début des années 1850, la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson a utilisé ce col pour le transport de peaux, d'orignal notamment, entre la Saskatchewan et la Nouvelle-Calédonie. Le col tire son nom de l'Iroquois Pierre Bostonais, dit " Tête Jaune ", qui a voyagé dans la région au début du XIXe siècle. Choisi par Sandford Fleming pour le Canadien Pacifique, le col devint le point de convergence des réseaux du Grand Trunk Pacific et du Canadian Northern (aujourd'hui le Canadien National), puis un important passage routier des Rocheuses.

Le saviez-vous?

De 1859 à 1863, de nombreux groupes d’Overlanders empruntèrent le col pour gagner les champs aurifères de la chaîne Cariboo, en Colombie-Britannique.

Le saviez-vous?

Le col Yellowhead figure parmi plusieurs cols de montagne de l’Ouest canadien qui ont été classés lieux historiques nationaux. Si le gouvernement canadien leur a accordé ce statut spécial, c’est parce qu’ils ont joué un grand rôle dans la création de liens de transport entre l’est et l’ouest et qu’ils ont contribué à approfondir notre connaissance de la géographie des Rocheuses. Les autres cols désignés lieux historiques nationaux sont le col Howse, le col Athabasca et le col Kicking Horse, tous situés dans les Rocheuses, et le col Rogers, qui se trouve dans la chaîne Selkirk.

Sources :

Énoncé d’intégrité commémorative du lieu historique national du Canada du Col-Yellowhead, Parcs Canada, 2006